Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    How do I recognize which voltage is right for my RAM

    Hi all,

    Long story short: Is the lowest stable voltage of RAM better, or it could affect performance?

    Hi all,
    I would like to ask for a help with RAMs running in DOCP profile. When I switched into DOCP I observed instability and screen flickering. In events monitor in Windows 10 there were couple of entries, that display driver stopped responding and it was recovered. I suspected the GPU, but when I switched off the DOCP, it all ran smooth. So I thought that voltage of DRAM could be the problem. I started raising voltage of RAM slightly, but screen flickering appeared more often. After I find out, that even overvoltage can cause instability as well, I decided to lower the voltage. And voila, PC started to run smoothly. Factory voltage of my RAM is 1.2V while in DOCP they supposed to run in 1,35V But I found out, that it is stable in 1,325V. But then I was curious how low I could go with voltage. I set back 1.2V and PC don't even went into POST. Some little tuning and I found out that on 1,250 PC run smooth also. So my question is. Should I leave DRAM voltage as low as possible, or lower voltage could affect performace. Which number between 1,250 and 1,325V should I choose?

    Thank you all

    My PC spec
    Ryzen 5 - 5600X
    Asus B550-F
    16GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3600Mhz

  2. #2
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    318
    Posts
    7,887

    As low as possible while remaining stable with something like HCI memtest. Higher voltage beyond what is necessary to maintain stability doesn't do anything except generate more heat. The only reason you see higher voltages set as defaults is because silicon quality varies and manufacturers want to ensure general compatibility with a wide range of configurations and luck of the draw.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Hi xeromist
    Thank you for your answer. I ran HCI Memtest as you advised, started several copies, as devs recommend so that I used almost all my RAM capacity. Every running copy went over 150% with no error at all. So I would say, my voltage is stable enough. I read that it should go overnight with no errors, but since I do not plan to go beyond DOCP profile, I might consider my OC as sucesfull. Thank you again for your help.

  4. #4
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    318
    Posts
    7,887

    Yes, I've found that if it's stable past 100% then it should be fine. Anything is possible so there may be some situations where instabilities show up later but that would be highly unusual in my experience.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  5. #5
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    170
    Posts
    2,191

    Quote Originally Posted by F_Luke_F View Post
    Hi xeromist
    Thank you for your answer. I ran HCI Memtest as you advised, started several copies, as devs recommend so that I used almost all my RAM capacity. Every running copy went over 150% with no error at all. So I would say, my voltage is stable enough. I read that it should go overnight with no errors, but since I do not plan to go beyond DOCP profile, I might consider my OC as sucesfull. Thank you again for your help.
    In order to stress the memory bus adequately with HCI one instance should be launched per CPU thread with an ideal coverage time of 400-500%. HCI consider 1000%+ to be the golden standard. Coverage time in HCI with more than 16GB RAM is glacially slow, so consider other tests such as Google Stress App and Karhu RAM Test in future.

    Beyond that, ultimately you should use the system for it's intended purpose and tune accordingly if the memory becomes unstable.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Thank you silent scone too

    sorry for a late answer, but I didn't thought, that anybody else add anything in this thread. And because letting your advice without an answer wouldn't be polite I would like letting you know, that I'll save your answer for future if anything will happen with my RAMs. It's been a couple of days I went into OC retirement (haha ) yet everything running smooth as a calm river (fingercrossed) So I hope, that anything bad don't wait for me. But if yes, I'll try your advices as well.
    Thank you both guys

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •