Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Stuck at code 99 and no NVME m.2 drives detected in BIOS

    Hi,

    I just built my new PC and bellow is my configuration.**

    Motherboard: ROG Maximus XIII Extreme
    Processor: Intel core i9 11900K
    Memory: G Skill 64GB (4 x 16GB) Trident Z Royal, DDR4 3600MHz, CL14 2 x *
    NVME m.2 : Samsung 1TB 980 PRO
    SSD: Samsung 860 PRO 2.5 “ - 2TB
    Case: Corsair Obsidian Series 1000D
    AIO : Corsair iCUE H150i ELITE CAPELLIX*

    After installing everything to my motherboard, when I started my PC, my motherboard got stuck at code 99 with display showing “ HDD Detect HDD”. When I checked the BIOS, I didn’t see any m.2 devices listed. Although it detected the SSD. The last PC that I built was 15 years ago. So a lot of things have changed and I might be missing something. My understanding is, if the NVMEs are installed correctly, it should show in the BIOS. I tried to install the Windows through bootable USB drive but Windows didn’t detect any drive to install including the Samsung 860 pro.*

    Here is what I did to solve this

    1. Removed the m.2.
    2. Updated the BIOS
    3. Clear the CMOS.
    4. Removed all the peripherals and connections from motherboard and left only the SSD.*
    5. Check all the PSU connections.

    I have two SATA power cable connected with PSU to connect RGB controllers and hub. SSD is also connected with the same cable. I have also tried to leave only the SSD connected with the SATA power cable.*

    At the moment I am run out of options. Any help will be greatly appreciated. Is there any thing I need to do to make the NVME drives available in the BIOS?*
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos 7BE64852-7D09-4CA5-B85B-42AE244196BC.jpg  

    8D88A58E-FEE8-4598-9E31-7404010E9259.jpg  


  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Steelseries Prime+
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    Mouse Pad Steelseries QCK Prism XL
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,437

    Hello tahahassan

    Code 99

    Can sometimes be a display issue with different types of cables or a gpu issue, seeing how you have display, we can rule that out.

    Can be a peripheral issue such as a mouse or keyboard incompatibility, you may want to check Legacy is enabled in the bios. Make sure you have a mouse and keyboard connected.

    As for the M.2 drive not being detected, this could be a configuration issue.

    Head into the bios and hit F5 to reset to defaults, then check in the Advanced tab, Onboard Devices configuration and see that M.2 is configured properly. All drives should show on the Boot tab in Boot option 1. Also, on the Boot tab make sure CSM is enabled.

    Once configured, hit F10 and Enter to Save and Exit.

    Are there any changes?

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Thank you for your reply. Legacy mode for USB device is enabled. I reset the BIOS setting but that did not solve the issue. In the onboard devices configuration, there are no NVME drives listed. Even in NVME specific configuration, it says no NVME devices.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos 139E3E5C-BBC3-4C41-91FE-ABB707544379.jpg  


  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    I forgot to mention that my PSU is Asus ROG Strix 1000W. So, it should be enough for the system.*

  5. #5
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Steelseries Prime+
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    Mouse Pad Steelseries QCK Prism XL
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,437

    All right,


    Power down and disconnect the sata ssd, then boot up and see if the M.2 drive is recognized, you'll want the sata drive disconnected when installing windows.

    If the M.2 drive still isn't recognized in the bios, power down and try the M.2 drive in one of the other M.2 slots.

    Yes, that's a nice psu with plenty of power, ROG for the win !

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array DjRavix PC Specs
    DjRavix PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XIII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9 11900K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominater Platinum RGB (c
    Sound CardFocusrite Scarlett 18i8 MK2
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster S22B350 (X2)
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro
    CPU CoolerEK Velocity
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Primo
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Logitech MX Master 3
    Mouse Pad Steelseries
    Headset/Speakers KRK RP8
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterFritzbox
    Accessory #1 Native instruments Kontol S61 MK2

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    31
    Posts
    75

    Silly Question but .. What slot is your NVMe drive installed in ???
    If it is installed in M.2_1 or M.2_2 you might want to change some settings in your bios

    1st one is important for using M.2_1 & M.2_2 (in Onboard Devices)

    also useful you can see the lane distribution I have (Nice way to see if devices are detected)
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos IMG_8945.jpg  

    IMG_8944.jpg  

    Last edited by DjRavix; 05-25-2021 at 11:29 PM. Reason: Pictures were upside down
    ASUS Maximus 13 Extreme
    Intel i9 11900K
    Corsair Dominater Platinum RGB
    Phanteks Enthoo Primo
    Samsung 980 Pro 1TB
    2 X Samsung 980 Pro 2TB
    Corsair AX1200I
    EK-Velocity D-RGB - Nickel + Plexi
    EK-XTOP Revo Dual D5 PWM Serial - (incl. 2x pump)
    XSPC RX480 + XSPC RS280
    4 X Corsair SP120 PWM OEM Fans
    2 X Noctua NF-A14 industrialPPC-2000 IP67 PWM
    2 X Noctua NF-A14 PWM chromax.black.swap
    2 X Noctua NF-S12A PWM chromax.black.swap
    1 X Noctua NF-A15 HS-PWM chromax.black.swap

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    That was it . When I changed the settings to what you mentioned, it detected the NVME. I am installing the Windows now. Thank you guys. I really appreciate your help.

    Quote Originally Posted by DjRavix View Post
    Silly Question but .. What slot is your NVMe drive installed in ???
    If it is installed in M.2_1 or M.2_2 you might want to change some settings in your bios

    1st one is important for using M.2_1 & M.2_2 (in Onboard Devices)

    also useful you can see the lane distribution I have (Nice way to see if devices are detected)
    Last edited by tahahassan; 05-26-2021 at 10:09 AM.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array asustts PC Specs
    asustts PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Extreme Omega
    ProcessorIntel 7960X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 4x8GB F4-3200C14Q-32GTZSW
    Graphics Card #1ASUS RTX 2080
    MonitorDell Ultrawide 1440 - 34"
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro
    Storage #22x 970 EVO
    CPU CoolerHeatkiller custom water loop
    CaseCaseLabs BH8
    Power SupplyCorsair 850HX
    OS Win 10x64

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Thank You very much!

    Thank you Sir! I had the identical issue with my new Apex XIII, M2.2 not registering in BIOS 506. But no Q code - the drive failed to show up in BIOS at all.
    The SA submenu did NOT provide your suggested option to configure the PCI lanes. When I installed the latest BIOS these options became available. My mistake in not uploading the latest and greatest from Asus. I had already ordered a replacement motherboard from Amazon at the recommendations of their 'tech support' but was able to cancel. Again, a Thank You for posting this fix!

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    91
    Posts
    459

    This is something not uncommon with ASUS MOBOs. Good and bad at the same time. If you have been using the products for awhile its like a second nature. Thing is they tend to have more BIOS options that you have to go though and make sure they are correctly set and just more options in general. In this case it give you the option of where you want your PCIE lanes to go.
    Sucks that you can only get X8 out of your GPU slot. Depends on what GPU you are running as to whether or not it makes a difference. The 2080Ti was the first one to actually saturate X8 and not by much. Like 6% gain by having it at X16 Vs X8. Before that it didn't matter.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    I just noticed that my graphic card is running at x8. Upon reading the motherboard's manual again, it seems that if two m.2 drives are installed, the graphic card runs at x8. And judging by the BIOS setting, there is no way to run only one m.2 drive without degrading the graphic card's performance. My question is

    1. Since the Intel core i9 11900K has direct 20 PCIE lanes, if I install at least one m.2 drive, will the motherboard run the graphic card at x16? The manual is not clear about it.


    2. One of the reasons I bought the expensive motherboard is the ability to run multiple m.2 drives without losing the graphic card performance. The motherboard's specification claims that it supports 5 m.2 drives but I don't see it can even run one without any compromises. Is there any other way to use at least one m.2 drive, where I installed the operating system, without going down to x8?

    I can probably use the provided DIMM card to use the other NVME but I would like to know that I am not mistaken

    Edit: Sorry about the upside down images. I tried to upload it both way and images is still attached upside down. Here is the motherboard's manual if someone is interested.

    https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/m...EME_UM_WEB.pdf
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos test.jpg  


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •