Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array flagrant99 PC Specs
    flagrant99 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Strix B550-I Mii ITX
    ProcessorRyzen 7 5800X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C16-16GTRS
    Graphics Card #1XFX Radeon RX 570 4GB
    Sound CardSupremeFX7.1 Surround Sound High Definition Audio CODEC S1220A
    Storage #1Samsung - 980 PRO 1TB PCIE 4.0 x4 NVMe Gen4 SSD M.2
    CPU CoolerASUS ROG Ryuo 120
    CaseThermaltake Tower 100 Snow Edition
    Power SupplyCORSAIR - RMx Series 850W
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Auto vs Manual AI Overlock Tuner

    ASUS ROG Strix B550-I
    CMK16GX4M2B3200C16

    Ai Overclock Tuner in Bios
    Manual Vs Auto

    I am trying to get my RAM to run at DDR-3200.
    The other day I could swear I set Memory Frequency to DDR-3200MHz
    and when I booted up somehow all the other RAM timings where set.
    CAS Latency was like 28 or something.

    Now whenever I try this again it just keeps rebooting.

    So what selection allow me to say to the Mobo, tweak all params and get my RAM to run at DDR-3200?

    Was it Manual or Auto

    (DOCP is crap won't boot on my 4700g)


    Documentation says:
    Auto - Loads the optimal setting for the system. (BUT IT STILL LETS ME SET RAM SPEED)
    Manual - Allows you to individually set overlocking parameters.

    Do both adjust other timings based on what I enter?

    I wish it would let me see the values when I save to see what it would change instead of reboting every time. I can't tell what's going to happen.
    Last edited by flagrant99; 04-12-2021 at 10:47 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    129
    Posts
    671

    Forget the AI tuner and for the love of god DO NOT INSTALL AI SUITE!!!!!!. Do it all manually.
    Get a stable clock on CPU first then move on to ram. Plenty of tutorials out there and several on here.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Try Auto settings...

    Set all your Settings first to auto or just load the bios defaults...

    If you choose DOCP <- This is the setting for your XMP Ram profile. Normaly if you set this and then choose your Profile for your RAM @3200MHZ all settings will be automatically loaded directly from your RAM into the Bios (MHZ, CL and so on...).

    Now if you go to save and reboot, the bios will show you all changed settings to your RAM...You can look what will be changed because of DOCP aka XMP and reboot or just hit ESC to go back to the bios....

    Maybe you have also a false FCKL (Infinity Fabric Clock)...best is a 1:1 setting.... so 3200MHZ DDR is 1600MHZ DR so your FCKL musst be also 1600MHZ or AUTO setting. Also the FSB Clock must be 100HZ !!!

    Hope i could help

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array flagrant99 PC Specs
    flagrant99 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Strix B550-I Mii ITX
    ProcessorRyzen 7 5800X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C16-16GTRS
    Graphics Card #1XFX Radeon RX 570 4GB
    Sound CardSupremeFX7.1 Surround Sound High Definition Audio CODEC S1220A
    Storage #1Samsung - 980 PRO 1TB PCIE 4.0 x4 NVMe Gen4 SSD M.2
    CPU CoolerASUS ROG Ryuo 120
    CaseThermaltake Tower 100 Snow Edition
    Power SupplyCORSAIR - RMx Series 850W
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Thx guys. Looks like Ai over clock Tuner Auto DOES tweak other timings based on Memory Frequency.
    Getting strange results though.
    I have Same RAM Mobo and two different CPU's to play with.

    3200g
    DOCP DDR4-3200Mhz - WORKS
    STOCK DDR4-1233Mhz - WORKS
    Load Setup Default ->Ai overclock Tuner Auto -> Memory Frequency -> DDR4-3200MHZ Won't Post.

    4700g
    DOCP DDR4-3200MHZ - Windows Crashes on Startup (Garbled colors etc)
    STOCK - WORKS.
    Load Setup Default ->Ai overclock Tuner Auto -> Memory Frequency -> DDR4-3200MHZ - WORKS.

    DOCP 3200MHZ refuses to boot on 4700g (CAS 16). Auto 3200 works but Cas Latency is at 22. (And all other timings loose but it works!)

    Why would the 3200g work with DOCP 3200MHz but not Auto? I would have figured Auto sets loose timings? Must be setting different timings for different CPUS's
    Can't tell what it's picking since everything shows Auto and won't boot.

    Ryzen Master does not support 4700g so the only way I can see timings is in bios after boot.

    Here is what ASUS Auto chose for 4700g Auto and works. Should I bother lowering Cas Latency?

    Uncore 1596.8 MHz
    DRAM 1596.8 MHz

    DRAM CAS # Latency (CL) 22
    Trcdrd 22
    Trcdwr 22
    DRAM RAS # PRE Time 23
    DRAM RAS # ACT Time 53
    Back Cycle Time (tRC) 76
    Trrds 6
    TrrdL 9
    Tfaw 34
    TwtrS 4
    TwtrL 12
    Twr 24
    Trcpage 0
    TrdrdScl 5
    TwrwrScl 5
    Trfc 560
    Trfc2 416
    Trfc4 256
    Tcwl 18
    Trtp 12
    Trdwr 11
    Twrrd 1
    TwrwrSc 1
    TwrwrSd 6
    TwrwrDd 6
    TrdrdSc 1
    TrdrdSd 4
    TrdrdDd 4
    Tcke 8
    ProdODT Auto
    Cmd2T Auto
    Gear Down Mode Auto
    Power Down Enable Auto
    RttNom Auto
    RttWr Auto
    RttPark Auto
    MemAddrCmdSetup Auto
    MemCsOdtSetup Auto
    MemCkeSetup Auto
    MemCadBusClkDrivStren Auto
    MemCaasBusCsOdtDrvStren Auto
    MemCasBusCkeDrvStren Auto
    Mem Over Clock Fail Count Auto



    Command Rate (CR) 1T


    VDDCR SOC 1.1V
    DRAM Voltage 1.35 V
    DVVP Voltage 0.900V
    VTTDDR Voltage 0.675V
    VPP_MEM Voltage 2.500V
    VDDO Standby Voltage 0.900V


    Very strange.

    I don't care about OC.
    I just want 3200MHZ on my 4700g (upgrading from 3200g)
    Last edited by flagrant99; 04-13-2021 at 11:37 PM. Reason: Wrong trfc

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array flagrant99 PC Specs
    flagrant99 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Strix B550-I Mii ITX
    ProcessorRyzen 7 5800X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C16-16GTRS
    Graphics Card #1XFX Radeon RX 570 4GB
    Sound CardSupremeFX7.1 Surround Sound High Definition Audio CODEC S1220A
    Storage #1Samsung - 980 PRO 1TB PCIE 4.0 x4 NVMe Gen4 SSD M.2
    CPU CoolerASUS ROG Ryuo 120
    CaseThermaltake Tower 100 Snow Edition
    Power SupplyCORSAIR - RMx Series 850W
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    I tried just fixing the top 6 timings to 16 18 18 18 36, and Bumped SOC offset to + .1 and VDDP to 1.0 from .9. No Post.

    I guess I'll stick with CAS 22 for now.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array flagrant99 PC Specs
    flagrant99 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Strix B550-I Mii ITX
    ProcessorRyzen 7 5800X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C16-16GTRS
    Graphics Card #1XFX Radeon RX 570 4GB
    Sound CardSupremeFX7.1 Surround Sound High Definition Audio CODEC S1220A
    Storage #1Samsung - 980 PRO 1TB PCIE 4.0 x4 NVMe Gen4 SSD M.2
    CPU CoolerASUS ROG Ryuo 120
    CaseThermaltake Tower 100 Snow Edition
    Power SupplyCORSAIR - RMx Series 850W
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    is this my RAM on QVL?

    If my ram is on QVL does that mean it is supposed to work?

    https://rog.asus.com/us/motherboards...esk_qvl_memory


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	QVL.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	90.1 KB 
ID:	88366

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Did you try Xmp-1 in the bios, should pre set the
    memory to 3200mhz, 1.35 v , not sure about stock timings

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array flagrant99 PC Specs
    flagrant99 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Strix B550-I Mii ITX
    ProcessorRyzen 7 5800X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C16-16GTRS
    Graphics Card #1XFX Radeon RX 570 4GB
    Sound CardSupremeFX7.1 Surround Sound High Definition Audio CODEC S1220A
    Storage #1Samsung - 980 PRO 1TB PCIE 4.0 x4 NVMe Gen4 SSD M.2
    CPU CoolerASUS ROG Ryuo 120
    CaseThermaltake Tower 100 Snow Edition
    Power SupplyCORSAIR - RMx Series 850W
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Asus uses DOCP for AMD

    Technically XMP is intel only. I'm using AMD. It's called D.O.C.P. for AMD. As far as I know Asus is the only company that decided to change the name.
    Only one D.O.C.P profile shows up. The one that matches the sticker on the ram. And that's the problem it doesn't work. The QVL says it should but it doesn't. The QVL also states it works on Intel (for an AMD Motherboard) and it has a version # that doesn't exist. So not sure how much I trust that QVL.

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array flagrant99 PC Specs
    flagrant99 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Strix B550-I Mii ITX
    ProcessorRyzen 7 5800X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C16-16GTRS
    Graphics Card #1XFX Radeon RX 570 4GB
    Sound CardSupremeFX7.1 Surround Sound High Definition Audio CODEC S1220A
    Storage #1Samsung - 980 PRO 1TB PCIE 4.0 x4 NVMe Gen4 SSD M.2
    CPU CoolerASUS ROG Ryuo 120
    CaseThermaltake Tower 100 Snow Edition
    Power SupplyCORSAIR - RMx Series 850W
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Moving on.

    Bought some 4000Mhz ram that runs fine at D.O.C.P on the 4700g. Will keep this with the 3200g where it is fine at 3200Mhz. Moving on. Messing around with those RAM timing numbers was making me lose my mind. .

  10. #10
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    178
    Posts
    2,336

    Quote Originally Posted by flagrant99 View Post
    If my ram is on QVL does that mean it is supposed to work?

    https://rog.asus.com/us/motherboards...esk_qvl_memory


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	QVL.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	90.1 KB 
ID:	88366


    The QVL and validation process is designed to ensure the user the best possible chance of compatibility, or more importantly stability. It doesn't ensure or guarantee the kit will operate at the voltage, timings and latency imbedded on the SPD table on the modules without additional tuning. No memory vender will guarantee this, either.

    This post should help explain things better.


    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...-and-using-XMP

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •