Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Lightbulb M.2 Maximus XIII Hero questions

    Hello all,

    building a new PC - For the components, I will need to install -

    Intel 11900K CPU
    A NVIDIA GTX 3090
    One Gen 4 M.2
    One Gen 3 M.2
    = And an Elgato 4K60 Pro capture card.

    Can i install all these while keeping the GPU at 16x, or is this too many items?

    I know i can use the Gen 4 in the M.2_1 Slot and Maybe the second M.2 in the M.2_3 Slot,

    But will adding another PCI card lower the transfer rate of the GPU?

    Thanks in advance!! Sometimes it seems like Rubik wrote their MB manuals....

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    So after further investigation:

    I need an 11th gen CPU, my 3090 in PCIEX16_1
    Then the Gen 4 M.2 in M.2_1
    Then the Gen 3 M.2 in M.2_3

    Then the Capture card in PCIEX_3 at 2x to keep all SATAs open.

    Correct?



    Quote Originally Posted by ajbrutico View Post
    Hello all,

    building a new PC - For the components, I will need to install -

    Intel 11900K CPU
    A NVIDIA GTX 3090
    One Gen 4 M.2
    One Gen 3 M.2
    = And an Elgato 4K60 Pro capture card.

    Can i install all these while keeping the GPU at 16x, or is this too many items?

    I know i can use the Gen 4 in the M.2_1 Slot and Maybe the second M.2 in the M.2_3 Slot,

    But will adding another PCI card lower the transfer rate of the GPU?

    Thanks in advance!! Sometimes it seems like Rubik wrote their MB manuals....

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array Grimpak PC Specs
    Grimpak PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VIII Impact
    ProcessorR7 5800x3D
    Memory (part number)Kingston Fury Renegade 2x16gb 3600mhz KF436C16RB1K2/32
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire 6900XT Toxic air cooled
    Sound CardSteelseries GameDac
    MonitorPhillips 328E/00
    Storage #1Crucial P5 Plus 1tb
    Storage #2Kioxia Exceria G2 2tb
    CPU CoolerPhanteks Glacier 1 280 MP
    CasePhanteks P200A DRGB
    Power SupplyCooler Master V series Gold V2 850w
    Keyboard Steelseries Apex Pro
    Mouse Steelseries Rival 710
    Headset Steelseries Arctis pro
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Qck Heavy XL
    Headset/Speakers Trust Thorne

    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    69

    are you using all the sata ports? if not, turn them off to keep the capture card at 4x.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Unfortunately I need 3 Sata ports so I have to leave at 2x

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array sl910 PC Specs
    sl910 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus 13 Hero PCB 1.02
    ProcessorIntel i9 11900K
    Memory (part number)Crucial 64 GB 3200MHz (4x16GB, CL22)
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia RTX 3090 Founders Edition
    Storage #1Samsung NVMe 980 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung NVMe 970 EVO Plus 2TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S chromax.black
    CaseLian-Li PC-A61WX
    Power SupplySeasonic PRIME TX-1000
    Keyboard Microsoft Wired Keyboard 600
    Mouse Microsoft Clasic Intellimouse
    OS Windows 11 Pro FR 21H2

    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    38

    On this MB there are so many USB headersd and ports that you can use an external dock (not a NAS) for SATA disks, connect it on one intel 10GB/s ports. It works very well, including the power saving function. This is what I decided to do. So I have disabled the intel SATA controller in the BIOS. For the external dock, I bought a QNAP TR-002. It doesn't need any driver.

    Regards

    sl910

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •