Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    My Old ROG GL553VD Getting Slower

    Hi, I have a ROG GL553VD, bought it about 3-4 years ago. I've upgraded the RAM from 8 to 16, and recently(this year) I changed the SSD from previously about 250GB to 500GB.

    About from last year, my laptop getting slower significantly in games. Almost every AAA games is laggy even in low settings. My most played games are Civ 6, last year I still can play smoothly (before changing SSD), but now, it's very laggy, almost unplayable, still playable because it's turn based, but very uncomfortable. My Assassin Creed from last year til now is unplayable lag.

    Although I never change anything significantly (hardware, overclocking, installing misc software). Are every laptop performance getting slower over the year, or are there any kind of maintenance to bring back the old performance.

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    91
    Posts
    463

    Most likely OS getting trashed.
    If the original image is still intact you can do a reset and put it back to a factory state, of course you will have to reinstall all the apps. If you dont have the original image and have previously wiped the drive and installed windows then another clean install.

    I recently experienced the same on a G752VY losing its umph. I still have the factory image and cloned it to the new drives I have running a raid array and its back to like it was out of the box. This is mostly just junk getting into the system, orphaned dll files and the likes. If you ever installed any ASUS software guarantee theres tracks of that all over the place that can be found and deleted but takes more time than the system reset or clean install does. I have the same happen on my desktop. Id say every one to two years tops I have to do a restore from a clean install to get it back to prime operating state.

    On the laptop its easier to do a factory reset as all the ATK packages and drivers are already there. Just have some bloatware to remove.

    If you did a clean install and have to do it again then this time once you get it all set up do a back up so when it happens again you can just restore to the clean back up, thats what I do on my desktop.
    Last edited by BigJohnny; 06-12-2021 at 01:34 AM.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Hi Bigjohnny, I already factory reset my windows, and reinstalling the programs. I try to keep it minimal. Then I test my computer on userbenchmark, and it still sucks. I don't know why.

    this is my benchmark after factory reset, still using the Intel HD graphics (gaming 10%)
    this is the benchmark after I change the graphic card to Nvidia (gaming 22%)
    the benchmark before factory reset was (gaming 7%) if Im not forgot.

    How is this happen? or how can I optimize this?


    Quote Originally Posted by BigJohnny View Post
    Most likely OS getting trashed.
    If the original image is still intact you can do a reset and put it back to a factory state, of course you will have to reinstall all the apps. If you dont have the original image and have previously wiped the drive and installed windows then another clean install.

    I recently experienced the same on a G752VY losing its umph. I still have the factory image and cloned it to the new drives I have running a raid array and its back to like it was out of the box. This is mostly just junk getting into the system, orphaned dll files and the likes. If you ever installed any ASUS software guarantee theres tracks of that all over the place that can be found and deleted but takes more time than the system reset or clean install does. I have the same happen on my desktop. Id say every one to two years tops I have to do a restore from a clean install to get it back to prime operating state.

    On the laptop its easier to do a factory reset as all the ATK packages and drivers are already there. Just have some bloatware to remove.

    If you did a clean install and have to do it again then this time once you get it all set up do a back up so when it happens again you can just restore to the clean back up, thats what I do on my desktop.

  4. #4
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    329
    Posts
    7,927

    You may also have dust buildup or the thermal paste is drying out. Higher temps can cause the machine to downclock in order to keep them in control. A local PC shop should be able to clean and repaste for you or you can do it yourself if you feel comfortable.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •