Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Windows 11 TPM 2.0 and Asus Z170 Pro Gaming

    How can I enable or update to TPM 2.0 , so I can install Windows 11 ?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array claudej PC Specs
    claudej PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Gene
    ProcessorIntel 7700K
    Memory (part number)2*8GB G.SKILL RipJaws IV
    Graphics Card #1Intel HD Graphics 630
    MonitorLG 65E7V
    Storage #1Intel 660P 2.0TB M.2 SSD
    Storage #2Seagate Exos 16TB
    CPU CoolerID-Cooling IS-50
    CaseSilverstone SG04B-H mATX
    Power SupplyThermaltake London 550W
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Logitech Performance Mouse MX
    OS Windows 10 64bit
    Accessory #1 LG CH08LS10 Blu-Ray

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    83

    Probably you can't.
    It seems I can't...
    No TPM option in Bios nor TPM header on my motherboard
    Last edited by claudej; 06-26-2021 at 11:42 AM.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    42

    Unhappy

    Quote Originally Posted by claudej View Post
    Probably you can't.
    It seems I can't...
    No TPM option in Bios nor TPM header on motherboard
    Bummer. Absolute Bummer.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array claudej PC Specs
    claudej PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Gene
    ProcessorIntel 7700K
    Memory (part number)2*8GB G.SKILL RipJaws IV
    Graphics Card #1Intel HD Graphics 630
    MonitorLG 65E7V
    Storage #1Intel 660P 2.0TB M.2 SSD
    Storage #2Seagate Exos 16TB
    CPU CoolerID-Cooling IS-50
    CaseSilverstone SG04B-H mATX
    Power SupplyThermaltake London 550W
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Logitech Performance Mouse MX
    OS Windows 10 64bit
    Accessory #1 LG CH08LS10 Blu-Ray

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    83

    Oh no ! you can
    You have a TPM header, you just need to find such a fitting TPM module

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 11 64bit Pro
    Network RouterPfSence Intel i5-10210U 6 Port
    Accessory #1 TP-Link Gigabit 8&6 Port Switches

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    1,258

    Windows 11 finial release version won't require TPM. So if you have not needed one till now, you won't need one in the future.

  6. #6
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    351
    Posts
    8,112

    Quote Originally Posted by RedSector73 View Post
    Windows 11 finial release version won't require TPM. So if you have not needed one till now, you won't need one in the future.
    Can you link to a Microsoft statement confirming this? You are free to speculate but do not state it as a fact unless there is official confirmation.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 11 64bit Pro
    Network RouterPfSence Intel i5-10210U 6 Port
    Accessory #1 TP-Link Gigabit 8&6 Port Switches

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    1,258

    Quote Originally Posted by xeromist View Post
    Can you link to a Microsoft statement confirming this? You are free to speculate but do not state it as a fact unless there is official confirmation.
    No I cant, it appears my information on this is incorrect.

    Did find this article, but it confirms TPM 2.0
    https://www.pcworld.com/article/3623...r-your-pc.html

    Knowing the differences between a TPM 1.0 chip and a TPM 2.0 chip aren’t really necessary for the enthusiast PC owner, but Microsoft points out several differences: TPM 2.0 supports more sophisticated cryptographic algorithms, provides a more standardized experience, and, most importantly, can be integrated into a CPU.

    In a Twitter post on Thursday, Weston pointed out that almost every CPU in the last five years includes a TPM, either called the Intel PTT, or the AMD PSP fTPM. Microsoft has required such a TPM to certify PCs since at least 2015. However, you may need to go into your BIOS and enable that functionality. Robert Hallock, director of technical marketing at AMD, also noted that most PCs already support a first-gen TPM.

    Editor's Note: Microsoft removed the "soft floor" mentioned earlier in this article. This means that the TPM 1.0 has been removed from the minimum requirements, and only TPM 2.0 PCs will be eligible for Windows 11.

    Another article
    https://au.pcmag.com/components/8787...for-windows-11

    or you could do this and get around it
    Last edited by RedSector73; 06-28-2021 at 03:07 AM.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array etacarinae PC Specs
    etacarinae PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Razer Blade 15 Advanced / RZ09-02386E91
    MotherboardAsus ROG RVIEE / Bios 0070
    ProcessorIntel I9 10980xe
    Memory (part number)128GB G-Skill Trident Z RGB 3000MHz C14 / F4-3000C14Q2-128GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Evga RTX 3090 FTW3 Ultra
    Monitor3*Asus PG279Q
    Storage #1Intel Optane 905p 1.5TB HH
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Mouse Razer Mamba Elite
    Headset/Speakers KEF LS50
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Network RouterASUS GT-AX11000
    etacarinae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    I have a Maximus VIII Extreme and Intel PTT is enabled in the BIOS but it is not actually exposed as a menu item while in the BIOS. Either Microsoft is going to have to reverse this or ASUS is going to have to update a whole lot of BIOS for hundreds of mobos.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	AMIBCP5_2021-06-29_00-01-31.png 
Views:	18 
Size:	73.7 KB 
ID:	89170
    Intel Core i9 10980XE | ASUS RAMPAGE VI EXTREME ENCORE | EVGA RTX 3090 FTW3 Ultra | 128GB G-Skill Trident Z RGB 3000MHz C14
    Intel Optane 905P 1.5TB HH PCIe | 2*4TB Samsung EVO 860 | 8TB Sabrent Rocket Q NVMe | 4*14TB Seagate Ironwolf Pro
    Corsair AX1600i | EK-AIO 360 D-RGB | Phanteks Enthoo Elite Satin Black | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | 3*ASUS PG279Q
    Razer Mamba Elite | Razer Huntsman Elite / RAMA u80-A Lake

  9. #9
    ROG Junior Member Array Silvered87 PC Specs
    Silvered87 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Lenovo 720s
    MotherboardZ170 PRO GAMING/AURA
    ProcessorIntel i5 6600k
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15D-16GTZB
    Graphics Card #1ROG STRIX-GTX1080-8G-GAMING
    MonitorBenq G2420HDB / LG49UB820V
    Storage #1ADATA XS8200NP
    Storage #2ADATA SU800
    CPU Coolerbe quiet! Pure Rock
    CasePhanteks EVOLV ATX TG
    Power SupplyThermalTake smart se modular 630W
    Keyboard Logitech G PRO
    Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
    Headset Asus Cerberus Gaming Headset
    Mouse Pad Steelseries DEX
    Headset/Speakers ASUS Cerberus/Genius SP-HF500A
    OS Windows 10 PRO

    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Z170 Pro Gaming / Aura have firmware TPM 2.0. You only need to switch to it in UEFI. I just done it.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Most likely you can activate it

    Quote Originally Posted by valant View Post
    How can I enable or update to TPM 2.0 , so I can install Windows 11 ?
    I have a z170 pro gaming mobo aswell with bios 3805 along with an i7 6700k. Go into the bios-> advanced mode-> advanced tab-> PCH-FW configuration. You can either select discrete TPM ( which is no TPM) or Firmware TPM (which is TPM 2.0 as far as i can tell). I highly suggest tho to not change it to firmware TPM until its really necessary since this feature does something with encryptions like bitlocker etc.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •