Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Wake on LAN Bios Setting

    I have a ROG STRIX Z490-I GAMING and I want to use Wake on LAN.
    There does not seem to be a relevant setting anywhere in the bios.
    Please can someone point me in the right direction?

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Saltgrass PC Specs
    Saltgrass PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XIII Hero
    Processori9 11900K
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 3090 FTW
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorDell AW3420DW
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 2 TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 1 TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212X
    CaseCooler Master
    Power SupplyAntec HCP Platinum 1000
    Keyboard ASUS Strix Flare
    Mouse ASUS Chakram
    Headset/Speakers Logitech wired 5.1
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AX11000/AXE11000
    Accessory #1 VR Headset
    Accessory #2 Saitek X52

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    382

    It is normally in the Device Manager Properties for the device and a Power Management tab..

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    I have enabled that already. I believe it needs to be specifically turned on in the BIOS but cant find the relevant setting. Any pointers to whether this MoBo supports it and/or where to find BIOS settings would most appreciated.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    111

    I think it is under Advanced tab, Network Stack.

    Also at the top of the bios there is a search tab in most bios now days.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Thanks, I will have another look in the BIOS when I am at the PC next week. Software side setting shared below:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot 2021-05-14 171332.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	76.7 KB 
ID:	88675
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot 2021-05-14 171357.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	32.0 KB 
ID:	88676
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot 2021-05-14 171414.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	50.2 KB 
ID:	88677

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Sadly I cant find it under network stack or anywhere else. Is wake on lan always supported or is there a chance this MoBo does not have that feature?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PXL_20210517_172139118.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	114.0 KB 
ID:	88693

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    111

    Maybe try this https://youtu.be/MCizY0Iw8xY I have never used Wake On Lan so I am not sure.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Saltgrass PC Specs
    Saltgrass PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XIII Hero
    Processori9 11900K
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 3090 FTW
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorDell AW3420DW
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 2 TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 1 TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212X
    CaseCooler Master
    Power SupplyAntec HCP Platinum 1000
    Keyboard ASUS Strix Flare
    Mouse ASUS Chakram
    Headset/Speakers Logitech wired 5.1
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AX11000/AXE11000
    Accessory #1 VR Headset
    Accessory #2 Saitek X52

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    382

    Quote Originally Posted by edcoppen View Post
    Sadly I cant find it under network stack or anywhere else. Is wake on lan always supported or is there a chance this MoBo does not have that feature?
    Can I ask why you show to only allow a Magic Packet to wake the system? If you wanted to test if it wakes, uncheck that to see if it does.. If it does wake up, the command below should tell you what woke it..

    powercfg /lastwake
    Last edited by Saltgrass; 05-18-2021 at 12:06 AM.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by bscool View Post
    Maybe try this https://youtu.be/MCizY0Iw8xY I have never used Wake On Lan so I am not sure.
    Unfortunately I seem to have a different bios without that layout/option.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PXL_20210518_170718831.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	159.3 KB 
ID:	88698

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by Saltgrass View Post
    Can I ask why you show to only allow a Magic Packet to wake the system? If you wanted to test if it wakes, uncheck that to see if it does.. If it does wake up, the command below should tell you what woke it..

    powercfg /lastwake
    So I have two computers on the same network. One is always turned on, while the second is usually off. I want to use the first PC to turn the 2nd one occasionally. I know logmein supposedly supports this and they say to enable that setting here.

    I guess I dont have to use logmein. Is there another program I could use to test this?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •