Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array 78Staff PC Specs
    78Staff PC Specs
    MotherboardCrossHair VIII Hero WiFI 3801
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 5950X
    Memory (part number)GSkill Neo 4x16GB 3600
    Graphics Card #1PowerColor Radeon RX 5700XT
    MonitorViewSonic 38" VP3881
    Storage #1Sabrent Rocket 4 Plus 2TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 4Tb x3
    CPU CoolerArtic Freezer II 420
    CasePhanteks P600S
    Power SupplySeasonic PX-1000
    Keyboard Logitech G915
    Mouse Logitech G Pro Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro X Wireless
    Headset/Speakers Creative Pebble V2
    Network RouterRT-AC88U
    Accessory #1 Asustor AS6604T & AS5304T
    Accessory #2 QNAP QSW-M2108-2C

    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    36

    C8Hero Memory Upgrade to 64gb 4x16 and Q-Code 22?

    Ok so after upgrading to a 5950, wanting to move from 32gb to 64gb. Purchased some G.Skill Neo's 3600 C16 4x16, but when I mount them I can't boot to the bios, or boot at all. All I am getting is blank screen and Q-Code 22. Running 3601 bios.

    Interwebs report code 22 is a memory training code and to let it sit while the board/bios learns the memory, or something to that affect, but doesn't seem to be occurring for me. Not sure how long I would need to let it sit, but I let it go for 10 min or so with no change.

    I tried searching here on this board for code 22 but it's hard to search for a specific code due to the "common phrase" search restrictions. Anyway, I had to get it back up to work today so put my ripjaws 4x8 c14's back in and it booted right up. After work today I figure I will start trying again, but wanted to reach out to see if anyone had any suggestions or advise for this 22 code?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    42
    Posts
    1,220

    Q code 22 is nearly always a memory issue. Try using slots 2 & 4 (from CPU) first rather than all four. see if you get boot with just 2 sticks first than try other two, you may have dud stick (it happens). Also if you get boot with 2 and tested all 4 working in slots 2 & 4, than shut down and see if get boot with all 4.

    Make sure you have confirmed the sticks were approved for use as 4 sticks as well, some are only approved for two. Being GSkill RipJaws I kinda doubt they are approved but you never know.

    In the early days, the memory controller sometimes needed a little more voltage as well to play with 4 sticks, but training has improved a lot and not needed to do this myself for quite some time now.



    Hope you find this helpful.
    Last edited by RedSector73; 06-18-2021 at 12:58 PM.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array 78Staff PC Specs
    78Staff PC Specs
    MotherboardCrossHair VIII Hero WiFI 3801
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 5950X
    Memory (part number)GSkill Neo 4x16GB 3600
    Graphics Card #1PowerColor Radeon RX 5700XT
    MonitorViewSonic 38" VP3881
    Storage #1Sabrent Rocket 4 Plus 2TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 4Tb x3
    CPU CoolerArtic Freezer II 420
    CasePhanteks P600S
    Power SupplySeasonic PX-1000
    Keyboard Logitech G915
    Mouse Logitech G Pro Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro X Wireless
    Headset/Speakers Creative Pebble V2
    Network RouterRT-AC88U
    Accessory #1 Asustor AS6604T & AS5304T
    Accessory #2 QNAP QSW-M2108-2C

    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    36

    Ok thanks, the new sticks are Trident Neo's, my current sticks are ripjaws. I will try the 2/4 slot and see if I can get the system to boot.

    Edit - OK that seemed to work. I reset bios to optimized defaults (didn't before), shut down, installed two sticks and system booted fine. Added the other two sticks and system booted up fine again. Went into bios adn setup DCOP, etc and so far so good!

    Thanks for the assist!
    Last edited by 78Staff; 06-18-2021 at 06:47 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    42
    Posts
    1,220

    No problem, glad you got it sorted.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array Sapphire989 PC Specs
    Sapphire989 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VIII Hero (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD 5950X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C16-16GTRG x4 64gb
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire 6900XT Nitro+ 16gb
    MonitorPhilips 328M6FJRMB2 (31.5")
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 970 EVO Plus 1TB NVME
    Storage #2MX500 2T SSD SATA
    CPU CoolerEK-AIO Elite 360 D-RGB
    CaseLIAN LI O11D XL ROG Certified
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850
    Keyboard Corsair Gaming K70 LUX RGB
    Mouse CORSAIR DARK CORE PRO WIRELESS
    Headset ASUS Strix GO 2.4 WIRELESS
    OS Windows 10 pro
    Network RouterNETGEAR R7000
    Accessory #1 9pcs UNI Fan SL120
    Accessory #2 Lian li PCI-e 4.0 X16 Riser cable
    Accessory #3 O11D-XL VERTICAL GPU BRACKET KIT

    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Update to 3601, show qcode 22 error today, 3501 does not have this problem error

    ps: I using Gskill Royal 3200 16X4

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    Quote Originally Posted by 78Staff View Post
    Ok thanks, the new sticks are Trident Neo's, my current sticks are ripjaws. I will try the 2/4 slot and see if I can get the system to boot.

    Edit - OK that seemed to work. I reset bios to optimized defaults (didn't before), shut down, installed two sticks and system booted fine. Added the other two sticks and system booted up fine again. Went into bios adn setup DCOP, etc and so far so good!

    Thanks for the assist!
    Keep in mind that mixing DIMMs often causes problems for most users. This is why most manufacturers recommend you only use matched RAM. Also keep in mind that some manufactures use different dies in some configurations that they sell over periods of time, so keep that mind.

    Having said the above, glad things are working for you.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    42
    Posts
    1,220

    Quote Originally Posted by Sapphire989 View Post
    Update to 3601, show qcode 22 error today, 3501 does not have this problem error

    ps: I using Gskill Royal 3200 16X4
    try just using slots 2 & 4 first with DOCP, may also want to try manual SOC Voltage of 1.05, 1.1 or 1.15v and see if get sucessful boot. Once you have boot try all four back in.
    Last edited by RedSector73; 06-21-2021 at 01:34 PM.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array 78Staff PC Specs
    78Staff PC Specs
    MotherboardCrossHair VIII Hero WiFI 3801
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 5950X
    Memory (part number)GSkill Neo 4x16GB 3600
    Graphics Card #1PowerColor Radeon RX 5700XT
    MonitorViewSonic 38" VP3881
    Storage #1Sabrent Rocket 4 Plus 2TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 4Tb x3
    CPU CoolerArtic Freezer II 420
    CasePhanteks P600S
    Power SupplySeasonic PX-1000
    Keyboard Logitech G915
    Mouse Logitech G Pro Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro X Wireless
    Headset/Speakers Creative Pebble V2
    Network RouterRT-AC88U
    Accessory #1 Asustor AS6604T & AS5304T
    Accessory #2 QNAP QSW-M2108-2C

    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    36

    Quote Originally Posted by Daylight_Invader View Post
    Keep in mind that mixing DIMMs often causes problems for most users. This is why most manufacturers recommend you only use matched RAM. Also keep in mind that some manufactures use different dies in some configurations that they sell over periods of time, so keep that mind.

    Having said the above, glad things are working for you.
    yep I must have typed something in my initial post that confused folks, I'm not mixing ripjaws and neos - Both sets (previous RipJaws 4x8 set and replacement Neo 4x16) set were purchased as matched 4 dimm kits - no issues there.

    Thanks .

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •