Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    102

    G750jx Not detecting 5 ghz wifi network

    Friends*
    I am using G750jx laptop, with windows 10, my all other devices are connected with 5 ghz wifi, but in this asus rog laptop its only showing me 2.5 ghz wifi signal, its not detecting 5ghz, it has qualcomm atheros wifi adapter, is it not compatible with 5 ghz? Or i am doing something wrong? Please help
    Thanks*

  2. #2
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Intel NUC laptop LAPQC71D
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
    ProcessorAMD 5800X
    Memory (part number)32GB G.Skill Ripjaws V 3600
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix RTX3090Ti
    Sound CardSound Blaster Z
    MonitorAORUS FV43U
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
    CPU CoolerCustom loop
    CaseBeQuiet Dark Base Pro 900 V2
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard ROG Strix Flare II Animate
    Mouse ROG Chakram X
    Headset Steelseries Arctis Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers Logitech z906 5.1
    Network RouterpfSense/OPNsense
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    411
    Posts
    8,487

    You may want to try setting up two separate SSIDs on your router/ap. If the laptop still doesn't see the SSID for the 5ghz network you may want to try another channel or channel width. I know I have some older devices that have limited band support and I cannot use certain bands if I want them to function.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    102

    Can you please guide me how to do this channel thing? i am using apple time capsule router and apple airport extreme��

  4. #4
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Intel NUC laptop LAPQC71D
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
    ProcessorAMD 5800X
    Memory (part number)32GB G.Skill Ripjaws V 3600
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix RTX3090Ti
    Sound CardSound Blaster Z
    MonitorAORUS FV43U
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
    CPU CoolerCustom loop
    CaseBeQuiet Dark Base Pro 900 V2
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard ROG Strix Flare II Animate
    Mouse ROG Chakram X
    Headset Steelseries Arctis Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers Logitech z906 5.1
    Network RouterpfSense/OPNsense
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    411
    Posts
    8,487

    Unfortunately I don't know anything about the airport's config interface. Some access points don't even have this level of configuration. I'd recommend googling for airport extreme channel selection or settings to see if you can find any useful documentation. I think most ap's allow you to set up a separate ssid for each frequency so that might be the first thing to try.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    121
    Posts
    2,307

    We may also want to look into the wireless adapter specs more since not all the G750JX wireless adapters support 5ghz from what I'm seeing.

    You may want to check if you can see the wireless adapter model in device manager or check if there is an 'advanced' tab in the device manager wireless adapter properties which shows you the different wireless frequencies that are available for your wireless card.
    If it's being used, the AZWAVE/AW-NB097H wireless card is only able to support 2.4Ghz wireless from what I'm seeing.
    Last edited by cl-Albert@ROG; 05-04-2021 at 06:46 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •