Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array mpoffo PC Specs
    mpoffo PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel 7900x
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C16Q-32GTZR = 32 GB 3200 Kit
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 3090 FTW Ultra
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia Geforce 1080 FE
    Sound CardSound Blaster Z
    MonitorX34 Predator + 2 Samsung Aux Monitors
    Storage #1Samsung 870 EVO 2 TB/850 Evo 500 GB
    Storage #2WD 2 TB & 4TB Black Hard Drives
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum - RGB
    Mouse Corsair Dark Core RGB Pro SE
    Headset Corsair Virtuoso RGB Wireless SE
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 RGB Polaris
    Headset/Speakers Logitech 5.1 Surround THX Speakers
    OS Windows 10 Pro - 64 Bit
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk (RAX 200) AX11000
    Accessory #1 Corsair Comm. w/ Corsair HD Fans - NZXT Hue +
    Accessory #2 DX Racer King Series Chair
    Accessory #3 3D Printer/HTC VIVE/Valve Index
    mpoffo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    259

    Ramage VI Extreme and DIMM.2 Riser - best drive location

    I have an Asus Rampage VI Extreme that I never put NVME in. I know, I know. I need to replace my main SSD windows drive and thought I would go with an Samsung 970 Evo Plus NVME.

    I have a 7900x in the system so it should have 44 PCIE lanes.

    Here is what I have installed in them on the board (From page 1-7 starting with the top slot going down)

    PCIE_X16/x8_1 - RTX 3090 GPU

    PCIEX8_2 - Empty

    PCIEx4 _1 - VIVE Wireless Card

    PCIE_x16/X8_3 - GTX 1080 GPU

    PCIEX8_4 - Sound Blaster Z Audio Card

    I simply want to add my 970 Evo Plus to my DIMM.2 riser and would like to know the best position to put it in so it won't disable any of the PCIE slots and give me good performance. I have read many older threads and there seems to be contradictory information and I simply want to get the best out of it without causing issues with anything else.

    It appears if I put it in the M2_1 position on the DIMM.2 I could select CPU or PCH. If I select PCH then it disables my PCIEx4 above (no go for me)? If I select CPU then it would disable the U.2 (which I don't use)? Which is better PCH or CPU?

    If I select the M2_2 position it would be PCH or CPU? I read that is shares bandwidth with the PCIX8_4 slot (bottom slot), so PCH?

    Right now it appears that the M2_2 slot might be the better option or M2_1 via CPU.

    I should have the PCIE lanes available for this but I could used some assistance to make sure I am selecting the best option and looking at this correctly.

    Thanks
    RVIE X299 System:
    Windows 10 Prof 64-bit | Intel Core i9 7900x | ASUS Rampage VI Extreme | Corsair AX 1200i PSU
    Corsair 900D | 32 GB 3200 G.SKILL Trident RGB Series | RTX 3090/EVGA GTX 1080 | Acer X34 Predator Monitor
    Samsung 840 PRO 256 GB | Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB | Intel 520 SATA SSD 240GB HD | 2 & 4 TB WD Black Hard Drive
    Creative Sound Blaster Z | Logitech THX 5.1 speaker setup

  2. #2
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    329
    Posts
    7,932

    To answer one of your questions: Which is better PCH or CPU? A direct pipe to the CPU is going to be better in situations where you don't give up anything else. A simple build with few devices is going to have extra unused lanes so you might as well allocate them directly when possible. PCH has a fixed number of lanes it shares out to connected devices. This is fine most of the time because not everything is using a lot of bandwidth at the same time. At times there may be high utilization from multiple devices and they will slow each other down. Typically this isn't even noticeable.

    On the other hand, if you have to disable other slots in order to give your NVME a dedicated pipe, is it worth it for you? Typical users will have storage usage between idle and low the vast majority of the time. In rare situations there might be a flurry of activity performing mass file operations but those are usually few and far between. And as mentioned, most people won't even notice if there is resource contention.
    Last edited by xeromist; 04-27-2021 at 06:03 PM.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array mpoffo PC Specs
    mpoffo PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel 7900x
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C16Q-32GTZR = 32 GB 3200 Kit
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 3090 FTW Ultra
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia Geforce 1080 FE
    Sound CardSound Blaster Z
    MonitorX34 Predator + 2 Samsung Aux Monitors
    Storage #1Samsung 870 EVO 2 TB/850 Evo 500 GB
    Storage #2WD 2 TB & 4TB Black Hard Drives
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum - RGB
    Mouse Corsair Dark Core RGB Pro SE
    Headset Corsair Virtuoso RGB Wireless SE
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 RGB Polaris
    Headset/Speakers Logitech 5.1 Surround THX Speakers
    OS Windows 10 Pro - 64 Bit
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk (RAX 200) AX11000
    Accessory #1 Corsair Comm. w/ Corsair HD Fans - NZXT Hue +
    Accessory #2 DX Racer King Series Chair
    Accessory #3 3D Printer/HTC VIVE/Valve Index
    mpoffo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    259

    Quote Originally Posted by xeromist View Post
    To answer one of your questions: Which is better PCH or CPU? A direct pipe to the CPU is going to be better in situations where you don't give up anything else. A simple build with few devices is going to have extra unused lanes so you might as well allocate them directly when possible. PCH has a fixed number of lanes it shares out to connected devices. This is fine most of the time because not everything is using a lot of bandwidth at the same time. At times there may be high utilization from multiple devices and they will slow each other down. Typically this isn't even noticeable.

    On the other hand, if you have to disable other slots in order to give your NVME a dedicated pipe, is it worth it for you? Typical users will have storage usage between idle and low the vast majority of the time. In rare situations there might be a flurry of activity performing mass file operations but those are usually few and far between. And as mentioned, most people won't even notice if there is resource contention.
    Thanks very much for your reply. Do you happen to know if the 2nd DIMM.2 slot (facing the power connectors) on the riser for the Rampage VI Extreme is CPU or PCH?
    RVIE X299 System:
    Windows 10 Prof 64-bit | Intel Core i9 7900x | ASUS Rampage VI Extreme | Corsair AX 1200i PSU
    Corsair 900D | 32 GB 3200 G.SKILL Trident RGB Series | RTX 3090/EVGA GTX 1080 | Acer X34 Predator Monitor
    Samsung 840 PRO 256 GB | Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB | Intel 520 SATA SSD 240GB HD | 2 & 4 TB WD Black Hard Drive
    Creative Sound Blaster Z | Logitech THX 5.1 speaker setup

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    Both DIMM.2 slots are direct to CPU.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array mpoffo PC Specs
    mpoffo PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel 7900x
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C16Q-32GTZR = 32 GB 3200 Kit
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 3090 FTW Ultra
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia Geforce 1080 FE
    Sound CardSound Blaster Z
    MonitorX34 Predator + 2 Samsung Aux Monitors
    Storage #1Samsung 870 EVO 2 TB/850 Evo 500 GB
    Storage #2WD 2 TB & 4TB Black Hard Drives
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum - RGB
    Mouse Corsair Dark Core RGB Pro SE
    Headset Corsair Virtuoso RGB Wireless SE
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 RGB Polaris
    Headset/Speakers Logitech 5.1 Surround THX Speakers
    OS Windows 10 Pro - 64 Bit
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk (RAX 200) AX11000
    Accessory #1 Corsair Comm. w/ Corsair HD Fans - NZXT Hue +
    Accessory #2 DX Racer King Series Chair
    Accessory #3 3D Printer/HTC VIVE/Valve Index
    mpoffo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    259

    Quote Originally Posted by sultan.of.swing View Post
    Both DIMM.2 slots are direct to CPU.
    OK I know the 1st one you can select PCH or CPU in Bios. So the second one is tied to the CPU.

    Thanks
    RVIE X299 System:
    Windows 10 Prof 64-bit | Intel Core i9 7900x | ASUS Rampage VI Extreme | Corsair AX 1200i PSU
    Corsair 900D | 32 GB 3200 G.SKILL Trident RGB Series | RTX 3090/EVGA GTX 1080 | Acer X34 Predator Monitor
    Samsung 840 PRO 256 GB | Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB | Intel 520 SATA SSD 240GB HD | 2 & 4 TB WD Black Hard Drive
    Creative Sound Blaster Z | Logitech THX 5.1 speaker setup

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    I think it depends on how you have the bios setup and the cpu you have, there is a drop down selection so you can choose the PCI-E layout.
    To enable the 2nd dimm.2 slot you have to select anything other than 16x/16x/8x for 44 lane cpu's

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •