Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Desperanto PC Specs
    Desperanto PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG STRIX Z390-F GAMING
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 9700k
    Memory (part number)CORSAIR Vengeance LPX CMK16GX4M2B3200C16 DDR4 - 4x8Gb
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG-STRIX-RTX3070-O8G-GAMING
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 970 EVO MZ-V7E250BW
    CPU CoolerDEEPCOOL ASSASSIN II, 140мм

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Question ROG Z390-F Gaming BIOS with Resizable BAR support for Nvidia RTX 30 series cards

    Any one already tried???
    https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/LGA1151/ROG_STRIX_Z390-E_GAMING/ROG-STRIX-Z390-F-GAMING-ASUS-1901.ZIP
    Version 1901 Beta
    2021/04/14 8.12 MBytes
    ROG STRIX Z390-F GAMING BIOS 1901
    'Add Resizable BAR support for Nvidia RTX 30 series cards to potentially deliver more performance to gamers in select titles.

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array Desperanto PC Specs
    Desperanto PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG STRIX Z390-F GAMING
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 9700k
    Memory (part number)CORSAIR Vengeance LPX CMK16GX4M2B3200C16 DDR4 - 4x8Gb
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG-STRIX-RTX3070-O8G-GAMING
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 970 EVO MZ-V7E250BW
    CPU CoolerDEEPCOOL ASSASSIN II, 140мм

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Will answer myself: all works fine!
    THX, ASUS!
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos 2021-04-14 18_20_05-Параметры.png  


  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Yep works great here with a 5ghz overclock:

    https://valid.x86.fr/f7ayxi

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    38

    Not so positive for me. Coming from 1302 my previous settings are not stable. First it wouldn't post because of RTL/IO settings (Auto works though), then it's not stable regarding my oc. Still trying to figure out what has changed, I suppose it's vcore or LLC which is either reported differently, or behaviour really changed. Or it's my custom RAM settings...

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array Wangeyed PC Specs
    Wangeyed PC Specs
    MotherboardROG STRIX Z390-F
    Processori5 9600K
    Graphics Card #11080 ti

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    52

    Quote Originally Posted by vvoid View Post
    Not so positive for me. Coming from 1302 my previous settings are not stable. First it wouldn't post because of RTL/IO settings (Auto works though), then it's not stable regarding my oc. Still trying to figure out what has changed, I suppose it's vcore or LLC which is either reported differently, or behaviour really changed. Or it's my custom RAM settings...
    i wouldnt use previous bios settings coming from such a old version might be better starting fresh

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    38

    Well, settings are settings and usually they should "work" in an absolute sense, no matter the BIOS version. Esp. memory timings. And that's not the case here, I think this might have started from versions 17xy onwards, having read lots of threads about those newer versions.

    But I think I've now stabilized it, actually 1901 seems to be _better_ than 1302 in regards to memory oc. The issue for me was not vcore/CPU-related as I initially thought (though there's a slight difference in LLC levels, I'm pretty sure), but memory. Esp. RTL/IO needs to be different and in general, slightly higher freqs (100-200MHz) might be reachable on 1901 for me. But that's beside the point, first prio was to stabilize my previous 1302 timings:
    1. Set RTT_PARK to 240 for both channels. (as suggested in some Maximus BIOS threads --> also seems to fix long POST times)
    2. Set XMP1 BIOS profile (before I always used Manuel. But I set all timings manually anyway, so I'm not sure this does anything)
    3. RTL/IO all Auto in order to POST my previous timings, then proceed as usual to determine the best values. (resulted in tighter settings than what I had before! Don't leave those on Auto if close to the edge!)
    4. All other primary/secondary/tertiary timings remained the same, no single regression, bandwith/latency about the same as on 1302 and appears to be stable.

    For reference, this is with 4 sticks of good B-Die 3200 CL14, running at 3913 16-17-17-35 with very tight subtimings overall. Currently testing 4013, which didn't POST on 1302, now it does...

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array rexbinary PC Specs
    rexbinary PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 5950x
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL Trident Z Neo 32GB (2x16GB) DDR4-3600 CL16
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3080 Ti FE
    MonitorAcer Predator XB271HU 27" WQHD IPS NVIDIA G-Sync Black/Red Gaming Monitor
    Storage #1Samsung 980 PRO 2TB x2
    Storage #2WD_BLACK 10TB HD
    CPU CoolerArctic Liquid Freezer II 360
    CaseFractal Design Meshify 2 Dark Tinted Glass
    Power SupplyCORSAIR HX Series HX850
    Keyboard Logitech G512 Carbon GX Blue
    Mouse Logitech G502 Hero
    Headset SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad XTracGear Carbonic XXL Desk Mat
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Speaker System Z906
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    rexbinary's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    56

    Quote Originally Posted by vvoid View Post
    Well, settings are settings and usually they should "work" in an absolute sense, no matter the BIOS version. Esp. memory timings.
    That's not always the case. How the settings are stored and where the settings are stored in memory can and often does change between versions. That's why it's always recommended to start fresh when upgrading your BIOS especially when jumping multiple versions. User profiles are best used as a backup when tweaking and testing settings on the same version BIOS.

    CPU: AMD Ryzen 9 5950x | Mobo: ASUS ROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero (BIOS 3801) | Cooler: Arctic Liquid Freezer II 360
    Memory: G.SKILL Trident Z Neo 32GB (2x16GB) DDR4-3600 CL16 | GPU: NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3080 Ti FE | PSU: Corsair HX Series HX850
    Drives: Samsung 980 PRO 2TB x2, WD_BLACK 10TB HD | Case: Fractal Design Meshify 2 Dark Tinted Glass

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    70

    Its also released for z370-e but where to set the resizable bar . I already updated the firmware for FE 3080 would it not enable by default if both motherboard and gpu have feature unlocked

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    You have to enable it in bios in the section that contains 4g encoding. Should be a new option below it. I'm gonna update after work. Still a bit cautious since I once blew an asus p8z68 board with a bios update. Did update this board one time to version 1302. So fingers crossed, I already flashed my tuf 3080 oc so now for enabling resizebar.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Enderwiggin03 PC Specs
    Enderwiggin03 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG STRIX Z390-E Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 9900k @ 5.1Ghz on all 8 cores 1.36v
    Memory (part number)F4-4266C19D-16GTZR @ 4000Mhz CL16-17-17-35 1.45v
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2070 XC Ultra
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster X AE-5
    MonitorASUS VG248QE
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo 500GB m.2
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 1TB SATA
    CPU CoolerEVGA CLC280 with 4x NF-A14 iPPC-3000 PWM (push/pull)fans
    CaseFractal Design R6
    Power SupplyEVGA G3 1000w
    Keyboard Logitech G513 Carbon
    Mouse Logitech G703
    Mouse Pad Logitech Poweplay
    OS Windows 10 Home x64

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    193

    Quote Originally Posted by rexbinary View Post
    That's not always the case. How the settings are stored and where the settings are stored in memory can and often does change between versions. That's why it's always recommended to start fresh when upgrading your BIOS especially when jumping multiple versions. User profiles are best used as a backup when tweaking and testing settings on the same version BIOS.
    I'm finding this to be the case as well. I was having issues with RAM Training/timings, and the Park suggestions here so far seem to work, as well as manually starting all over after a bios flash.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •