Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    X470 Strix NO BIOS access , WIn10 boots OK , please help

    I made the mistake of disabling CMS and fast boot.
    PC worked fine before change no issues for years.

    F2 or DEL can't get into BIOS. Screen shows nothing but ALWAYS loads win10 OK
    So Far I did the following:

    (first removed all cables , disconnected power cable before steps below)

    Clear CMOS with Jumper
    Removed battery for 5min , and shorted jumper
    Try PS2 keyboard F2 and DEL

    Try to get into BIOS through WIN10 troubleshoot/advance, same thing, it boots back up into windows

    PC always boots into windows, Monitor shows no message until windows is loaded.

    LED stays white and beeps indicate GPU error 1 long 3 short beeps . After Windows loads, everything works as expected.


    Anything else to try ???

    thanks
    Last edited by vlsixx; 07-07-2021 at 09:39 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array AfterShock PC Specs
    AfterShock PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VIII Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 5900x
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14-16GFX
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 3080 ti xc3
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorAsus VE278Q
    Storage #1Corsair MP500 M.2
    Storage #2Samsung SSD 970 EVO Plus 2TB
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X3
    Casecorsair crystal 570x
    Power SupplyCORSAIR RMx Series 850W
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe mk2
    Mouse Logitech G903
    Headset Raze Nari Ultimate
    Mouse Pad Logitech PowerPlay
    OS Windows 11
    Network RouterNetgear NightHawk R7000

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    62

    Quote Originally Posted by vlsixx View Post
    I made the mistake of disabling CMS and fast boot.
    PC worked fine before change no issues for years.

    F2 or DEL can't get into BIOS. Screen shows nothing but ALWAYS loads win10 OK
    So Far I did the following:

    (first removed all cables , disconnected power cable before steps below)

    Clear CMOS with Jumper
    Removed battery for 5min , and shorted jumper
    Try PS2 keyboard F2 and DEL

    Try to get into BIOS through WIN10 troubleshoot/advance, same thing, it boots back up into windows

    PC always boots into windows, Monitor shows no message until windows is loaded.

    LED stays white and beeps indicate GPU error 1 long 3 short beeps . After Windows loads, everything works as expected.


    Anything else to try ???

    thanks
    You could try reseating the graphics card , are you using display port or HDMI cable? The last and most painful option would be to shut off the power and remove the cpu from the socket then reinstall, this will force the mobo into bios as it will think you installed a new cpu, that CMS feature needs to be removed from the bios options as it is incompatible and obsolete, I will search around and see if I find anything else. Does that mobo have bios flashback?

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 11 64bit Pro
    Network RouterPfSence Intel i5-10210U 6 Port
    Accessory #1 TP-Link Gigabit 8&6 Port Switches

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    66
    Posts
    1,358

    Try this guide How to access UEFI (BIOS) using Settings
    https://www.windowscentral.com/how-e...windows-10-pcs

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by AfterShock View Post
    You could try reseating the graphics card , are you using display port or HDMI cable? The last and most painful option would be to shut off the power and remove the cpu from the socket then reinstall, this will force the mobo into bios as it will think you installed a new cpu, that CMS feature needs to be removed from the bios options as it is incompatible and obsolete, I will search around and see if I find anything else. Does that mobo have bios flashback?
    No Bios flashback . I will appreciate if you can find something else. My search found nothing . Are you sure removing the cpu ignores the bios previous settings?

    thanks

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 11 64bit Pro
    Network RouterPfSence Intel i5-10210U 6 Port
    Accessory #1 TP-Link Gigabit 8&6 Port Switches

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    66
    Posts
    1,358

    Did you try what I posted ?

    You can reset the bios, not even hard, just remove the power and CR2032 Battery for minute or so.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Please read what I already did on original post

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by RedSector73 View Post
    Did you try what I posted ?

    You can reset the bios, not even hard, just remove the power and CR2032 Battery for minute or so.
    Sorry, I haven't try the video card or CPU yet

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array Swallowtail23 PC Specs
    Swallowtail23 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Strix X570E Gaming
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen9 5900X
    Memory (part number)4 x 16GB G Skill 3600 C16
    Graphics Card #1Asus Tuf Gaming OC RTX3080 Ti
    MonitorSamsung CRG90 49" Ultrawide
    Storage #1Adata SX8200 500GB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U12 chromax.black
    CaseLian Li LanCool 2 Mesh Perfomance
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850X
    Headset/Speakers Edifier B8

    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Try HDMI connection to monitor instead of DisplayPort.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •