Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 47
  1. #31
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Quote Originally Posted by Baio73 View Post
    You mean 5-10C less with the same BIOS settings?
    Did you used .CMO files from older BIOS or set all again?

    I've used .CMO from last beta BIOS and my temps have grown 4-5C instead of lowering.

    Baio
    5-10C less with same BIOS settings set all again.

  2. #32
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    On this BIOS for CH VIII HERO, I am experiencing higher CPU temps (7-10 degrees hotter) and lost around 5% performance on Cinebench R20.
    I wish I could downgrade it.

  3. #33
    ROG Member Array D_BRASCO PC Specs
    D_BRASCO PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG CH8DH
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 5950x
    Memory (part number)64GB G.Skill F4-3600C16D-32GTZNC
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Geforce 3090 FE
    Storage #1Seagate FireCuda 520 2TB PCIe Gen4
    Storage #2Seagate FireCuda 520 2TB PCIe Gen4
    CPU CoolerEK Custom loop
    CaseLian Li Dynamic 011 XL ROG
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200I
    Keyboard Corsair K95
    Mouse Elecom HUGE
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z5500
    OS Windows 11 PRO
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC1900P
    Accessory #1 Toshiba HDWG180 (5090A05KFBEG)
    Accessory #2 Hitachi HDS724040ALE640 (PKV331P1GN0EDY)

    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Quote Originally Posted by ApolloEleven View Post
    On this BIOS for CH VIII HERO, I am experiencing higher CPU temps (7-10 degrees hotter) and lost around 5% performance on Cinebench R20.
    I wish I could downgrade it.
    You can flashback to any previous bios using a flash drive and the bios flashback button on the back of the machine. I've downgraded and moved back to the next release multiple times.YRMV

  4. #34
    ROG Enthusiast Array karmal PC Specs
    karmal PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VIII Hero (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3950X
    Memory (part number)Hyper X HX436C18FB3K4/128 4x 32GB
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti
    MonitorASUS ProArt PA329Q
    Storage #1SCSI\DiskNVMe______Seagate_FireCuda_520_SSD_ZP2000GM30002STNSC014
    Storage #2SCSI\DiskSamsung__SSD_860_QVO_2TBRVQ0
    CPU CoolerNOCTUA NH-D15 + 3 additional 140mm RGB fans
    CaseCOOLER MASTER MasterCase H500P Mesh
    Power SupplyCORSAIR HX1000i 1000 Watt. FMA (24P) con ventola 12*12 silent Cert. 80 Plus Platinum
    Keyboard Logitecch k520
    Mouse Logitech m310
    OS Windows 10 - Professional 64 Bit Edition
    Network RouterFritzibox 7590
    Accessory #1 Nas Qnap ts 1635ax +
    Accessory #2 12 w-red 12 gb hard drives + 1 ssd 1 gb for operating system
    Accessory #3 creative 5.1

    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    30

    I have tried all the bios released so far and the only bios that allows me to use docp with 4 ram banks from 32 gb to 3600 mhz without any problem is the 2206 very stable never a shutdown never a problem

  5. #35
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Quote Originally Posted by karmal View Post
    I have tried all the bios released so far and the only bios that allows me to use docp with 4 ram banks from 32 gb to 3600 mhz without any problem is the 2206 very stable never a shutdown never a problem
    This sounds more like an issue with your parts than the BIOS. I've been able to run 4 DIMMs of 3600 (@3600 and 3800) since 3501 and has been rock solid on 3601 with 1900 FCLK. I can post my working 3800 timings.

  6. #36
    ROG Enthusiast Array karmal PC Specs
    karmal PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VIII Hero (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3950X
    Memory (part number)Hyper X HX436C18FB3K4/128 4x 32GB
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti
    MonitorASUS ProArt PA329Q
    Storage #1SCSI\DiskNVMe______Seagate_FireCuda_520_SSD_ZP2000GM30002STNSC014
    Storage #2SCSI\DiskSamsung__SSD_860_QVO_2TBRVQ0
    CPU CoolerNOCTUA NH-D15 + 3 additional 140mm RGB fans
    CaseCOOLER MASTER MasterCase H500P Mesh
    Power SupplyCORSAIR HX1000i 1000 Watt. FMA (24P) con ventola 12*12 silent Cert. 80 Plus Platinum
    Keyboard Logitecch k520
    Mouse Logitech m310
    OS Windows 10 - Professional 64 Bit Edition
    Network RouterFritzibox 7590
    Accessory #1 Nas Qnap ts 1635ax +
    Accessory #2 12 w-red 12 gb hard drives + 1 ssd 1 gb for operating system
    Accessory #3 creative 5.1

    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    30

    my pc with 128gb ram to 3600 on crossfire hero viii wifi and cpu ryzen 3950x does not turn on with these bios

  7. #37
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Quote Originally Posted by karmal View Post
    my pc with 128gb ram to 3600 on crossfire hero viii wifi and cpu ryzen 3950x does not turn on with these bios
    It could be that your current settings are not being reset to default and the machine is trying to boot with old memory timings. Have you tried to pull the battery before the flash and leaving it out until after the new BIOS has been flashed and boots?

  8. #38
    ROG Enthusiast Array karmal PC Specs
    karmal PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VIII Hero (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3950X
    Memory (part number)Hyper X HX436C18FB3K4/128 4x 32GB
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti
    MonitorASUS ProArt PA329Q
    Storage #1SCSI\DiskNVMe______Seagate_FireCuda_520_SSD_ZP2000GM30002STNSC014
    Storage #2SCSI\DiskSamsung__SSD_860_QVO_2TBRVQ0
    CPU CoolerNOCTUA NH-D15 + 3 additional 140mm RGB fans
    CaseCOOLER MASTER MasterCase H500P Mesh
    Power SupplyCORSAIR HX1000i 1000 Watt. FMA (24P) con ventola 12*12 silent Cert. 80 Plus Platinum
    Keyboard Logitecch k520
    Mouse Logitech m310
    OS Windows 10 - Professional 64 Bit Edition
    Network RouterFritzibox 7590
    Accessory #1 Nas Qnap ts 1635ax +
    Accessory #2 12 w-red 12 gb hard drives + 1 ssd 1 gb for operating system
    Accessory #3 creative 5.1

    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    30

    after a while he left now with 3106 it seems there are no problems ... for now

  9. #39
    ROG Enthusiast Array polyh3dron PC Specs
    polyh3dron PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero X570
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 5950X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z Neo F4-3600C14Q-64GTZN
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia Geforce RTX 3090 Founder's Edition
    Sound CardAvid Pro Tools MTRX Studio w/ Pro Tools HD Native Card
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG27UQ
    Storage #1Sabrent Rocket 4.0 2TB x2 in RAID 0 Config
    Storage #2WD Black 6TB HDD
    CPU CoolerEK Water Blocks Custom Loop
    CaseLian Li O11D XL
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime PX-1000
    Keyboard Das Keyboard 4 Professional
    Mouse Steelseries Sensei
    Headset Sennheiser GSP 600
    Mouse Pad Steelseries
    Headset/Speakers JBL LSR708p
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterEero Pro

    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    43

    On my Dark Hero I can't run my 3090 GPU and dual 2TB M.2 SSDs in PCIe Gen 4 mode without causing massive USB instability and DPC latency spikes. I thought something else was causing these issues and reformatted my system drive to try fixing. Turned out I just had to force my 3090 to Gen 3 mode in BIOS, even though the recent round of AGESA updates were supposed to address this exact problem.

    It seems like PCIe Gen 4 just wasn't ready for prime time with X570, honestly.

    I can also see why people go with Intel instead of AMD for their motherboard/CPU still as well. I've had so many crippling issues with my Ryzen 3000 and 5000 machines that have been so hard to troubleshoot with people blaming every single other thing in my setup that was not truly at fault. Just know that I am not blaming Asus for my issues at all because they really are not at fault here IMO.

    Did AMD really just support PCIe Gen 4 in X570 without actually expecting people to try taking full advantage of it with GPUs and M.2 SSDs? Kind of strikes me as a situation similar to that of the new AV receivers that supposedly support HDMI 2.1 but when you hook up any HDMI 2.1 devices, none of their features specific to HDMI 2.1 actually work due to a subpar chipset.
    Last edited by polyh3dron; 07-03-2021 at 03:52 AM.

  10. #40
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    48

    Quote Originally Posted by polyh3dron View Post
    On my Dark Hero I can't run my 3090 GPU and dual 2TB M.2 SSDs in PCIe Gen 4 mode without causing massive USB instability and DPC latency spikes. I thought something else was causing these issues and reformatted my system drive to try fixing. Turned out I just had to force my 3090 to Gen 3 mode in BIOS, even though the recent round of AGESA updates were supposed to address this exact problem.

    It seems like PCIe Gen 4 just wasn't ready for prime time with X570, honestly.

    I can also see why people go with Intel instead of AMD for their motherboard/CPU still as well. I've had so many crippling issues with my Ryzen 3000 and 5000 machines that have been so hard to troubleshoot with people blaming every single other thing in my setup that was not truly at fault. Just know that I am not blaming Asus for my issues at all because they really are not at fault here IMO.

    Did AMD really just support PCIe Gen 4 in X570 without actually expecting people to try taking full advantage of it with GPUs and M.2 SSDs? Kind of strikes me as a situation similar to that of the new AV receivers that supposedly support HDMI 2.1 but when you hook up any HDMI 2.1 devices, none of their features specific to HDMI 2.1 actually work due to a subpar chipset.
    I hear you.
    This is my first AMD platform again after a long time with Intel. My last AMD system was back in the Athlon XP days.
    I had forgotten how AMD systems always needed fiddling with, while the Intel ones rarely had issues.
    I've always used Asus boards, but this X570 platform has been especially bothersome.
    Memory compatibility issues, audio issues, USB issues and cold boot issues.
    Some of those have been resolved after BIOS updates or spending countless hours searching the web to find references to the many voltage settings.
    This board has certainly been the most troublesome Asus board ever.

    It's also the first board to pop and smoke. Asus is now using dirt-cheap bad quality caps, I had one ceramic capacitor shorted near the CPU fan connector.
    Also, a P-channel mosfet shorted out near the memory slots.
    Luckily I'm an old fart repairing electronics (own a rework station) so I repaired my own C8H board.
    It scared the hell out of me though, this one was particularly expensive.

    As far as I'm concerned, pretty bad job Asus.

    Cheers.

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •