Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array Praful Kapadia PC Specs
    Praful Kapadia PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero Alpha
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)32GB (Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000MHz)
    Storage #1WD Black SN750 2TB
    Storage #2WD Black SN750 2TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 120V v2
    CaseNexus Breeze (2005)
    Keyboard Microsoft Comfort Curve 2000
    Mouse Microsoft Wireless Mobile Mouse 3500
    OS Windows 10 21H1

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Exclamation Maximus VIII Hero Alpha and TPM - PTT not exposed in BIOS

    About five years ago, I built a PC with the Maximus VIII Hero Alpha mobo. It's been great. With an i7-6700K, 32GB RAM, and a 2TB Nvme SSD, it runs Windows 10. I use the desktop for all kinds of things but mainly development and photo editing. I often have about 20 apps open, including WSL. The machine is fast - even a "heavy" app like Visual Studio Code starts instantaneously!

    So when I learnt Windows 11 requires TPM 2.0, I realised I wouldn't be able to run the OS. The mobo doesn't include a header for a TPM chip or the PTT BIOS setting.

    On reading more, I learnt that my mobo's chipset is the Intel Z170 Chipset. This includes PTT (Platform Trust Technology), which "supports all Microsoft requirements for firmware Trusted Platform Module (fTPM) 2.0".

    So, in theory, my mobo supports TPM 2.0 via firmware even though it doesn't have a TPM chip or an expansion slot for a TPM card. Unfortunately, as I said, the BIOS doesn't expose the PTT setting!

    It turns out that it's not unusual for PTT support to be not exposed by the BIOS of some mobos, according to this Ars Technica article.

    Putting the Win 11 requirements to one side, I'd like TPM because I have bitlockered my C drive. A lot of people don't realise that you don't need TPM for that. All that happens is that when you boot up, you're asked for the bitlocker password. You can daisy chain other bitlockered drives onto the C drive so you don't need to enter their passwords. It all works well.

    My question is: why didn't Asus expose the PTT setting for chipsets that support it? My guess is that it's just a switch at bootup. Moreover, would Asus consider issuing new BIOS firmware with PTT enabled? They don't need to provide a UI in the BIOS (if that's too much work) but just provide the same firmware with PTT enabled. Those that want it can install the update; those that don't can ignore it.

    Of course, that may not allow people like me with a 6th gen CPU to run Win11 but it would still be handy for bitlocker.

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array Zeneren PC Specs
    Zeneren PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero Alpha Bios v. 3801
    ProcessorI7 6700K
    Memory (part number)32 GB of G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZ
    Graphics Card #1ASUS RTX 2080 TI dual
    Graphics Card #2GIGABYTE GTX 770 4GB
    Sound CardCreative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Series PCI-E
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG27UQ
    Storage #1Samsung 512GB 970 PRO PCIe x4 NVMe
    Storage #22x 10k RPM RAID 0 WD HDD
    CPU CoolerThermalright macho rev.a (BW)
    CaseCooler Master COSMOS SE
    Power SupplySilverStone ST1300-TI (because i am a nerd :D)
    Keyboard ASUS ROG Claymore
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500
    OS Win 10 Pro x64
    Accessory #1 2nd Asus ROG Swift PG27UQ
    Accessory #2 3rd Asus ROG Swift PG27UQ
    Accessory #3 4th display LG L226WA

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Shameless bump for more attention as i am interested in this as well.
    Last edited by Zeneren; 11-13-2021 at 02:38 AM.
    Regards
    Z.

  3. #3
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse ROG Chakram Core
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    Mouse Pad Steelseries QCK Prism XL
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,629

    Hi guys,

    I'm on a Maximus IX Code and my board supports the TPM module feature.

    I'm not sure about the Maximus VIII but you can check if it does....

    Go into the bios - Advanced Tab - PCH-FW Configuration - PTT Configuration - Set TPM Device Selection to PTT

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array Zeneren PC Specs
    Zeneren PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero Alpha Bios v. 3801
    ProcessorI7 6700K
    Memory (part number)32 GB of G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZ
    Graphics Card #1ASUS RTX 2080 TI dual
    Graphics Card #2GIGABYTE GTX 770 4GB
    Sound CardCreative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Series PCI-E
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG27UQ
    Storage #1Samsung 512GB 970 PRO PCIe x4 NVMe
    Storage #22x 10k RPM RAID 0 WD HDD
    CPU CoolerThermalright macho rev.a (BW)
    CaseCooler Master COSMOS SE
    Power SupplySilverStone ST1300-TI (because i am a nerd :D)
    Keyboard ASUS ROG Claymore
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500
    OS Win 10 Pro x64
    Accessory #1 2nd Asus ROG Swift PG27UQ
    Accessory #2 3rd Asus ROG Swift PG27UQ
    Accessory #3 4th display LG L226WA

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Hey thanks for reply,

    To answer your question Nate152, there is no option for PCH-FW Configuration at all in advance tab on latest BIOS Version 3801.
    Regards
    Z.

  5. #5
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse ROG Chakram Core
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    Mouse Pad Steelseries QCK Prism XL
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,629


  6. #6
    ROG Member Array Zeneren PC Specs
    Zeneren PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero Alpha Bios v. 3801
    ProcessorI7 6700K
    Memory (part number)32 GB of G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZ
    Graphics Card #1ASUS RTX 2080 TI dual
    Graphics Card #2GIGABYTE GTX 770 4GB
    Sound CardCreative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Series PCI-E
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG27UQ
    Storage #1Samsung 512GB 970 PRO PCIe x4 NVMe
    Storage #22x 10k RPM RAID 0 WD HDD
    CPU CoolerThermalright macho rev.a (BW)
    CaseCooler Master COSMOS SE
    Power SupplySilverStone ST1300-TI (because i am a nerd :D)
    Keyboard ASUS ROG Claymore
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500
    OS Win 10 Pro x64
    Accessory #1 2nd Asus ROG Swift PG27UQ
    Accessory #2 3rd Asus ROG Swift PG27UQ
    Accessory #3 4th display LG L226WA

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hey,

    Yeah i know the site:
    https://www.asus.com/microsite/mothe...s-Win11-ready/

    There is a Z170 chipset in there, but ROG Maximus VIII Hero Alpha is not listed in there despite the fact it should support TPE 2.0 by default as Intel I7 6700K or 7700K, both supported by that MoBo, are able to.

    The issue is that Z170 on I7 6700K should still be a "powerhouse" in Win 11 environment and the main issue is that BIOS is not letting me to enable it in any way. An update to BIOS would be great...

    ps. From what i've reserched Maximus VIII Hero has a place on MoBo for a TPM 2.0 Module:
    https://www.asus.com/Motherboards-Co...lpDesk_Manual/
    Hero Alpha version does not...
    Last edited by Zeneren; 11-17-2021 at 05:57 PM.
    Regards
    Z.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array Gus.Ghanem PC Specs
    Gus.Ghanem PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Z170-A
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6700K
    OS Microsoft Windows 10/11

    Join Date
    Jun 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Read my thread here: https://www.win-raid.com/t9091f2705-...therboard.html
    It's a bit technical, so be careful. I had to do this to enable PTT/TPM 2.0 on my Asus Z170-A motherboard.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array Zeneren PC Specs
    Zeneren PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero Alpha Bios v. 3801
    ProcessorI7 6700K
    Memory (part number)32 GB of G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZ
    Graphics Card #1ASUS RTX 2080 TI dual
    Graphics Card #2GIGABYTE GTX 770 4GB
    Sound CardCreative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Series PCI-E
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG27UQ
    Storage #1Samsung 512GB 970 PRO PCIe x4 NVMe
    Storage #22x 10k RPM RAID 0 WD HDD
    CPU CoolerThermalright macho rev.a (BW)
    CaseCooler Master COSMOS SE
    Power SupplySilverStone ST1300-TI (because i am a nerd :D)
    Keyboard ASUS ROG Claymore
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500
    OS Win 10 Pro x64
    Accessory #1 2nd Asus ROG Swift PG27UQ
    Accessory #2 3rd Asus ROG Swift PG27UQ
    Accessory #3 4th display LG L226WA

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Quote Originally Posted by Gus.Ghanem View Post
    Read my thread here: https://www.win-raid.com/t9091f2705-...therboard.html
    It's a bit technical, so be careful. I had to do this to enable PTT/TPM 2.0 on my Asus Z170-A motherboard.
    Would be nice to get an official BIOS update with this configuration, if it is possible on Maximus VIII Hero Alpha, as you just presented it can be done.
    Regards
    Z.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array Praful Kapadia PC Specs
    Praful Kapadia PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero Alpha
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)32GB (Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000MHz)
    Storage #1WD Black SN750 2TB
    Storage #2WD Black SN750 2TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 120V v2
    CaseNexus Breeze (2005)
    Keyboard Microsoft Comfort Curve 2000
    Mouse Microsoft Wireless Mobile Mouse 3500
    OS Windows 10 21H1

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by Zeneren View Post
    Would be nice to get an official BIOS update with this configuration, if it is possible on Maximus VIII Hero Alpha, as you just presented it can be done.
    I'm running the latest dev previous Windows 11 in a VM under Hyper-V and it's fairly fast on my PC.

    Microsoft have provided ways to install Windows 11 on hardware that doesn't meet the compatibility requirements, eg here. As mentioned above, the Maximus VIII Hero Alpha with 6700K CPU is easily fast enough to run Windows 11.

    I run Bitlocker and have to enter a password every time I reboot because the MB doesn't have TPM. It would be nice to have it enabled in the BIOS even if Windows 11 isn't going to be installed.

    As illustrated in the link by @Gus.Ghanem, TPM can be enabled. This seems a fairly trivial change.

    Can someone from ASUS please respond.

    Thanks

    Praful

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •