Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    GT-AX11000 2.5G Port Unable To Reach 1.5G Speed

    Sup all? Haven't posted in a long time.

    Upgraded my interwebs here today, got a 1.5G line and did a test using the new modem hit 1.6G no problem wired in using CAT8.

    Set bridge mode on the modem, power cycled and connected it to my AX11000, plugged my PC in to the 2.5G port and hit only 940M instead of 1.5G. Is the WAN port on the router capable of hitting the 1.5G speed???? Can't find any info on this.

    So basically its an XB7 modem, using a CAT8 cable from port 4 on the modem which is 2.5G capable to the WAN on the AX11000 and then to my PC using CAT8 to the 2.5G from the router to the 2.5G on my Apex XII.

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Did you switched the wan to the 2.5gb port?

    Happened to me once

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Galaadking View Post
    Did you switched the wan to the 2.5gb port?

    Happened to me once
    Is there toggle in the GUI to allow for greater then 1G?

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    64

    Don't u need those speeds with the internet provider first to reach those speeds? I have a 2.5gm prt on my router but never reach those speeds?

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Saltgrass PC Specs
    Saltgrass PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XIII Hero
    Processori9 11900K
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 3090 FTW
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorDell AW3420DW
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 2 TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 1 TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212X
    CaseCooler Master
    Power SupplyAntec HCP Platinum 1000
    Keyboard ASUS Strix Flare
    Mouse ASUS Chakram
    Headset/Speakers Logitech wired 5.1
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AX11000/AXE11000
    Accessory #1 VR Headset
    Accessory #2 Saitek X52

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    380

    Quote Originally Posted by MegaHapa View Post
    Is there toggle in the GUI to allow for greater then 1G?
    Information about certain things is a little hard to find an accurate description regarding how it works. I realized a month ago that I don't remember a speed being put on a normal WAN port but maybe it is 1 Gbps. The manual states if you use WAN aggregation you can get to 2 Gbps, so, is the 2.5 speed just the LAN throughput or is it also a WAN speed..

    Since you have verified the speed coming out of the modem, it would seem the 2.5 Gbps port may be limited when using it as a WAN. I have gotten it over 1 Gbps using internal transfers from an Wi-Fi 6 system..

    I might want to go to a retail site and compare modems to see if any specifically state a WAN port speed. I think I have seen 10 Gbps routers advertised since some Fiber networks have higher speeds than 1.5 Gbps..

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    I've found the answer.

    The WAN port on the AX11000 does not support speeds greater then 1Gb. You need to use Wan Aggregation which the router supports. The problem, I can't find any information on if the XB7 modem supports LACP-IEEE 802.3ad. So i am going to assume that it does not.

    My option right now is to either use the XB7 modem and get rid of the AX11000 or grab the AXE11000 which has Wan 2.5Gb and it will work fine. Then I can hit the 1.5Gb speed of my ISP.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Saltgrass PC Specs
    Saltgrass PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XIII Hero
    Processori9 11900K
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 3090 FTW
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorDell AW3420DW
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 2 TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 1 TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212X
    CaseCooler Master
    Power SupplyAntec HCP Platinum 1000
    Keyboard ASUS Strix Flare
    Mouse ASUS Chakram
    Headset/Speakers Logitech wired 5.1
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AX11000/AXE11000
    Accessory #1 VR Headset
    Accessory #2 Saitek X52

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    380

    Why would you think the 2.5 Gbps port were different on the AX11000 and AXE11000? The port on Both routers is labeled 2.5 GE..

    If you want to know about the modem, ask the ISP. Some of those have two outbound Ethernet ports so it might work but you may have to pay extra or it may not be allowed by the ISP. Others have tried using aggregation from one modem and had problems making that work.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Saltgrass View Post
    Why would you think the 2.5 Gbps port were different on the AX11000 and AXE11000? The port on Both routers is labeled 2.5 GE..

    If you want to know about the modem, ask the ISP. Some of those have two outbound Ethernet ports so it might work but you may have to pay extra or it may not be allowed by the ISP. Others have tried using aggregation from one modem and had problems making that work.
    I don't think you understand what we are talking about here.

    AX11000



    The Wan Port is only capable of 1Gb max transfer speed. But you can enable Wan Aggregation Combining the Wan+Lan 4 to achieve max 2Gb speed. But only if both the modem and router supports LACP-IEEE 802.3ad. The XB7 does not support LACP-IEEE 802.3ad

    AXE11000



    The Wan Port supports speeds up to 2.5Gb and does not require Wan Aggregation.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by MegaHapa View Post
    Is there toggle in the GUI to allow for greater then 1G?


    If you go to the wan section of the web page where you manage the AX you can switch the wan to the 2.5 GB port.

    That's why I'm asking if you have done that.

    Yes, you can do wan aggregation but also you can change the port. Try it, it won't hurt

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Saltgrass PC Specs
    Saltgrass PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XIII Hero
    Processori9 11900K
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 3090 FTW
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorDell AW3420DW
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 2 TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 1 TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212X
    CaseCooler Master
    Power SupplyAntec HCP Platinum 1000
    Keyboard ASUS Strix Flare
    Mouse ASUS Chakram
    Headset/Speakers Logitech wired 5.1
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AX11000/AXE11000
    Accessory #1 VR Headset
    Accessory #2 Saitek X52

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    380

    Quote Originally Posted by MegaHapa View Post
    I don't think you understand what we are talking about here.

    AX11000



    The Wan Port is only capable of 1Gb max transfer speed. But you can enable Wan Aggregation Combining the Wan+Lan 4 to achieve max 2Gb speed. But only if both the modem and router supports LACP-IEEE 802.3ad. The XB7 does not support LACP-IEEE 802.3ad

    AXE11000



    The Wan Port supports speeds up to 2.5Gb and does not require Wan Aggregation.
    I think the manual has the ports labeled incorrectly. The only 2.5 GB port is the far right port. The one you highlight is the WAN port which the manual shows as 2.5 Gbps WAN/LAN. That port is Blue for a WAN port.

    I am looking at the actual router, AXE11000. The port indications are the same on both versions but located in different positions.. I am not lucky enough to have an internet connection fast enough to test..

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •