Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    CPU PCIe config and M.2_2

    I have a ROG STRIX Z590-E Gaming Series, with WiFi 6E motherboard and I am trying to utilize the M.2_2 hard drive slot. In order for the system to recognize the hard drive I have to go into BIOS and advanced>onboard device configuration>CPU PCIE Configuration Mode and change it to "PCIEx16_1 + PCIEx16_2 + M.2_2"

    My question is am I choking the PCI lanes for the graphics card by doing this? I have 3 SSDs in this tower (not utilizing M.2_1) but I could easily remove one drive if it means I am indeed splitting the PCI lanes between the hard drive and my graphics card.

    Other info that may be of use:
    CPU: Intel Core i9 10850K
    GPU: ASUS ROG STRIX GeForce RTX 3080
    SSD in slot M.2_2: SAMSUNG 980 PRO M.2 2280 1TB PCI-Express Gen 4.0 x4, NVMe 1.3
    M.2_3 SSD:1TB Intel 660P M.2
    M.2_4 SSD: ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 2TB Gen3x4 PCIe M.2 2280

    The intel is the one with the boot system on it and the one that came with the rig (yes i bought prebuilt only way to get a 3080 these days), but i could easily make the samsung the boot drive and the ADATA my gaming drive.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zeroed85 PC Specs
    Zeroed85 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XIII Hero - Z590
    ProcessorIntel i9 10900K - custom cooled
    Memory (part number)Dominator Platinum RGB 32GB 3866Mhz tuned
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 3080 OC - watercooled
    Sound CardSoundBlaster X AE-5
    MonitorAsus ROG PG349Q 34" 3440x1440 120hz G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 500GB, 860 Evo x 2,
    Storage #2Adata SX8200 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerCustom loop, EK PE 360, Corsair XR5 280 rads
    CasePhanteks Eclipse P600S
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Platinum 1300W
    Keyboard Corsair K70 MK.2 SE
    Mouse Corsair Dark Core Pro wireless
    Headset Hifiman HE400i
    OS Win 11
    Accessory #1 Corsair Nexus

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    214

    M.2_2 for some reason shares lanes with the CPU. So if you populate M.2_2 it will run the PCIEX16_1 slot in 8x. If you dig through the manual it will state this. I don't really understand why Asus have chose to have the M.2_2 sharing lanes with the CPU and not the chipset though...

  3. #3
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    I think this is referring to Hyper PCI Cards HYPER M.2 X16 Card gen 4

    Activate HYPER M.2 X16 and Enable under CPU PCIE Configuration Mode (ADVANCED) tab

    Restrictions

    1. Update to latest BIOS before using RAID on CPU function.

    2. For Z590, Z490, Z390 and Z370 series motherboard, install IRST version 16 or above to use RAID on CPU function. Only Intel SSDs can active Intel RAID on CPU function in Intel platform.

    Install one HYPER M.2x16 card in second PCI slot (CPU Controlled)
    Install up to four SSD cards

    Put on your speed helmet and enjoy.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array Grimpak PC Specs
    Grimpak PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus XIII Apex
    Processori9 11900f
    Graphics Card #1Watercooled MSI Vega 64 Airboost OC
    Sound CardSteelseries GameDac
    Storage #1WD SN850 500GB
    Storage #2Raid0'ed 2xWD SN550 1TB
    CPU CoolerModified EK-MLC Phoenix + Eisbaer aurora 360
    CaseCooler Master SL600M Black Edition
    Power SupplySeasonic Focus gold 1000w
    Keyboard Steelseries Apex Pro
    Mouse Steelseries Rival 710

    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    67

    Quote Originally Posted by Zeroed85 View Post
    M.2_2 for some reason shares lanes with the CPU. So if you populate M.2_2 it will run the PCIEX16_1 slot in 8x. If you dig through the manual it will state this. I don't really understand why Asus have chose to have the M.2_2 sharing lanes with the CPU and not the chipset though...
    4 nvme slots. also 10th gen doesn't have the same pcie lanes as 11th (16 vs 20), meaning any nvme connected directly to the cpu will need to share with the gpu lanes.

    putting the m.2_2 on the chipset would limit even further the number of bandwith available for the IO.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array rolldog PC Specs
    rolldog PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus IX Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i7-7700K w/ monoblock
    Memory (part number)32GB G. SKILL TridentZ DDR4 PC4-32000 4000Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte AORUS 1080 Ti Extreme (full waterblock)
    Monitor2017 Sony 55" A1E OLED
    Storage #1Intel Optane 32GB Cache Drive w/ 8TB Seagate
    Storage #2Samsung 960 Pro M.2 NVMe 1TB
    CPU CoolerBitspower Monoblock
    CaseIn Win Tou 2.0
    Power Supply1065-SIV
    Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 RGB
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre Laser RGB Gaming Mouse
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800
    Headset/Speakers Sony 55" A1E
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterUbiquiti UniFi USG Pro 4
    Accessory #1 Alphacool Cape Corp Coolplex HF metall chrome reservoir
    Accessory #2 Laing DDC w/ brushed aluminum mod top
    Accessory #3 Dual Aquacomputer Airplex 360mm radiators

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    101

    I'm running the APEX XIII Z590 with an i9-11900kf, and since I have a watercooled 3080 Ti, I put a Samsung 980 Pro in M.2_1, left M.2_2 empty, and added 2 more M.2 SSDs using the DIMM that was provided. From my understanding once the M.2_2 slot is used, PCIEX_16_1 drops to x8. I'd rather have my other SSDs running slower than taking bandwidth from my 3080 Ti

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by rolldog View Post
    I'm running the APEX XIII Z590 with an i9-11900kf, and since I have a watercooled 3080 Ti, I put a Samsung 980 Pro in M.2_1, left M.2_2 empty, and added 2 more M.2 SSDs using the DIMM that was provided. From my understanding once the M.2_2 slot is used, PCIEX_16_1 drops to x8. I'd rather have my other SSDs running slower than taking bandwidth from my 3080 Ti
    I kind of wish I knew this when I bought the mobo a while back. I'm running a 10th gen CPU with m.2 drives in slot 2 & 3. Not only is my GPU only able to run at X8 speeds, but my boot SSD that's in m.2_2 is running at X1 speeds, but m.2_3 is fine at X4.

    Eventually I'll end up moving both ssd's down a slot to hopefully fix the GPU speed, and my boot ssd running at X1.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array Exalix PC Specs
    Exalix PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG STRIX Z590-F GAMING WIFI
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-11700K
    Memory (part number)16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3200 C16
    Graphics Card #1MSI SUMPRIM X RTX 3070 Ti
    MonitorAsus VG27AQ 144Hz + DELL U2713H
    Storage #1WD Black SN850 PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 - 1TB
    Storage #2SAMSUNG SSD 850 Pro - 1TB (SATA)
    CPU CoolerCorsair HX100i
    CaseNZXT H510
    Power SupplyCorsair AX760i
    Keyboard Kingston HyperX Alloy FPS
    Mouse Razer Basilisk V2
    Headset SONY WH-1000XM3
    OS Windows 11 Pro
    Network RouterAsus AC68U

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    36

    I know this sounds very easy to say; but sell your 10th gen cpu if you can, and buy a 11th gen cpu. The Z590 motherboard is clearly made with 11th gen cpu in mind for optimal nvme/pcie lanes across the board and crippled with a 10th gpu. Sad but true.
    Last edited by Exalix; 09-02-2021 at 08:04 AM.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array Grimpak PC Specs
    Grimpak PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus XIII Apex
    Processori9 11900f
    Graphics Card #1Watercooled MSI Vega 64 Airboost OC
    Sound CardSteelseries GameDac
    Storage #1WD SN850 500GB
    Storage #2Raid0'ed 2xWD SN550 1TB
    CPU CoolerModified EK-MLC Phoenix + Eisbaer aurora 360
    CaseCooler Master SL600M Black Edition
    Power SupplySeasonic Focus gold 1000w
    Keyboard Steelseries Apex Pro
    Mouse Steelseries Rival 710

    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    67

    Quote Originally Posted by Exalix View Post
    I know this sounds very easy to say; but sell your 10th gen cpu if you can, and buy a 11th gen cpu. The Z590 motherboard is clearly made with 11th gen cpu in mind for optimal nvme/pcie lanes across the board and crippled with a 10th gpu. Sad but true.
    well, he has a 10850k, so any change will be at most a sidegrade, at worst a downgrade.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    yeah move the drive out of the m.2_2 spot as this is putting your graphics card at x8.. and if you have four slots and move it to m.2_4 then you lose sata ports.. dont know if that board has 4.. my maximus hero xiii z590 board has 4 slots and you cant use _1 unless using a 11th gen cpu... and also cant use m.2_2 as it brings the x16 down to x8... im telling ya.. they advertise all it has but dont tell you that if you use them all then it just starts downgrading itself and stuff stops working.. lol.. move your stuff off that drive in the m.2_2 over to a sata ssd and just leave the one m.2 in there. will run just as fast.

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array G\'David PC Specs
    G\'David PC Specs
    MotherboardZ-590 Maximus XIII Hero
    Processor11600Kf
    Memory (part number)32G (of) F4-3600C14-64GTRG
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080 Ti FE (EKWB)
    MonitorAcer XR382cqk + Dell (portrait)
    Storage #1500G WD SN850 boot
    Storage #21TB PM961 & 3.84TB Intel D3-S4510
    CPU CoolerEK EXRes140/D5, EK CPU&GPU, 360&240 rads
    CaseSilverstone Seta A1
    Power SupplySeasonic Focus 850W platinum
    Keyboard mxkeys
    Mouse G700s / G300s
    Headset Shure AONIC 50 / ATK ADG1X
    OS W10Pro64
    G\'David's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by Exalix View Post
    I know this sounds very easy to say; but sell your 10th gen cpu if you can, and buy a 11th gen cpu. The Z590 motherboard is clearly made with 11th gen cpu in mind for optimal nvme/pcie lanes across the board and crippled with a 10th gpu. Sad but true.
    I'm with you on that for sure. 11th Gen gives more pci lane access and the idea of running a 10th gen CPU on an 11th Gen board hardly makes sense.
    I opted for the 11600kf as the thermals were better and the core speeds too. Six physical cores are more than enough for my needs and I love to see that without any tweaking these cores are at 4.9

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •