Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    crosshair hero VIII out of the box too high Vcore voltage

    Asus,
    I have this board and ask around,out of the box,it's giving in other opinions too high voltage to my 3900X.
    So I had to lower voltage manually to 1.2 V.
    I haven't update the BIOS because I use not compatible memory modules with this board,and so far everything works normally,and if it works why touch it.
    So I'm affraid that updating BIOS to most recent one could mess around with my memory and cause some issues.
    That is why I haven't updated the BIOS, I'm on 0704version I think.
    But how do we resolve this too high voltage giving to 3900X.
    Is it possible without updating BIOS?

  2. #2
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    170
    Posts
    2,220

    Hello,

    This is normal behaviour for Ryzen Precision Boost upward of up to 1.5v The CPU needs this much voltage in some instances to maintain frequency and adapts to high current loads accordingly.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone@ROG View Post
    Hello,

    This is normal behaviour for Ryzen Precision Boost upward of up to 1.5v The CPU needs this much voltage in some instances to maintain frequency and adapts to high current loads accordingly.
    Hmm so 1.4 V is perfectly normal for 3900X?
    A lot of people mentioning that voltage is not safe and leads to chip degradation over time.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone@ROG View Post
    Hello,

    This is normal behaviour for Ryzen Precision Boost upward of up to 1.5v The CPU needs this much voltage in some instances to maintain frequency and adapts to high current loads accordingly.
    These are my settings out of the box.
    Are they okay?
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20210501_183128.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	652.3 KB 
ID:	88555

  5. #5
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    170
    Posts
    2,220

    Quote Originally Posted by frozen_sun View Post
    Hmm so 1.4 V is perfectly normal for 3900X?
    A lot of people mentioning that voltage is not safe and leads to chip degradation over time.
    Yes, the vcore is normal. Flash to the latest UEFI if looking for the latest AGESA from AMD

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •