Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zarathustraa PC Specs
    Zarathustraa PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5930k
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15Q-32GRK
    Graphics Card #1Dragon 660ti 2GD5
    Monitor3 x VG27AH
    Storage #1850 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2850 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua Nh-D15
    CaseCorsair 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Kinesis Advantage
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 8.1, and Linux Mint
    Accessory #1 Aquaero 6xt

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    213

    Board is occasionally taking me to bios update screen at boot.

    Sometimes, the system boots me into the bios update screen. I think it usually happens after power cycling. I boot into the screen and just reboot, as I don't have a bios set to load. Does anyone know why I might be seeing that screen? Could it indicate processor degradation? Is this a bug in the motherboard that shows up with age?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array pndiode PC Specs
    pndiode PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS G752VL-DH71
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Extreme
    ProcessorI7-7700K
    Memory (part number)G-Skill F4-3600C19Q-32GTZRB
    Graphics Card #1ROG Matrix GTX 980TI -P-6GD5 Bitspower Water Block
    Graphics Card #2ROG Matrix GTX 980TI -P-6GD5 Bitspower Water Block
    MonitorSAMSUNG S22D300HY (2 ea)
    Storage #1WD Black SN750 1TB
    Storage #2WD Blue 4TB (4 ea)
    CPU CoolerEK PE 360 (Top), PE 240 (Front), and Xres 100 Elite
    CaseROG Strix Helios
    Power SupplyThermalTake Toughpower 1200W
    Keyboard Cerberus
    Mouse Logitech MX Master S2
    Headset ROG Strix Fusion 300
    Mouse Pad Generic
    Headset/Speakers Bose Companion 3 Series II
    OS Win 10 Pro 21H1
    Network RouterGeneric
    Accessory #1 ROG Aura Terminal
    Accessory #2 ROG 10GB Express
    Accessory #3 Corsair ML140 (4 ea), Corsair ML120 (3 ea)

    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    31
    Posts
    244

    Does anyone know why I might be seeing that screen?

    Try replacing the battery on the motherboard with a new battery. The battery provides power even when the computer is off and allows the CMOS to save all the settings (BIOS).

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zarathustraa PC Specs
    Zarathustraa PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5930k
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15Q-32GRK
    Graphics Card #1Dragon 660ti 2GD5
    Monitor3 x VG27AH
    Storage #1850 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2850 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua Nh-D15
    CaseCorsair 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Kinesis Advantage
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 8.1, and Linux Mint
    Accessory #1 Aquaero 6xt

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    213

    Quote Originally Posted by pndiode View Post
    Try replacing the battery on the motherboard with a new battery. The battery provides power even when the computer is off and allows the CMOS to save all the settings (BIOS).
    Won't I lose my overclocking profile by pulling it?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    128
    Posts
    579

    Should be able to save the settings to USB then load them back up.
    I dont think its the battery though, sound more like someone isnt playing nice. Usually when the battery craps it loses everything at every power off.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zarathustraa PC Specs
    Zarathustraa PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5930k
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15Q-32GRK
    Graphics Card #1Dragon 660ti 2GD5
    Monitor3 x VG27AH
    Storage #1850 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2850 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua Nh-D15
    CaseCorsair 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Kinesis Advantage
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 8.1, and Linux Mint
    Accessory #1 Aquaero 6xt

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    213

    Quote Originally Posted by BigJohnny View Post
    Should be able to save the settings to USB then load them back up.
    I dont think its the battery though, sound more like someone isnt playing nice. Usually when the battery craps it loses everything at every power off.
    I should replace the battery anyways. I guess when they get low stuff starts acting oddly. I have had the machine for five years, and it's about time. I am probably a few months away from losing a ram oc.

    I have not changed any hardware in years, and this just started happening.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zarathustraa PC Specs
    Zarathustraa PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5930k
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15Q-32GRK
    Graphics Card #1Dragon 660ti 2GD5
    Monitor3 x VG27AH
    Storage #1850 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2850 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua Nh-D15
    CaseCorsair 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Kinesis Advantage
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 8.1, and Linux Mint
    Accessory #1 Aquaero 6xt

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    213

    Replaced the battery. I saved out a txt file, and not a com file. I can't find some of the settings.

    Do you know if settings such as:

    Disable Parity Workaround [Disabled]
    CMD Margins [40]

    are not visible in the bios?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •