Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    GPU not detected in BIOS (but it is in Windows) with ROG STRIX Z590-E GAMING WIFI

    Hi,

    My 8 years old PC died the other day so I decided to finally move to a m.2 capable config and picked a 'ROG STRIX Z590-E GAMING WIFI' motherboard. I only kept the PSU (600W CoolerMaster) and the GPU (GIGABYTE NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080) from the old setup, everything else (CPU: 10700K, memory: 2x16G DDR4, m.2 system drive) is new otherwise.

    Interestingly once I put everything together and moved the GPU the PC turned on but then got stuck with a d6 Q code. I looked it up in the manual and said it could not found an output device. I then tried with a GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 1070 but that didn't work either. I didn't had a boot device set up at this point because I wanted to have a fresh install on the m.2. If I connected my monitor to the on board output then I could finally see the BIOS and everything. I then connected the old SSD and booted up the old Windows install and surprisingly in Windows it could detect and use the NVIDIA card.

    I did a lot of Googling and did find the graphics to be set to use the CPU video in the BIOS but even after changing it to PCIE it didn't seem to make a difference and the next time I found it set back to CPU. I tried replacing the PSU to a 750W one in case it wasn't getting enough power at boot time but that didn't work either.

    Any idea what can be wrong here? Could it be just a setting or the mb can be faulty?

    Thanks,
    Peter

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array morph. PC Specs
    morph. PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MacBook Pro 13" i5, Surface Pro X
    MotherboardROG Maximus XII Formula
    Processori9-11900K SP85 @5.4-5.2Ghz
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL F4-4000C14D-32GTES (2x16) @3866MHz 14-14-14-28
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix RTX3090oc
    MonitorROG Swift PG279QM
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB NVMe
    CPU CoolerEK Quantum Velocity Nickel Plexi 2x PE360 and 1x SE360 Radiator
    CaseLian Li PC-O11DXL-W
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1000
    Keyboard SteelSeries Apex Pro
    Mouse Glorious Model O Wireless
    Headset SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad ROG Sheath BLK LTD
    OS Windows 11 Pro
    Network RouterBillion BiPAC 8800AXL
    Accessory #1 EK Quantum Vector Strix Waterblock w/ Active Backplate
    Accessory #2 EK Quantum Reflection D5 Distroplate
    Accessory #3 EK Quantum Momentum VRM Bridge
    morph.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    24
    Posts
    117

    Are you running any riser cable?

    Hard set the pcie generation to 3.0 in the bios.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Hi,

    I'm using standard 3ft long DP cables. Same cable was used to connect to the CPU VGA and that works.

    I've set it to Gen3 but no difference.

    Thanks,
    Peter

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Jesseinsf PC Specs
    Jesseinsf PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)N/A
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Extreme (Z390)
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 9900K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMW128GX4M4E3200C16 - 128GB (4x32)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA - GeForce RTX 2080 Ti FE
    Sound CardOnboard TOSLINK to powered speakers
    MonitorMSI Creator PS321URV (32 in 4k HDR600)
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro M.2 PCIe SSD 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro M.2 PCIe SSD 1TB
    CPU CoolerLian Li Galahad 360 (3x Uni fan SL120)
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic XL Black (ROG Certified)
    Power SupplyCooler Master V1200 Platinum
    Keyboard RAZER HUNTSMAN ELITE - LINEAR OPTICAL SWITCH (Red) w/ PBT Keycaps
    Mouse Razer Basilisk Ultimate with Charging Dock
    Headset Bowers and Wilkins P9 Signature
    Mouse Pad LOFTMAT (16x13 inch) Cushioned Gaming Mat - "The Gaming Slim"
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo Transparent One Encore with Rel HT/1003 Subwoofer
    OS Windows 11 Pro for Workstations 64-bit
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AC5300 (Using Spectrum 400MB service)
    Accessory #1 Microsoft Xbox Elite Wireless Controller Series 2
    Accessory #2 2x Logitech BRIO ULTRA HD PRO WEBCAM
    Accessory #3 7 Uni Fan SL120 fans for PC case
    Jesseinsf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    45
    Posts
    389

    Have you tried the other GPU slot for testing purposes?

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    I've tried slot 2 with the 1080 card but only tried slot 1 with the 1070 one but no combination worked so far.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Jesseinsf PC Specs
    Jesseinsf PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)N/A
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Extreme (Z390)
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 9900K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMW128GX4M4E3200C16 - 128GB (4x32)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA - GeForce RTX 2080 Ti FE
    Sound CardOnboard TOSLINK to powered speakers
    MonitorMSI Creator PS321URV (32 in 4k HDR600)
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro M.2 PCIe SSD 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro M.2 PCIe SSD 1TB
    CPU CoolerLian Li Galahad 360 (3x Uni fan SL120)
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic XL Black (ROG Certified)
    Power SupplyCooler Master V1200 Platinum
    Keyboard RAZER HUNTSMAN ELITE - LINEAR OPTICAL SWITCH (Red) w/ PBT Keycaps
    Mouse Razer Basilisk Ultimate with Charging Dock
    Headset Bowers and Wilkins P9 Signature
    Mouse Pad LOFTMAT (16x13 inch) Cushioned Gaming Mat - "The Gaming Slim"
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo Transparent One Encore with Rel HT/1003 Subwoofer
    OS Windows 11 Pro for Workstations 64-bit
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AC5300 (Using Spectrum 400MB service)
    Accessory #1 Microsoft Xbox Elite Wireless Controller Series 2
    Accessory #2 2x Logitech BRIO ULTRA HD PRO WEBCAM
    Accessory #3 7 Uni Fan SL120 fans for PC case
    Jesseinsf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    45
    Posts
    389

    Quote Originally Posted by petholla View Post
    I've tried slot 2 with the 1080 card but only tried slot 1 with the 1070 one but no combination worked so far.
    I'm smelling a manufacturer compatibility issue. If this isn't true then the motherboard is a dud.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    I opened a case with ASUS and they recommended to do a bunch of reseats, restarts, BIOS updates, etc which I have all done already and then to return the mobo if it was still not working so I did and got an MSI one with the same chipset and it has the same issue. Is it possible that these video cards (both are about 5 years old,
    both GIGABYTE (GTX 1080 and 1070) cards don't like the Z590 chipset for some reason? The weird thing is that once Windows is up with it's own driver everything works as expected.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    I found the issue! I had a hunch that it might be something about the video card firmware and after some googling I found an nvidia page about older cards not being compatible with DP1.3 and DP1.4 and that 'Without the update, systems that are connected to a DisplayPort 1.3 / 1.4 monitor could experience blank screens on boot until the OS loads, or could experience a hang on boot.' which is exactly what my issue was! After I updated the f/w I can get to the BIOS as expected! I just wanted to share this for the archives in case anyone will have the same issue in the future. See the nvidia link below.

    https://www.nvidia.com/en-us/drivers...fi-update-x64/

    Thanks,
    Peter

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Jesseinsf PC Specs
    Jesseinsf PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)N/A
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Extreme (Z390)
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 9900K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMW128GX4M4E3200C16 - 128GB (4x32)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA - GeForce RTX 2080 Ti FE
    Sound CardOnboard TOSLINK to powered speakers
    MonitorMSI Creator PS321URV (32 in 4k HDR600)
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro M.2 PCIe SSD 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro M.2 PCIe SSD 1TB
    CPU CoolerLian Li Galahad 360 (3x Uni fan SL120)
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic XL Black (ROG Certified)
    Power SupplyCooler Master V1200 Platinum
    Keyboard RAZER HUNTSMAN ELITE - LINEAR OPTICAL SWITCH (Red) w/ PBT Keycaps
    Mouse Razer Basilisk Ultimate with Charging Dock
    Headset Bowers and Wilkins P9 Signature
    Mouse Pad LOFTMAT (16x13 inch) Cushioned Gaming Mat - "The Gaming Slim"
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo Transparent One Encore with Rel HT/1003 Subwoofer
    OS Windows 11 Pro for Workstations 64-bit
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AC5300 (Using Spectrum 400MB service)
    Accessory #1 Microsoft Xbox Elite Wireless Controller Series 2
    Accessory #2 2x Logitech BRIO ULTRA HD PRO WEBCAM
    Accessory #3 7 Uni Fan SL120 fans for PC case
    Jesseinsf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    45
    Posts
    389

    Quote Originally Posted by petholla View Post
    I opened a case with ASUS and they recommended to do a bunch of reseats, restarts, BIOS updates, etc which I have all done already and then to return the mobo if it was still not working so I did and got an MSI one with the same chipset and it has the same issue. Is it possible that these video cards (both are about 5 years old,
    both GIGABYTE (GTX 1080 and 1070) cards don't like the Z590 chipset for some reason? The weird thing is that once Windows is up with it's own driver everything works as expected.
    How do you have it connected? Is the PCIe power from the PSU connected properly? And, is it seated in the slot firmly? Have you checked to see if the VBIOS was updated. There may be an issue with that model on that chipset.

    Check for latest VBIOS:

    VGA Bios Collection | TechPowerUp

    You will need NVFlash to update the VBIOS:

    NVIDIA NVFlash (5.692.0) Download | TechPowerUp

    If you use GPU-Z there is a feature that you can click on that will take you to the correct VBIOS Download page:

    TechPowerUp GPU-Z (v2.40.0) Download | TechPowerUp
    Last edited by Jesseinsf; 07-08-2021 at 08:31 AM.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Quote Originally Posted by petholla View Post
    I found the issue! I had a hunch that it might be something about the video card firmware and after some googling I found an nvidia page about older cards not being compatible with DP1.3 and DP1.4 and that 'Without the update, systems that are connected to a DisplayPort 1.3 / 1.4 monitor could experience blank screens on boot until the OS loads, or could experience a hang on boot.' which is exactly what my issue was! After I updated the f/w I can get to the BIOS as expected! I just wanted to share this for the archives in case anyone will have the same issue in the future. See the nvidia link below.

    https://www.nvidia.com/en-us/drivers...fi-update-x64/

    Thanks,
    Peter

    Where's that upvote button?!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •