Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    198

    [M13Apex] how to install Intel(R) GNA Scoring Accelerator module ?

    Every time i tried to install,
    this message appears:


    "devcon_x64.exe failed"

    How can i install this driver?
    For what is this driver needed?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    170
    Posts
    2,215

    Hello,

    Devcon is the driver handoff console, and that message can sometimes be related to the driver being incompatible with the OS version.

    Try from here: https://www.intel.com/content/www/us...s&layout=table

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array sdmf74 PC Specs
    sdmf74 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)N/A
    MotherboardMAXIMUS IX FORMULA
    ProcessorI7 7700K
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C16Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1GTX 980TI K|NGP|N
    Graphics Card #2N/A
    Graphics Card #3N/A
    Graphics Card #4N/A
    Sound CardON BOARD
    MonitorASUS PG279Q, BENQ XL2420TE, HISENSE 55H9F
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 960 PRO M.2 512GB
    Storage #2SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS 1TB, SAMSUNG 850 PRO 512GB, SAMSUNG 850 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK VELOCITY RGB
    CaseCASELABS MERLIN SM8 (2 TONE)
    Power SupplyEVGA 1300G2 SUPERNOVA
    Keyboard WOOTING ONE, DUCKY ONE TKL RGB
    Mouse LOGITECH G PRO HERO
    Headset SENNHESIER G4ME ZERO
    Mouse Pad REFLEX LAB XXXL
    Headset/Speakers KLIPSCH PRO MEDIA 2.1
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC86U, ASUS RT-AC68U
    sdmf74's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    323

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone@ROG View Post
    Hello,

    Devcon is the driver handoff console, and that message can sometimes be related to the driver being incompatible with the OS version.

    Try from here: https://www.intel.com/content/www/us...s&layout=table
    Same thing happened to me. Maybe it needs to be enabled in bios first? not sure. I think I saw it is disabled by default

    It says it is for intel NUC, can you please explain to us why we need this driver on a desktop platform? Benefits?
    ASUS Maximus 13 Hero, Intel I9 11900k, EVGA GeForce GTX 980Ti K|ngP|n, G Skill Trident Z RGB 3600 32GB
    EVGA supernova 1300G2, EK Velocity D-RGB, Samsung 980 Pro 1tb(OS), 970 evo plus 1tb, 960 pro 512gb, 850 EVO 1tb, 850 Pro 512gb, 860 Evo 1tb, Asus PG279Q 165HZ, BenQ 144hz, Hisense 55h9f, Windows 10 pro

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array kvarq PC Specs
    kvarq PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Apex XIII
    Processor10900K
    Memory (part number)F4-4000C16D-32GTZRA
    Graphics Card #13090 K|NGP|N
    Sound CardSound Blaster Z
    MonitorPG279Q
    Storage #1980 Pro 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Ultimate 3.0
    CaseMeshify S2
    Power SupplySeasonic Titanium TX850
    Keyboard Razer Huntsman
    Mouse Razer Viper 8K
    Mouse Pad RAZER Firefly V2
    OS 21H1

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    60

    Quote Originally Posted by sdmf74 View Post
    It says it is for intel NUC, can you please explain to us why we need this driver on a desktop platform? Benefits?
    no answer yet?

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    111

    You only need to install the driver if you will be using GNA. GNA is mainly used for speech recognition from what I know. GNA is disabled by default in the bios. So it would need to be enabled in the bios or you would get the error message from what I can tell. I have never used it.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array sdmf74 PC Specs
    sdmf74 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)N/A
    MotherboardMAXIMUS IX FORMULA
    ProcessorI7 7700K
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C16Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1GTX 980TI K|NGP|N
    Graphics Card #2N/A
    Graphics Card #3N/A
    Graphics Card #4N/A
    Sound CardON BOARD
    MonitorASUS PG279Q, BENQ XL2420TE, HISENSE 55H9F
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 960 PRO M.2 512GB
    Storage #2SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS 1TB, SAMSUNG 850 PRO 512GB, SAMSUNG 850 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK VELOCITY RGB
    CaseCASELABS MERLIN SM8 (2 TONE)
    Power SupplyEVGA 1300G2 SUPERNOVA
    Keyboard WOOTING ONE, DUCKY ONE TKL RGB
    Mouse LOGITECH G PRO HERO
    Headset SENNHESIER G4ME ZERO
    Mouse Pad REFLEX LAB XXXL
    Headset/Speakers KLIPSCH PRO MEDIA 2.1
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC86U, ASUS RT-AC68U
    sdmf74's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    323

    Quote Originally Posted by bscool View Post
    You only need to install the driver if you will be using GNA. GNA is mainly used for speech recognition from what I know. GNA is disabled by default in the bios. So it would need to be enabled in the bios or you would get the error message from what I can tell. I have never used it.
    And still nobody has been able to tell us definatively what it is/does? I would assume Asus reps would know
    ASUS Maximus 13 Hero, Intel I9 11900k, EVGA GeForce GTX 980Ti K|ngP|n, G Skill Trident Z RGB 3600 32GB
    EVGA supernova 1300G2, EK Velocity D-RGB, Samsung 980 Pro 1tb(OS), 970 evo plus 1tb, 960 pro 512gb, 850 EVO 1tb, 850 Pro 512gb, 860 Evo 1tb, Asus PG279Q 165HZ, BenQ 144hz, Hisense 55h9f, Windows 10 pro

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array kvarq PC Specs
    kvarq PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Apex XIII
    Processor10900K
    Memory (part number)F4-4000C16D-32GTZRA
    Graphics Card #13090 K|NGP|N
    Sound CardSound Blaster Z
    MonitorPG279Q
    Storage #1980 Pro 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Ultimate 3.0
    CaseMeshify S2
    Power SupplySeasonic Titanium TX850
    Keyboard Razer Huntsman
    Mouse Razer Viper 8K
    Mouse Pad RAZER Firefly V2
    OS 21H1

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    60

    no, not really, answer received is the same answer as google finds it and nothing clear so far

    not sure why they put it, also there are IO drivers, those might be debatable as well though if you're not using that NUC stuff (?), but Z590 other brands (not all) are listing them on their support pages

    it's a real mess on the support page - for Apex XIII they list as compatible RAM also the 4 sticks kits )

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    111

    I enable it in bios and it installs and works. I am not sure what you want the info about what it is can be found online.

    Virtualization, rebar and things are disabled by default in the bios. But if you need them or use them you would know.

    https://sigport.org/sites/default/fi...osterFinal.pdf

    https://docs.openvinotoolkit.org/lat...ugins_GNA.html
    Last edited by bscool; 05-29-2021 at 01:38 PM.

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array kvarq PC Specs
    kvarq PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Apex XIII
    Processor10900K
    Memory (part number)F4-4000C16D-32GTZRA
    Graphics Card #13090 K|NGP|N
    Sound CardSound Blaster Z
    MonitorPG279Q
    Storage #1980 Pro 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Ultimate 3.0
    CaseMeshify S2
    Power SupplySeasonic Titanium TX850
    Keyboard Razer Huntsman
    Mouse Razer Viper 8K
    Mouse Pad RAZER Firefly V2
    OS 21H1

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    60

    did not find any GNA setting in bios, but having 10900K it's probably not there, as the gear options for ram, probably some stuff is there just by using 11th gen

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array Grimpak PC Specs
    Grimpak PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus XIII Apex
    Processori9 11900f
    Graphics Card #1Watercooled MSI Vega 64 Airboost OC
    Sound CardSteelseries GameDac
    CPU CoolerModified EK-MLC Phoenix system
    CasePhanteks enthoo pro 2
    Keyboard Steelseries Apex Pro
    Mouse Steelseries Rival 710

    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    can't remember the specific place, but it's there with 11th. I guess it's a feature that is non existant on 10th?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •