Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zeroed85 PC Specs
    Zeroed85 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XIII Hero - Z590
    ProcessorIntel i9 10900K - custom cooled
    Memory (part number)Dominator Platinum RGB 32GB 3866Mhz tuned
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 3080 OC - watercooled
    Sound CardSoundBlaster X AE-5
    MonitorAsus ROG PG349Q 34" 3440x1440 120hz G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 500GB, 860 Evo x 2,
    Storage #2Adata SX8200 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerCustom loop, EK PE 360, Corsair XR5 280 rads
    CasePhanteks Eclipse P600S
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Platinum 1300W
    Keyboard Corsair K70 MK.2 SE
    Mouse Corsair Dark Core Pro wireless
    Headset Hifiman HE400i
    OS Win 11
    Accessory #1 Corsair Nexus

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    196

    TPM - Hardware device not connected

    XIII Hero. Isn't the TPM hardwired? What is the problem?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	TPM.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	91.5 KB 
ID:	89033
    Last edited by Zeroed85; 06-18-2021 at 08:17 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Jesseinsf PC Specs
    Jesseinsf PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)N/A
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Extreme (Z390)
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 9900K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMW128GX4M4E3200C16 - 128GB (4x32)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA - GeForce RTX 2080 Ti FE
    Sound CardOnboard TOSLINK to powered speakers
    MonitorMSI Creator PS321URV (32 in 4k HDR600)
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro M.2 PCIe SSD 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro M.2 PCIe SSD 1TB
    CPU CoolerLian Li Galahad 360 (3x Uni fan SL120)
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic XL Black (ROG Certified)
    Power SupplyCooler Master V1200 Platinum
    Keyboard RAZER HUNTSMAN ELITE - LINEAR OPTICAL SWITCH (Red) w/ PBT Keycaps
    Mouse Razer Basilisk Ultimate with Charging Dock
    Headset Bowers and Wilkins P9 Signature
    Mouse Pad LOFTMAT (16x13 inch) Cushioned Gaming Mat - "The Gaming Slim"
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo Transparent One Encore with Rel HT/1003 Subwoofer
    OS Windows 11 Pro for Workstations 64-bit
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AC5300 (Using Spectrum 400MB service)
    Accessory #1 Microsoft Xbox Elite Wireless Controller Series 2
    Accessory #2 2x Logitech BRIO ULTRA HD PRO WEBCAM
    Accessory #3 7 Uni Fan SL120 fans for PC case
    Jesseinsf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    45
    Posts
    383

    Quote Originally Posted by Zeroed85 View Post
    XIII Hero. Isn't the TPM hardwired? What is the problem?

    Attachment 89031
    You have to turn on the feature in BIOS. There is not an actual TPM hardware chip like found in business and some personal PCs and laptops. I will be back with the actual name to the Intel TPM feature.

    In BIOS/Advanced/PCH-FW Configuration
    Enable PTT (Intel Platform Trust Technology)

    This is Intel's version of TPM
    Last edited by Jesseinsf; 06-18-2021 at 08:16 AM.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zeroed85 PC Specs
    Zeroed85 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XIII Hero - Z590
    ProcessorIntel i9 10900K - custom cooled
    Memory (part number)Dominator Platinum RGB 32GB 3866Mhz tuned
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 3080 OC - watercooled
    Sound CardSoundBlaster X AE-5
    MonitorAsus ROG PG349Q 34" 3440x1440 120hz G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 500GB, 860 Evo x 2,
    Storage #2Adata SX8200 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerCustom loop, EK PE 360, Corsair XR5 280 rads
    CasePhanteks Eclipse P600S
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Platinum 1300W
    Keyboard Corsair K70 MK.2 SE
    Mouse Corsair Dark Core Pro wireless
    Headset Hifiman HE400i
    OS Win 11
    Accessory #1 Corsair Nexus

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    196

    Quote Originally Posted by Jesseinsf View Post
    You have to turn on the feature in BIOS. There is not an actual TPM hardware chip like found in business and some personal PCs and laptops. I will be back with the actual name to the Intel TPM feature.

    In BIOS/Advanced/PCH-FW Configuration
    Enable PTT (Intel Platform Trust Technology)

    This is Intel's version of TPM
    Hmm has the location of this in the BIOS changed? I seemed to have overlooked this. Will check that out later thanks.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Jesseinsf PC Specs
    Jesseinsf PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)N/A
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Extreme (Z390)
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 9900K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMW128GX4M4E3200C16 - 128GB (4x32)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA - GeForce RTX 2080 Ti FE
    Sound CardOnboard TOSLINK to powered speakers
    MonitorMSI Creator PS321URV (32 in 4k HDR600)
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro M.2 PCIe SSD 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro M.2 PCIe SSD 1TB
    CPU CoolerLian Li Galahad 360 (3x Uni fan SL120)
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic XL Black (ROG Certified)
    Power SupplyCooler Master V1200 Platinum
    Keyboard RAZER HUNTSMAN ELITE - LINEAR OPTICAL SWITCH (Red) w/ PBT Keycaps
    Mouse Razer Basilisk Ultimate with Charging Dock
    Headset Bowers and Wilkins P9 Signature
    Mouse Pad LOFTMAT (16x13 inch) Cushioned Gaming Mat - "The Gaming Slim"
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo Transparent One Encore with Rel HT/1003 Subwoofer
    OS Windows 11 Pro for Workstations 64-bit
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AC5300 (Using Spectrum 400MB service)
    Accessory #1 Microsoft Xbox Elite Wireless Controller Series 2
    Accessory #2 2x Logitech BRIO ULTRA HD PRO WEBCAM
    Accessory #3 7 Uni Fan SL120 fans for PC case
    Jesseinsf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    45
    Posts
    383

    Quote Originally Posted by Zeroed85 View Post
    Hmm has the location of this in the BIOS changed? I seemed to have overlooked this. Will check that out later thanks.
    Actually, looking at the manual, 11th Gen Intel doesn't seem to provide any form of TPM chip. However, there is a header to plug one in. Device manager sees the header but notices that a TPM chip is not connected. You have to buy one. Let me know if you do find PTT in the BIOS?

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zeroed85 PC Specs
    Zeroed85 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XIII Hero - Z590
    ProcessorIntel i9 10900K - custom cooled
    Memory (part number)Dominator Platinum RGB 32GB 3866Mhz tuned
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 3080 OC - watercooled
    Sound CardSoundBlaster X AE-5
    MonitorAsus ROG PG349Q 34" 3440x1440 120hz G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 500GB, 860 Evo x 2,
    Storage #2Adata SX8200 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerCustom loop, EK PE 360, Corsair XR5 280 rads
    CasePhanteks Eclipse P600S
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Platinum 1300W
    Keyboard Corsair K70 MK.2 SE
    Mouse Corsair Dark Core Pro wireless
    Headset Hifiman HE400i
    OS Win 11
    Accessory #1 Corsair Nexus

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    196

    Quote Originally Posted by Jesseinsf View Post
    Actually, looking at the manual, 11th Gen Intel doesn't seem to provide any form of TPM chip. However, there is a header to plug one in. Device manager sees the header but notices that a TPM chip is not connected. You have to buy one. Let me know if you do find PTT in the BIOS?
    Which manual are you looking at?

    Edit: My XIII Hero manual seems to indicate a TPM must be purchased separately... I will check the BIOS later anyway and let you know.
    Last edited by Zeroed85; 06-18-2021 at 08:56 AM.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zeroed85 PC Specs
    Zeroed85 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XIII Hero - Z590
    ProcessorIntel i9 10900K - custom cooled
    Memory (part number)Dominator Platinum RGB 32GB 3866Mhz tuned
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 3080 OC - watercooled
    Sound CardSoundBlaster X AE-5
    MonitorAsus ROG PG349Q 34" 3440x1440 120hz G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 500GB, 860 Evo x 2,
    Storage #2Adata SX8200 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerCustom loop, EK PE 360, Corsair XR5 280 rads
    CasePhanteks Eclipse P600S
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Platinum 1300W
    Keyboard Corsair K70 MK.2 SE
    Mouse Corsair Dark Core Pro wireless
    Headset Hifiman HE400i
    OS Win 11
    Accessory #1 Corsair Nexus

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    196

    It's where you said it was... I guess maybe a TPM is hardwired in but I did not enable it yet because my question is: What does it mean if the recovery key or BIOS ROM chip is replaced? Is this a problem when flashing new BIOS's? Should the recovery key be backed up before a BIOS change?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	210618212356.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	115.4 KB 
ID:	89034

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Saltgrass PC Specs
    Saltgrass PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XIII Hero
    Processori9 11900K
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 3090 FTW
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorDell AW3420DW
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 2 TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 1 TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212X
    CaseCooler Master
    Power SupplyAntec HCP Platinum 1000
    Keyboard ASUS Strix Flare
    Mouse ASUS Chakram
    Headset/Speakers Logitech wired 5.1
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AX11000/AXE11000
    Accessory #1 VR Headset
    Accessory #2 Saitek X52

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    408

    I have always understood a TPM device had to be purchased separately. My Device Manager does not show any Security devices entry (11th Gen).

    You can also check msinfo32.exe under Device Encryption Support to see what it shows..

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zeroed85 PC Specs
    Zeroed85 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XIII Hero - Z590
    ProcessorIntel i9 10900K - custom cooled
    Memory (part number)Dominator Platinum RGB 32GB 3866Mhz tuned
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 3080 OC - watercooled
    Sound CardSoundBlaster X AE-5
    MonitorAsus ROG PG349Q 34" 3440x1440 120hz G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 500GB, 860 Evo x 2,
    Storage #2Adata SX8200 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerCustom loop, EK PE 360, Corsair XR5 280 rads
    CasePhanteks Eclipse P600S
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Platinum 1300W
    Keyboard Corsair K70 MK.2 SE
    Mouse Corsair Dark Core Pro wireless
    Headset Hifiman HE400i
    OS Win 11
    Accessory #1 Corsair Nexus

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    196

    Quote Originally Posted by Saltgrass View Post
    I have always understood a TPM device had to be purchased separately. My Device Manager does not show any Security devices entry (11th Gen).

    You can also check msinfo32.exe under Device Encryption Support to see what it shows..
    I haven't enabled PTT in the BIOS yet so what I see in System Info may change. Hoping to get the above questions answered before enabling it.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	System Info.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	11.7 KB 
ID:	89035

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array geneo PC Specs
    geneo PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus XII Hero (WiFi)
    Processori9-10900k 5.1Ghz AVX0, delid
    Memory (part number)64 GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3200/CL14 @ 3600 CL16
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix 2070 Super A8G
    Sound CardOn-board
    MonitorEIZO Coloredge CG2730 and Viewsonic QHD displays
    Storage #1Samsung 512 GB 960 Pro; 980 1TB
    Storage #21TB 850 x 1 TB 860 EVO RAID0, 6 TB WDC Black, 6TB IronWolf Pro
    CPU CoolerEK-AIO 360 D-RGB
    CaseFractal Design Meshify 2 dark tint
    Power Supply750W Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium Plus
    Keyboard CM Quickfire Rapid TKL
    Mouse Logitech G305
    Headset Bose QC15
    Mouse Pad Perixx dx-2000
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo T1, Klipsch R-12SWi Sub
    OS Windows 11 Pro X64
    Network RouterLinksys EA7300
    Accessory #1 Logitech c920e webcam
    Accessory #2 Sabrent DS-SC5B 5-Bay USB-C HDD docking station
    Accessory #3 xrite i1 Display monitor calibration
    geneo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    52
    Posts
    553

    PTT is part of the Intel z590 chipset, not the BIOS.

    https://ark.intel.com/content/www/us...0-chipset.html
    Last edited by geneo; 06-18-2021 at 04:50 PM.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Saltgrass PC Specs
    Saltgrass PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XIII Hero
    Processori9 11900K
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 3090 FTW
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorDell AW3420DW
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 2 TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 1 TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212X
    CaseCooler Master
    Power SupplyAntec HCP Platinum 1000
    Keyboard ASUS Strix Flare
    Mouse ASUS Chakram
    Headset/Speakers Logitech wired 5.1
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AX11000/AXE11000
    Accessory #1 VR Headset
    Accessory #2 Saitek X52

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    408

    This thread is going to become very popular. I have an XII and XIII and I am running the Windows Insider on the XII. Because my system did not have a TPM, it was deemed not ready for Windows 11, which was announced today.

    Enabling the PTT did allow the XII to pass the check for the TPM ver. 2.0 requirement.

    Windows 11 is supposed to be released to the public around Oct. - Nov. 2021.

    Edit: I just enabled the PTT on the XIII and it shows as normal. I do not have Bitlocker enabled if that were to make a difference.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	TPM.JPG 
Views:	0 
Size:	51.6 KB 
ID:	89086
    Last edited by Saltgrass; 06-24-2021 at 05:35 PM.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •