Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Unhappy Problem with addressable LED header

    Hello

    I got a strange problem with the addressable LED header. I double-check it and this is correctly connected (data, V+, N).

    The problem is really simple RED and Green composition are switched.

    And I don't find any way how to calibrate it like for RGB (4 pin) header where I can switch colors in software.

    Everything is working properly only this one addressable led strip lights on my machine with*different*colors like the rest of the devices. I think there should be some easy software solution.

    Maybe some additional line in*%ProgramFiles(x86)%\LightingService\LastProfile .xml

    Forward thanks for any help!

    Best regards
    Michael*

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array DjRavix PC Specs
    DjRavix PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XIII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9 11900K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominater Platinum RGB (c
    Sound CardFocusrite Scarlett 18i8 MK2
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster S22B350 (X2)
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro
    CPU CoolerEK Velocity
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Primo
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Logitech MX Master 3
    Mouse Pad Steelseries
    Headset/Speakers KRK RP8
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterFritzbox
    Accessory #1 Native instruments Kontol S61 MK2

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    31
    Posts
    75

    Quote Originally Posted by Michael Hýža View Post
    Hello

    I got a strange problem with the addressable LED header. I double-check it and this is correctly connected (data, V+, N).

    The problem is really simple RED and Green composition are switched.

    And I don't find any way how to calibrate it like for RGB (4 pin) header where I can switch colors in software.

    Everything is working properly only this one addressable led strip lights on my machine with*different*colors like the rest of the devices. I think there should be some easy software solution.

    Maybe some additional line in*%ProgramFiles(x86)%\LightingService\LastProfile .xml

    Forward thanks for any help!

    Best regards
    Michael*
    Here are some things that might help diagnose the problem

    If you have any other ARGB Headers try using one of those to see if the problem is actually the addressable led strip that seems to have a problem

    Also Try connecting an Other ARGB Device to the header to see if this device also shows the "Wrong" Colors

    I would also recommend to provide some information about the addressable led strip you are using like the brand and model

    Normally these kind of strips do not need to be calibrated as they are controlled with a digital signal
    this can be an issue with the Header but its also possible that there is a defect in the strip itself
    That's why I recommend testing it on an other header and using other devices on the header that has the issue
    ASUS Maximus 13 Extreme
    Intel i9 11900K
    Corsair Dominater Platinum RGB
    Phanteks Enthoo Primo
    Samsung 980 Pro 1TB
    2 X Samsung 980 Pro 2TB
    Corsair AX1200I
    EK-Velocity D-RGB - Nickel + Plexi
    EK-XTOP Revo Dual D5 PWM Serial - (incl. 2x pump)
    XSPC RX480 + XSPC RS280
    4 X Corsair SP120 PWM OEM Fans
    2 X Noctua NF-A14 industrialPPC-2000 IP67 PWM
    2 X Noctua NF-A14 PWM chromax.black.swap
    2 X Noctua NF-S12A PWM chromax.black.swap
    1 X Noctua NF-A15 HS-PWM chromax.black.swap

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    I'm using just an ordinary addressable led strip from Aliexpress. I have more of it at home because I use it for some lightning with Arduino chips. They are cheap and usually work quite well. Its probably this one:

    https://www.aliexpress.com/item/2036...archweb201603_

    It can be problem in strip but as clear it can be solve via easy software fix.

    Nevertheless, I already order for this new daughter's PC better LED strip. It should come in next 2-3 weeks.

    https://www.aliexpress.com/item/1005...4a014c4dCHO7Vf

    On Saturday I will month some new components to this PC so I will try also other addressable LED strips that I have around to see if the problem is with the header or with the strip. Mobo is ASUS TUF GAMING B550M-PLUS (WI-FI).

    But generally, this should not be a big problem to solve in software the same way as is current calibration for 4pin RGBV LED strips...

    So I would like to ask the developers of Aura if there is any chance to make this calibration in LastProfile.xml or on any other place.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array DjRavix PC Specs
    DjRavix PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XIII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9 11900K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominater Platinum RGB (c
    Sound CardFocusrite Scarlett 18i8 MK2
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster S22B350 (X2)
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro
    CPU CoolerEK Velocity
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Primo
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Logitech MX Master 3
    Mouse Pad Steelseries
    Headset/Speakers KRK RP8
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterFritzbox
    Accessory #1 Native instruments Kontol S61 MK2

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    31
    Posts
    75

    Quote Originally Posted by Michael Hýža View Post
    I'm using just an ordinary addressable led strip from Aliexpress. I have more of it at home because I use it for some lightning with Arduino chips. They are cheap and usually work quite well. Its probably this one:

    https://www.aliexpress.com/item/2036...archweb201603_

    It can be problem in strip but as clear it can be solve via easy software fix.

    Nevertheless, I already order for this new daughter's PC better LED strip. It should come in next 2-3 weeks.

    https://www.aliexpress.com/item/1005...4a014c4dCHO7Vf

    On Saturday I will month some new components to this PC so I will try also other addressable LED strips that I have around to see if the problem is with the header or with the strip. Mobo is ASUS TUF GAMING B550M-PLUS (WI-FI).

    But generally, this should not be a big problem to solve in software the same way as is current calibration for 4pin RGBV LED strips...

    So I would like to ask the developers of Aura if there is any chance to make this calibration in LastProfile.xml or on any other place.
    There is no calibration option for ARGB strips only for RGB as those have individual wires per Color

    Please note that the links you provide are both not listed as "Aura Compatible"
    However the Second strip actually seems to be using WS2812B and that should probably work
    (On the first one it is not clear as it lists different Strips)
    There might always be a compatibility issue of some kind with different strips
    Especially when they are not listed as "Aura Compatible"

    I see that the board only has one ARGB Header so there is unfortunately no way to say for sure if there is an issue with the board or if its the led strip itself
    ASUS Maximus 13 Extreme
    Intel i9 11900K
    Corsair Dominater Platinum RGB
    Phanteks Enthoo Primo
    Samsung 980 Pro 1TB
    2 X Samsung 980 Pro 2TB
    Corsair AX1200I
    EK-Velocity D-RGB - Nickel + Plexi
    EK-XTOP Revo Dual D5 PWM Serial - (incl. 2x pump)
    XSPC RX480 + XSPC RS280
    4 X Corsair SP120 PWM OEM Fans
    2 X Noctua NF-A14 industrialPPC-2000 IP67 PWM
    2 X Noctua NF-A14 PWM chromax.black.swap
    2 X Noctua NF-S12A PWM chromax.black.swap
    1 X Noctua NF-A15 HS-PWM chromax.black.swap

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Today I made the test with different WS2812B LED strips and the result are the same. So I'm not sure if the problem is not in the motherboard. I will wait for the ordered LED strip and I will see if this one will get the same problem. Not so happy about this make claim will take some time and also all work around to remove all components and send the board to the seller . The worst is I know for this problem can be made software solution . But probably nobody from asus support is reading this forum.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array DjRavix PC Specs
    DjRavix PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XIII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9 11900K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominater Platinum RGB (c
    Sound CardFocusrite Scarlett 18i8 MK2
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster S22B350 (X2)
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro
    CPU CoolerEK Velocity
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Primo
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Logitech MX Master 3
    Mouse Pad Steelseries
    Headset/Speakers KRK RP8
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterFritzbox
    Accessory #1 Native instruments Kontol S61 MK2

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    31
    Posts
    75

    Quote Originally Posted by Michael Hƒ½…¾a View Post
    Today I made the test with different WS2812B LED strips and the result are the same. So I'm not sure if the problem is not in the motherboard. I will wait for the ordered LED strip and I will see if this one will get the same problem. Not so happy about this make claim will take some time and also all work around to remove all components and send the board to the seller . The worst is I know for this problem can be made software solution . But probably nobody from asus support is reading this forum.
    You can actually make it work properly with Aura Creator if you like (Since your board only has one ARGB Header)
    The only thing you will need to do is set the Swap the Color amount numbers between Green and Red on the settings for the ARGB strip
    but Aura Creator also has a lot of issues with 3rd Party devices (Not to forget no support to control each header)
    and I am also not sure if the normal RGB headers will be affected by the settings
    but its at least a short therm solution to the problem

    Also Contacting Asus support about this issue directly might also help ... since they might be able to provide a fix without A RMA
    (Might also be a Firmware issue)
    ASUS Maximus 13 Extreme
    Intel i9 11900K
    Corsair Dominater Platinum RGB
    Phanteks Enthoo Primo
    Samsung 980 Pro 1TB
    2 X Samsung 980 Pro 2TB
    Corsair AX1200I
    EK-Velocity D-RGB - Nickel + Plexi
    EK-XTOP Revo Dual D5 PWM Serial - (incl. 2x pump)
    XSPC RX480 + XSPC RS280
    4 X Corsair SP120 PWM OEM Fans
    2 X Noctua NF-A14 industrialPPC-2000 IP67 PWM
    2 X Noctua NF-A14 PWM chromax.black.swap
    2 X Noctua NF-S12A PWM chromax.black.swap
    1 X Noctua NF-A15 HS-PWM chromax.black.swap

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by Michael Hýža View Post
    Hello

    I got a strange problem with the addressable LED header. I double-check it and this is correctly connected (data, V+, N).

    The problem is really simple RED and Green composition are switched.

    And I don't find any way how to calibrate it like for RGB (4 pin) header where I can switch colors in software.

    Everything is working properly only this one addressable led strip lights on my machine with*different*colors like the rest of the devices. I think there should be some easy software solution.

    Maybe some additional line in*%ProgramFiles(x86)%\LightingService\LastProfile .xml

    Forward thanks for any help!

    Best regards
    Michael*
    hey u cant do it in this screen in Armory crate anymore? i don't have any 12v strips anymore just argb ones ATM so I cant test it but I thought u could on this screen or used to be able to?
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos Untitled.jpg  


Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •