Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22
  1. #11
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    174
    Posts
    2,268

    Quote Originally Posted by Zeroed85 View Post
    Last post I told a lie, I moved the sound card from PCIE16_2 to PCIE16_3. I removed the sound card completely this afternoon and PCIE16_1 is now reporting running in 16x mode. However I am stuck with a bit of a problem, the XIII Hero only has one 1x slot that I cannot put the sound card into because my GPU obstructs it. My question is why does the PCIE16_3 slot when populated with the PCIe 1x sound card drop the PCIE16_1 slot into 8x? The manual doesn't state anywhere that PCIE16_3 shares bandwidth with PCIE16_1.
    Hello,

    Your 10th Generation CPU has a maximum number of 16x PCIE lanes

  2. #12
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zeroed85 PC Specs
    Zeroed85 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XIII Hero - Z590
    ProcessorIntel i9 10900K - custom cooled
    Memory (part number)Dominator Platinum RGB 32GB 3866Mhz tuned
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 3080 OC - watercooled
    Sound CardSoundBlaster X AE-5
    MonitorAsus ROG PG349Q 34" 3440x1440 120hz G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 500GB, 860 Evo x 2,
    Storage #2Adata SX8200 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerCustom loop, EK PE 360, Corsair XR5 280 rads
    CasePhanteks Eclipse P600S
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Platinum 1300W
    Keyboard Corsair K70 MK.2 SE
    Mouse Corsair Dark Core Pro wireless
    Headset Hifiman HE400i
    OS Win 11
    Accessory #1 Corsair Nexus

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    198

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone@ROG View Post
    Hello,

    Your 10th Generation CPU has a maximum number of 16x PCIE lanes
    But isn't PCIE16_3 connected to the chipset? If I plug the sound card into PCIE16_3 shouldn't it be running off the chipset not the CPU?
    Last edited by Zeroed85; 04-13-2021 at 07:23 AM.

  3. #13
    ROG Enthusiast Array EncodeGR PC Specs
    EncodeGR PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-11700K
    Memory (part number)Kingston HyperX Predator RGB 32GB (4x8GB) DDR4 3600MHz CL17 Memory Kit - Black (HX436C17PB4AK4/32)
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1070Ti Gaming X 8GB
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster Z
    MonitorDell Ultrasharp U2520D 25" QHD IPS
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro M.2 Nvme PCIe 4.0, 500 GB
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2 Nvme PCIe 3.0, 1 TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U12A
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Evolv X Glass - Black
    Power SupplyAsus ROG Thor 850W Platinum
    Keyboard Logitech G915 TKL Lightspeed, Tactile
    Mouse Razer Basilisk V2
    Headset Sennheiser Game-Zero Headset
    Mouse Pad Asus ROG Sheath XL
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z333 2.1 Speakers
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    Accessory #1 Noctua NF-A14 PWM (x6)
    Accessory #2 Phanteks Halos Lux
    Accessory #3 Phanteks Neon Digital-Rgb

    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    55

    Quote Originally Posted by Zeroed85 View Post
    But isn't PCIE16_3 connected to the chipset? If I plug the sound card into PCIE16_3 shouldn't it be running off the chipset not the CPU?
    That is correct. Pluging your sound card into PCIe16_3 will occupy chipset lanes not CPU lanes.
    For a 10th gen CPU, you only want a singe GPU at PCIE16_1 in order to run it at x16.

    So, for *10th Gen* a setup for a GPU at x16 with an M.2 Nvme and a sound card, would be like:
    PCIE16_1 --> GRAPHICS CARD
    PCIE16_2 --> Empty
    PCIE16_3 --> SOUND CARD
    M.2_1 --> Empty
    M.2_2 --> Empty
    M.2_3 --> M.2 NVME DRIVE
    M.2_4 --> Empty

    For *11th Gen*, you can instead use the M.2_1 for the M.2 Nvme drive, which will use CPU lanes too, but that's ok since the 11th gen CPU has extra 4 more lanes (20 total).
    Last edited by EncodeGR; 04-13-2021 at 07:48 AM.

  4. #14
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zeroed85 PC Specs
    Zeroed85 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XIII Hero - Z590
    ProcessorIntel i9 10900K - custom cooled
    Memory (part number)Dominator Platinum RGB 32GB 3866Mhz tuned
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 3080 OC - watercooled
    Sound CardSoundBlaster X AE-5
    MonitorAsus ROG PG349Q 34" 3440x1440 120hz G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 500GB, 860 Evo x 2,
    Storage #2Adata SX8200 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerCustom loop, EK PE 360, Corsair XR5 280 rads
    CasePhanteks Eclipse P600S
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Platinum 1300W
    Keyboard Corsair K70 MK.2 SE
    Mouse Corsair Dark Core Pro wireless
    Headset Hifiman HE400i
    OS Win 11
    Accessory #1 Corsair Nexus

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    198

    Quote Originally Posted by EncodeGR View Post
    That is correct. Pluging your sound card into PCIe16_3 will occupy chipset lanes not CPU lanes.
    For a 10th gen CPU, you only want a singe GPU at PCIE16_1 in order to run it at x16.

    So, for *10th Gen* a setup for a GPU at x16 with an M.2 Nvme and a sound card, would be like:
    PCIE16_1 --> GRAPHICS CARD
    PCIE16_2 --> Empty
    PCIE16_3 --> SOUND CARD
    M.2_1 --> Empty
    M.2_2 --> Empty
    M.2_3 --> M.2 NVME DRIVE
    M.2_4 --> Empty

    For *11th Gen*, you can instead use the M.2_1 for the M.2 Nvme drive, which will use CPU lanes too, but that's ok since the 11th gen CPU has extra 4 more lanes (20 total).
    Well my NVMe is in M.2_4. When I plugged the sound card into PCIE16_3 with the NVMe in M.2_4 PCIE16_1 was still in 8x... Does M.2_4 share bandwidth with the CPU?

    So with a 10th gen CPU can I only use 1 NVMe with this board?

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zeroed85 PC Specs
    Zeroed85 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XIII Hero - Z590
    ProcessorIntel i9 10900K - custom cooled
    Memory (part number)Dominator Platinum RGB 32GB 3866Mhz tuned
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 3080 OC - watercooled
    Sound CardSoundBlaster X AE-5
    MonitorAsus ROG PG349Q 34" 3440x1440 120hz G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 500GB, 860 Evo x 2,
    Storage #2Adata SX8200 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerCustom loop, EK PE 360, Corsair XR5 280 rads
    CasePhanteks Eclipse P600S
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Platinum 1300W
    Keyboard Corsair K70 MK.2 SE
    Mouse Corsair Dark Core Pro wireless
    Headset Hifiman HE400i
    OS Win 11
    Accessory #1 Corsair Nexus

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    198

    If this could be clarified it would be great. I really hope that I can run the sound card and at least 2x NVMe with CML + XIII Hero.

    With the sound card in PCIE16_3 SATA ports 3-4 are disabled. Hopefully I can move the two SATA drives on 3-4 to 5-6. Strangely PCIE16_1 still reported 8x when the sound card was in PCIE16_3.
    Last edited by Zeroed85; 04-13-2021 at 11:17 AM.

  6. #16
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Saltgrass PC Specs
    Saltgrass PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XIII Hero
    Processori9 11900K
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 3090 FTW
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorDell AW3420DW
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 2 TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 1 TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212X
    CaseCooler Master
    Power SupplyAntec HCP Platinum 1000
    Keyboard ASUS Strix Flare
    Mouse ASUS Chakram
    Headset/Speakers Logitech wired 5.1
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AX11000/AXE11000
    Accessory #1 VR Headset
    Accessory #2 Saitek X52

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    408

    I think you are going to find the logic on the motherboard is controlling how this stuff works. Since I could find no way to change, in the Bios, how this process works, it appears what you are asking is not available. I don't know if even having an 11th processor would change how the logic works in your situation except perhaps you could move the NVMe drive to M.2_1..

    When I look at the charts in the Owner's manual relating to PCIe slots, M.2_3 is not mentioned for some reason, just M2_1, _2 and _4.. except for saying it runs at x4 mode..

    The only other thing I might try is to disable Thunderbolt in the Bios. Maybe that would free up some resources..

    Have you looked into the sound system on the motherboard and found it deficient? The sound card you have is very impressive and I understand why you would want to keep it. Maybe something will change, even with a newer Windows build to help you do that.

  7. #17
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zeroed85 PC Specs
    Zeroed85 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XIII Hero - Z590
    ProcessorIntel i9 10900K - custom cooled
    Memory (part number)Dominator Platinum RGB 32GB 3866Mhz tuned
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 3080 OC - watercooled
    Sound CardSoundBlaster X AE-5
    MonitorAsus ROG PG349Q 34" 3440x1440 120hz G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 500GB, 860 Evo x 2,
    Storage #2Adata SX8200 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerCustom loop, EK PE 360, Corsair XR5 280 rads
    CasePhanteks Eclipse P600S
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Platinum 1300W
    Keyboard Corsair K70 MK.2 SE
    Mouse Corsair Dark Core Pro wireless
    Headset Hifiman HE400i
    OS Win 11
    Accessory #1 Corsair Nexus

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    198

    @EncodeGR Can you clarify why NVMe goes into M.2_3? Can both M.2_3/4 be used with CML processor?

  8. #18
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zeroed85 PC Specs
    Zeroed85 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XIII Hero - Z590
    ProcessorIntel i9 10900K - custom cooled
    Memory (part number)Dominator Platinum RGB 32GB 3866Mhz tuned
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 3080 OC - watercooled
    Sound CardSoundBlaster X AE-5
    MonitorAsus ROG PG349Q 34" 3440x1440 120hz G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 500GB, 860 Evo x 2,
    Storage #2Adata SX8200 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerCustom loop, EK PE 360, Corsair XR5 280 rads
    CasePhanteks Eclipse P600S
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Platinum 1300W
    Keyboard Corsair K70 MK.2 SE
    Mouse Corsair Dark Core Pro wireless
    Headset Hifiman HE400i
    OS Win 11
    Accessory #1 Corsair Nexus

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    198

    Quote Originally Posted by Saltgrass View Post
    I think you are going to find the logic on the motherboard is controlling how this stuff works. Since I could find no way to change, in the Bios, how this process works, it appears what you are asking is not available. I don't know if even having an 11th processor would change how the logic works in your situation except perhaps you could move the NVMe drive to M.2_1..

    When I look at the charts in the Owner's manual relating to PCIe slots, M.2_3 is not mentioned for some reason, just M2_1, _2 and _4.. except for saying it runs at x4 mode..

    The only other thing I might try is to disable Thunderbolt in the Bios. Maybe that would free up some resources..

    Have you looked into the sound system on the motherboard and found it deficient? The sound card you have is very impressive and I understand why you would want to keep it. Maybe something will change, even with a newer Windows build to help you do that.
    I have found previous motherboard sound chips won't drive my planar magnetic headphones satisfactorily. Planar magnetic need a lot of amp power. The SB AE-5 has a more powerful amplifier. I have not tried the sound chip on the XIII Hero.

    No where in the manual does it say PCIE16_3 will cut bandwidth to PCIE16_1 when populated, only that PCIE16_3 will disable SATA ports 3-4. PCIE16_3 should be running off the chipset and should not interfere with PCIE16_1. Next step will be to unplug the drives I have on SATA ports 3-4 completely and try the sound card again in PCIE16_3.

  9. #19
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zeroed85 PC Specs
    Zeroed85 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XIII Hero - Z590
    ProcessorIntel i9 10900K - custom cooled
    Memory (part number)Dominator Platinum RGB 32GB 3866Mhz tuned
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 3080 OC - watercooled
    Sound CardSoundBlaster X AE-5
    MonitorAsus ROG PG349Q 34" 3440x1440 120hz G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 500GB, 860 Evo x 2,
    Storage #2Adata SX8200 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerCustom loop, EK PE 360, Corsair XR5 280 rads
    CasePhanteks Eclipse P600S
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Platinum 1300W
    Keyboard Corsair K70 MK.2 SE
    Mouse Corsair Dark Core Pro wireless
    Headset Hifiman HE400i
    OS Win 11
    Accessory #1 Corsair Nexus

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    198

    So figured out if I select in the BIOS - Onboard devices - PCIX16_1 + PCIX16_2 the GPU now runs at 16x in PCIX16_1 with the sound card in PCIX16_3.

    If I select Onboard devices - PCIX16_1 + PCIX16_2 + M.2_2 the PCIX16_1 goes into 8x. This concerns me. SATA ports 3-4 are disabled by having the sound card in PCIX16_3. SATA ports 5-6 are disabled by having M.2_4 populated. This only leaves me with M.2_3 as a viable M.2 slot and I want to run at least two NVMe.

    Why does M.2_2 make PCIX16_1 8x? If M.2_1 already uses the extra 4 lanes from a RKL processor why would M.2 share lanes with the CPU?? If I can only run one NVMe on this board with CML I am going to be very disappointed.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PCIE configuration.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	236.5 KB 
ID:	88367
    Last edited by Zeroed85; 04-15-2021 at 10:14 AM.

  10. #20
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zeroed85 PC Specs
    Zeroed85 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XIII Hero - Z590
    ProcessorIntel i9 10900K - custom cooled
    Memory (part number)Dominator Platinum RGB 32GB 3866Mhz tuned
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 3080 OC - watercooled
    Sound CardSoundBlaster X AE-5
    MonitorAsus ROG PG349Q 34" 3440x1440 120hz G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 500GB, 860 Evo x 2,
    Storage #2Adata SX8200 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerCustom loop, EK PE 360, Corsair XR5 280 rads
    CasePhanteks Eclipse P600S
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Platinum 1300W
    Keyboard Corsair K70 MK.2 SE
    Mouse Corsair Dark Core Pro wireless
    Headset Hifiman HE400i
    OS Win 11
    Accessory #1 Corsair Nexus

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    198

    Well the spec page clearly states M.2_2 shares bandwidth with PCIX16_1/2 so I goofed up. I don't understand though, why would anyone want to use M.2_2 when it half's the bandwidth to the GPU?

    It's clear that RKL + PCIE 4.0 has been the focus here but with CML (which the platform supports) the storage and PCIE lane options are severely limited.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •