Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    GA401QM-211.ZG14 max ram

    Does anyone can confirm the maximum ram for the lap top GA401QM-211.ZG14

    Is the 2021 model with Ryzen 5000 and RTX 3000. Asus page says that these new models support more than 40GB of ram, buy best buy site says that the maximum is 24GB so I'm confused.

    https://www.bestbuy.com/site/asus-ro...?skuId=6452913

    https://rog.asus.com/laptops/rog-zep...14-series/spec

    Thank you very much for your help

  2. #2
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    360
    Posts
    8,216

    My understanding is that 8gb of memory is permanently soldered. That means you are limited to changing one stick and anything over an 8gb stick will operate in single channel mode at lower performance. I believe if you have a larger module the first 16gb of memory usage would be in dual channel mode since it can use both sticks. But once the soldered stick is full any additional memory usage goes to the larger stick in single channel mode.

    So they come up with the 24GB number because the assumption is that you would use a 16GB stick + the 8GB of soldered memory. You probably can put a larger module in there but it will be a configuration untested and unsupported by ASUS.

    Hope that helps.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  3. #3
    Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    920

    Hi ayepiz,
    The model has 1 onboard ram and 1 slot.
    The slot support up to 16GB.
    So the combination of RAM varies. Each channel can be selling different version.
    Thank you.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array GoHack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    91

    Hi,


    It might be a good idea to get the same memory brand, w/as close to the same specs, as possible.

    Using CrucialScan, these are the modules in my GA14QM (Best Buy).


    Slot 1 (soldered in):

    Micron Technology 4ATF1G64HZ-3G2E1 8GB


    Slot 2:

    Micron Technology 4ATF1G64HZ-3G2E2 8GB


    Here's Micron's Specifications for the 8 GB Modules above, as well as for a 16 GB and a 32 GB:


    Part Number; Module Density; Configuration; Module Bandwidth; Memory Clock/ Data Rate; Clock Cycles (CL-nRCD-nRP)

    MTA4ATF1G64HZ-3G2E1and E2; 8GB; 1 Gig x 64; 25.6 GB/s; 0.625ns/3200 MT/s; 22-22-22

    MTA8ATF2G64HZ-3G2J1; 16GB; 2 Gig x 64; 25.6 GB/s; 0.625ns/3200 MT/s; 22-22-22

    MTA16ATF4G64HZ-3G2E1and E2; 32GB; 4 Gig x 64; 25.6 GB/s; 0.625ns/3200 MT/s; 22-22-22



    The sad part is, the 8 GB is a single sided memory module, while the 16 and 32 GB are Dual.


    So my guess is, a Micron MTA8ATF2G64HZ-3G2__, for a grand total of 24 GB, and a Micron MTA16ATF4G64HZ-3G2__, for a grand total of 40 GB; would be the ones to use, to replace the single 8 GB Module with.


    I hope this helps people.


    PS - This is the memory modules which appear to have come on my Asus GA14QM. You will have to check on yours, just to make sure you have the same. If different, you'll have to look it up yourself.


    Once again, I used the memory checker CrucialScan from Crucial Memory to check what memory sticks are in my Asus GA14QM. I tried using PassMark, but for some reason, it wouldn't work.
    Last edited by GoHack; 07-25-2021 at 11:43 PM.
    .
    .
    . ROG Zephyrus GA401QM (Q14) Laptop, AMD Ryzen 9 5900H CPU; Nvidia RTX 3060 GPU; 24 GB DDR4 (1x8 GB, 1x16); 1 TB Samsung Pro980 M.2 SSD; Windows 10 Pro

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array GoHack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    91

    I just upgraded my GA401QM, from 16 GB to 24.
    I found a 16 GB stick of MTA8ATF2G64HZ-3G2J1 on eBay, and paid around $25.00 used.
    No issues.
    .
    .
    . ROG Zephyrus GA401QM (Q14) Laptop, AMD Ryzen 9 5900H CPU; Nvidia RTX 3060 GPU; 24 GB DDR4 (1x8 GB, 1x16); 1 TB Samsung Pro980 M.2 SSD; Windows 10 Pro

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •