Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    For the love of god, let us configure the ram timings on our laptops (g533qs)

    The only real thing we can do right now is flashing a different bios, and even then there are some issues... The website shows v. 309 as the most recent bios version, but it turns out that some annoying software that can only be installed through the disgusting microsoft store allows you to update your bios to version 313, without having the option to update it yourself. To top this off, something is broken regarding the spd module, because cpu-z won't display any info at all in the spd tab on version 313.

    Of course, the bios is completely locked so there is simply no way to see what is going on. It doesn't even show relevant info on the advanceed tab, the most relevant thing one can do apart from flashing is disabling some armoury crate interface?. So there is no way to see what the spd reports on my new ram, nor is there any way I can potentially use the xmp profile, or manually set the timings to other than the lame jedec spec, if that is what the kit is actually running at... since there is something broken on the current bios, I have no real way to know.

    Come on, even MSI laptops allow this kind of thing. So much for a "republic"!

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Unhappy G713QR Bios 313 Memory Stats broken in HwInfo and CPU-Z

    I have the same problem with my G713QR laptop as well - it auto updated to bios 313 and now the memory stats are not showing in cpu-z or hwinfo.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    Yesterday I update to the version 315, which was also messed up in several ways. The spd thing is still not showing, no info about the updates/changes. Nothing new on the bios, resizable bar still showing as disabled.

    In order to update I had to run the .exe version, because they made a mistake and the ez flash download also has a .exe. So the windows way won't work, but if you execute the .exe it will decompress all the files in c:drivers and there you can copy the bios file to a drive, reboot into bios and flash it ... It seems like Asus is not very good at making software

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Wow thanks for the update.

    I will just skip this 315 bios.

    Wheres the QA for these updates lol

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    118
    Posts
    556

    Laptops have always been this way and probably always will be. Limited settings in BIOS and even if you try Intel XTU to tune it you get screwed. Get used to 2400Mhz on a laptop. Been there, done that, burned the T shirt.

    ASUS never does give much in the lines of updates other than the generic "Improved Performance" that is on every BIOS update for the last 20 years.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    118
    Posts
    556

    Quote Originally Posted by costilletax View Post
    It seems like Asus is not very good at making software
    We have a winner on final Jeopardy!!
    They make decent hardware and most of the time with desktops anyhow the BIOS gets straight eventually. Laptops are and will always be limited access.
    The other software like AI Suite, Game First, Sonic Studio, Armory crate etc all suck bawlz. Its messed up when I have to use MSI afterburner or EVGA Precision X1 to tune my ASUS cards because ASUS GPU tweak wouldn't make good TP if you printed it out and took it in the toilet with you.
    Last edited by BigJohnny; 04-10-2021 at 03:47 AM.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    Quote Originally Posted by BigJohnny View Post
    Laptops have always been this way and probably always will be. Limited settings in BIOS and even if you try Intel XTU to tune it you get screwed. Get used to 2400Mhz on a laptop. Been there, done that, burned the T shirt.

    ASUS never does give much in the lines of updates other than the generic "Improved Performance" that is on every BIOS update for the last 20 years.
    Oh yes, I know that much, not my first Asus laptop. It has always been up to Asus to give us a minimum of control over the device we just purchased from them. And now with AMD based laptops, seeing as how important memory is with these processors, I was hoping that at least we would be able to control the memory timings, but I know nobody capable of changing this will ever read this, much less actually change anything. I just feel like it needs to be said.

  8. #8
    Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    773

    Dear all,
    Thank you for your feedback.
    I have reported to related department.

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array Triton.se PC Specs
    Triton.se PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus ROG Strix G17 G713QR-HG022T
    MotherboardG713QR - BIOS 320
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 5900HX
    Memory (part number)G.Skill RipJaws 3200MHz CL 22 1.2v 2x16GB
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA RTX 3070 115+15W
    MonitorAcer XV272UV 2560x1440 170Hz HDR400 (USB-C DP 1.4)
    Storage #11 TB NVMe original SK Hynix
    Storage #21 TB NVMe Kingston KC2500
    Power Supply240W power-brick
    Keyboard Corsair K55 RGB
    Mouse Deltaco DM210
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Small
    Headset/Speakers AKG K530

    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    60

    I reverted to the oldest BIOS found on Asus download page, BIOS 309 (EZ Flash)

    Using 309, SPD info is seen, but after a reboot or so the latest Firmware (BIOS Update) 317 is more or less forced upon my G713QR via MyAsus.

    Actually, laptop could NOT be Shut down, when you Shut down, it just rebooted with a message about "important update" so I had to accept that

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    97

    Downgraded as well from 315, now on 309 the SPD tab can be read, so Aida64, Thaiphoon Burner and CPU-Z can display their info properly regarding memory.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •