Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Maximus XIII Hero: Both ethernet ports don't detect cables

    Hello,

    I've recently purchased a Maximus XIII Hero and am having trouble getting internet connectivity. Originally, I could not get any network connectivity, but was able to resolve this by plugging in an old Optical Drive to install the Wifi drivers from the provided CD.
    The main issue that I'm having is that neither one of the ethernet ports are detecting cables inserted into them. I tested the network using another PC and was able to determine that the network and cabling are not to blame. I've also uninstalled, reinstalled, and updated the Windows drivers, so that is not the issue either. Windows recognizes both ports exist, but they are in a perpetual "unplugged" state. I've also updated all firmware to the latest versions in a attempt to fix this.
    In my other Maximus Hero (older model), I can see the LED indicators flashing when a cable is plugged in even before loading the operating system. With this newer board, I don't see the indicators go on at all.
    Is this a faulty board, or is this something I can fix without having to ship off the board and waiting for a replacement?
    Last edited by dsatfire; 04-28-2021 at 06:42 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array timetoy PC Specs
    timetoy PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XIII Hero (z590)
    ProcessorIntel 10900KF
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) 4000 MHz CL15 (F4-4000C15Q-32GVK)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA XC3 3080 Hybrid
    Monitor3440x1440 1440x2560 1920x1080
    Storage #1Samsung 980 PRO 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 980 PRO 2TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i Elite Capellix 280mm
    CaseFractal Design Meshify 2 Compact
    Power SupplyCORSAIR HX1000i
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB mk2
    Mouse Logitech M720 Triathlon
    Headset Hyper X Cloud II Wireless
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Accessory #1 2x Corsair LS100 (monitor Lights)

    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Trying to use the existing copy of window 10 that was on my SSD (coming from a Z390) I NEVER got the integrated network to work properly.
    That is until I reinstalled windows from scratch, then it worked fine out of the box ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Saltgrass PC Specs
    Saltgrass PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XIII Hero
    Processori9 11900K
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 3090 FTW
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorDell AW3420DW
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 2 TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 1 TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212X
    CaseCooler Master
    Power SupplyAntec HCP Platinum 1000
    Keyboard ASUS Strix Flare
    Mouse ASUS Chakram
    Headset/Speakers Logitech wired 5.1
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AX11000/AXE11000
    Accessory #1 VR Headset
    Accessory #2 Saitek X52

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    443

    Quote Originally Posted by dsatfire View Post
    Hello,

    With this newer board, I don't see the indicators go on at all.
    Is this a faulty board, or is this something I can fix without having to ship off the board and waiting for a replacement?
    On my system, the port I have disabled in the Bios does not blink, the active one does.. Do you show both Ethernet ports in the Device Manager?

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    I have the Z590 E Gaming and I'm also unable to get the ETH to work (cable not connected on both ports). I previously had the Z490 and faced the same issue. Theres something about this i225-V Controller that does not like me at all.
    Z490 had the Rev2 and Z590 has Rev 3.

    Have 2 different notebooks which both work flawlessly connected to the ETH cable (switched already cables and ports on my switch but still no "heartbeat")

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Update:
    My house was build in 2018 and every room has a RJ45 wall plug. The wires from the wall plugs go in a central box where my router is located. There I can "patch" every single room directly to my router.

    ETH will not work when the cable is plugged into the wall socket but, if I plug it directly into my router (so basicaly moving my router out of the central box where my PC is located) the ETH suddenly recognizes the cable.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    56
    Posts
    96

    Quote Originally Posted by GEK_the_Reaper View Post
    ETH will not work when the cable is plugged into the wall socket but, if I plug it directly into my router (so basicaly moving my router out of the central box where my PC is located) the ETH suddenly recognizes the cable.
    You do not recall what you yourself wrote, but after witnessing your logic, that should not surprise me.
    The very conclusion is slapping you in the face, several times, yet you ignore it.
    I get it, you do not know much about UTP(and variants such as FTP, STP etc), but still, you do understand the concept of compliancy, right ?
    Your wall cables or plugs or both are not compliant with the standards, despite them being installed by professionals and being in the color orange, which is lol in itself, some equipment works with non-standard wiring, some does not. The Ethernet cable testers only check connection between pairs, not compliancy, at least not the cheap ones.
    Most likely the wall RJ45 female plugs are wired incorrectly.

    Your conclusion and information provided is going to be treated as laughable by the very people you expect to use said information to improve the LAN chip.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by Ataemonus View Post
    You do not recall what you yourself wrote, but after witnessing your logic, that should not surprise me.
    The very conclusion is slapping you in the face, several times, yet you ignore it.
    I get it, you do not know much about UTP(and variants such as FTP, STP etc), but still, you do understand the concept of compliancy, right ?
    Your wall cables or plugs or both are not compliant with the standards, despite them being installed by professionals and being in the color orange, which is lol in itself, some equipment works with non-standard wiring, some does not. The Ethernet cable testers only check connection between pairs, not compliancy, at least not the cheap ones.
    Most likely the wall RJ45 female plugs are wired incorrectly.

    Your conclusion and information provided is going to be treated as laughable by the very people you expect to use said information to improve the LAN chip.
    I do recall what I wrote but you still fail to read further in the thread.

    Yes, the first test that I did was taking out the router and connecting it directly to the PC.

    The second test I did was putting all back as it was (router in the box) but inserted another switch between the wall socket and my pc. So instead of using 1 cable from PC directly to the wall socket, I used 2 cables and a switch. The switch gets its data through the same cable and wall socket where my PC would plug in.

    The orange cables are standard industry cables in germany certified as CAT7. These are special cables that need to pass also other certifications to be used in buildings.

    A ETH cable tester checks for correct pinning of the sockets. A incorect wired socket (e.g. switched pinning or even not contacted pins) will a fail the cable testing.

    Just to add further to the topic: I now connected every single bit of HW I own directly to the socket and all work (2 different Notebooks, 2 smart TVs, 1 sat receiver, 1 sound system and last the borowed switch.

    PS: I do know that the "written word is prone to missinterpretation" but I do find your replies to be a little toxic (I appologize if it's only my interpretation).

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    56
    Posts
    96

    So there you go, poor cabling from the wall sockets.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by Ataemonus View Post
    So there you go, poor cabling from the wall sockets.
    What do you mean with poor cablingfrom the wall sockets?

    2 other Notebooks see the cable and work flawlessly and also another 2 earlyer builds with Realtek ETH Controllers also worked before. Why wouldn't the I225-V (3) do it?

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    56
    Posts
    96

    Yes, some devices work with improperly connected RJ45 cables, some do not. Turns out the i225v is one of those who needs all pins connected in the correct position to work.
    The other solution would be to check both the pinout of the wall sockets and the patch cables, but if the wall socket is not connected properly then it might be impossible to replace all the cables inside the walls or re-do the sockets themselves.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •