Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array sl910 PC Specs
    sl910 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus 13 Hero PCB 1.02
    ProcessorIntel i9 11900K
    Memory (part number)Crucial 64 GB 3200MHz (4x16GB, CL22)
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia RTX 3090 Founders Edition
    Storage #1Samsung NVMe 980 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung NVMe 970 EVO Plus 2TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S chromax.black
    CaseLian-Li PC-A61WX
    Power SupplySeasonic PRIME TX-1000
    Keyboard Microsoft Wired Keyboard 600
    Mouse Microsoft Clasic Intellimouse
    OS Windows 10 Pro FR 21H1

    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Intel ABT vs Asus MCE

    Hi,

    Can anyone explain what is the difference between these two settings in the Asus Maximus Z590 motherboards line

    - Asus MCE
    - Intel ABT

    I am asking this because in my mind, both settings goal is to maximize the ratio multiplier on ALL CORES. So for me, it is almost the same. At the same time enabling ABT gives a huge power consumption increase under stress tests. Enabling MCE also lead to a higher package power consumption but not as high as with ABT. MCE disabled and ABT enabled should be almost the same (performance, Icc, Watts) than MCE enabled and ABT disabled. Isn't it ?

    Best regards

    sl91

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zeroed85 PC Specs
    Zeroed85 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XIII Hero - Z590
    ProcessorIntel i9 10900K - custom cooled
    Memory (part number)Dominator Platinum RGB 32GB 3866Mhz tuned
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 3080 OC - watercooled
    Sound CardSoundBlaster X AE-5
    MonitorAsus ROG PG349Q 34" 3440x1440 120hz G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 500GB, 860 Evo x 2,
    Storage #2Adata SX8200 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerCustom loop, EK PE 360, Corsair XR5 280 rads
    CasePhanteks Eclipse P600S
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Platinum 1300W
    Keyboard Corsair K70 MK.2 SE
    Mouse Corsair Dark Core Pro wireless
    Headset Hifiman HE400i
    OS Win 11
    Accessory #1 Corsair Nexus

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    199

    MCE is more about unlocking the power limits of the CPU. I don't think MCE actually has anything to do with the ratio multiplier. On Z490/Z590 you want MCE set to enabled. Then in Internal CPU power management manually set the short and long package power limits to something like 250W to reduce the power consumption. You can also set a package temperature threshold in here, I set 90. I can't help with ABT unfortunately.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array sl910 PC Specs
    sl910 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus 13 Hero PCB 1.02
    ProcessorIntel i9 11900K
    Memory (part number)Crucial 64 GB 3200MHz (4x16GB, CL22)
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia RTX 3090 Founders Edition
    Storage #1Samsung NVMe 980 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung NVMe 970 EVO Plus 2TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S chromax.black
    CaseLian-Li PC-A61WX
    Power SupplySeasonic PRIME TX-1000
    Keyboard Microsoft Wired Keyboard 600
    Mouse Microsoft Clasic Intellimouse
    OS Windows 10 Pro FR 21H1

    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Quote Originally Posted by Zeroed85 View Post
    MCE is more about unlocking the power limits of the CPU. I don't think MCE actually has anything to do with the ratio multiplier. On Z490/Z590 you want MCE set to enabled. Then in Internal CPU power management manually set the short and long package power limits to something like 250W to reduce the power consumption. You can also set a package temperature threshold in here, I set 90. I can't help with ABT unfortunately.
    Thank you for the answer,

    I think that in the auto mode Asus use the value of 90°C for the CPU package temperature as a limit. For me, I have upgraded from Ã* i7-7700K/Maximus IX code, so the gap is huge woncerning the number of settings ! I am still trying to make my new setup as stable as possible. I found out that one of the key settings is the SVID behavior. Regarding to the PL1, PL2 and tau values, I am using the maximum since the limitation (and protection) is provided by the CPU package temp cap (i.e 90°C). By the way, one stess test that I am not able to run but that don't crach the computer is the Aida64 FPU test with the AVX options set to ON. The stress test starts but stops very quickly stating that there is a hardware failure...with no crash or instability observed on the setup. Did you observe this behaviour ? Cinebench R23 and prime 95 test are successful even after several hours of testing.

    Regards

    sl910

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zeroed85 PC Specs
    Zeroed85 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XIII Hero - Z590
    ProcessorIntel i9 10900K - custom cooled
    Memory (part number)Dominator Platinum RGB 32GB 3866Mhz tuned
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 3080 OC - watercooled
    Sound CardSoundBlaster X AE-5
    MonitorAsus ROG PG349Q 34" 3440x1440 120hz G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 500GB, 860 Evo x 2,
    Storage #2Adata SX8200 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerCustom loop, EK PE 360, Corsair XR5 280 rads
    CasePhanteks Eclipse P600S
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Platinum 1300W
    Keyboard Corsair K70 MK.2 SE
    Mouse Corsair Dark Core Pro wireless
    Headset Hifiman HE400i
    OS Win 11
    Accessory #1 Corsair Nexus

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    199

    Are you trying to run sync all cores? Per Core? AI controlled? What CPU ratio are you aiming for? Manual voltage or adaptive? SVID - best case will set the AC LL very low and you will likely need a higher LLC level to compensate. Please provide some more details of how you are setting things in the BIOS.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array sl910 PC Specs
    sl910 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus 13 Hero PCB 1.02
    ProcessorIntel i9 11900K
    Memory (part number)Crucial 64 GB 3200MHz (4x16GB, CL22)
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia RTX 3090 Founders Edition
    Storage #1Samsung NVMe 980 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung NVMe 970 EVO Plus 2TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S chromax.black
    CaseLian-Li PC-A61WX
    Power SupplySeasonic PRIME TX-1000
    Keyboard Microsoft Wired Keyboard 600
    Mouse Microsoft Clasic Intellimouse
    OS Windows 10 Pro FR 21H1

    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Quote Originally Posted by Zeroed85 View Post
    Are you trying to run sync all cores? Per Core? AI controlled? What CPU ratio are you aiming for? Manual voltage or adaptive? SVID - best case will set the AC LL very low and you will likely need a higher LLC level to compensate. Please provide some more details of how you are setting things in the BIOS.
    Hi,
    I am just trying to be as close as possible to intel specs and guidelines. I am not trying to run sync all cores. The LLC is auto and the value is 3 and for the AC LL, HWINFO show the value 1.1 mohms. Almost all settings are the default ones

    Regards

    sl910

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •