Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array Swiso PC Specs
    Swiso PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage Extreme V 3.1
    Processori7 5930K
    Memory (part number)CMD32GX4M4B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 980Ti Classified
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 980Ti Classified
    MonitorNEC 30" LCD3090 Wqxi
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseLian-Li PC-V2120X
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Das Keyboard
    Mouse Steelseries Sensei
    Headset Beyerdnamic MMX 300
    Headset/Speakers CREATIVE GigaWorks T40 Series II
    OS Win 10 Pro - Linux Mint 17.3
    Accessory #1 Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    Accessory #2 ASUS BW-16D1HT
    Accessory #3 WD Caviar Black 2TB

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    43

    Question Zenith II Extreme Alpha M2_1 to AHCI ?

    Hi,
    I have installed as a main drive (OS) on M2_1 a 1TB ADATA XPG Gammix S70.
    It is running fine.
    I just saw that there is a firmware update for this drive.
    Attached are the instructions on how to update it.
    They say that I must set the drive to AHCI on the BIOS.
    How you do that ?
    I am wrong or this is not possible in this board ?
    I've checked and I don't see the possibility to change that setting in the BIOS....
    Any suggestion ?
    Thanks !

    EDIT: I see the warning on the instructions about the backup...that is understood.
    Archivos Adjuntos

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array KraZy_SkitZy PC Specs
    KraZy_SkitZy PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Gt80s 6qe
    MotherboardZenith Extreme x399
    Processor2950x
    Graphics Card #1Asus tuf 6900 xt
    Storage #1Samsung 970 evo 512gb
    Storage #2Adata s11 2tb

    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Unless your running in raid your default will be ahci. So don't sweat it unless you've enabled raid, if so you may hafta disable raid, can be more hassle than its worth depending on your raid setup if enabled.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array Swiso PC Specs
    Swiso PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage Extreme V 3.1
    Processori7 5930K
    Memory (part number)CMD32GX4M4B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 980Ti Classified
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 980Ti Classified
    MonitorNEC 30" LCD3090 Wqxi
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseLian-Li PC-V2120X
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Das Keyboard
    Mouse Steelseries Sensei
    Headset Beyerdnamic MMX 300
    Headset/Speakers CREATIVE GigaWorks T40 Series II
    OS Win 10 Pro - Linux Mint 17.3
    Accessory #1 Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    Accessory #2 ASUS BW-16D1HT
    Accessory #3 WD Caviar Black 2TB

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    43

    Quote Originally Posted by KraZy_SkitZy View Post
    Unless your running in raid your default will be ahci. So don't sweat it unless you've enabled raid, if so you may hafta disable raid, can be more hassle than its worth depending on your raid setup if enabled.
    Hello and thank you.
    No, I don't have any RAID setup...

    Strangely even Sabrent Rocket Control panel don't show any Sabrent Rocket Plus M2 drives...
    Don't know what could prevent these programs to see the drives...
    Any idea ?

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array KraZy_SkitZy PC Specs
    KraZy_SkitZy PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Gt80s 6qe
    MotherboardZenith Extreme x399
    Processor2950x
    Graphics Card #1Asus tuf 6900 xt
    Storage #1Samsung 970 evo 512gb
    Storage #2Adata s11 2tb

    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Make sure your not running any specialty nvme drivers, like amds specific ones only run windows basic ones and sometimes an anti-virus can prevent a hard drive from being seen by programs. Also caching programs like amds storemi will prevent proper hard drive recognition and firmware updates.
    Last edited by KraZy_SkitZy; 07-20-2021 at 09:11 AM.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array Swiso PC Specs
    Swiso PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage Extreme V 3.1
    Processori7 5930K
    Memory (part number)CMD32GX4M4B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 980Ti Classified
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 980Ti Classified
    MonitorNEC 30" LCD3090 Wqxi
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseLian-Li PC-V2120X
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Das Keyboard
    Mouse Steelseries Sensei
    Headset Beyerdnamic MMX 300
    Headset/Speakers CREATIVE GigaWorks T40 Series II
    OS Win 10 Pro - Linux Mint 17.3
    Accessory #1 Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    Accessory #2 ASUS BW-16D1HT
    Accessory #3 WD Caviar Black 2TB

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    43

    Quote Originally Posted by KraZy_SkitZy View Post
    Make sure your not running any specialty nvme drivers, like amds specific ones only run windows basic ones and sometimes an anti-virus can prevent a hard drive from being seen by programs. Also caching programs like amds storemi will prevent proper hard drive recognition and firmware updates.
    Thanks for the help !

    I have checked on "devices management" and all the M2 drives have the same driver installed:

    Nome driver: disk.inf
    GUID classe: {4d36e967-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318}
    Data driver: 06/21/2006
    Versione driver: 10.0.19041.789
    Provider driver: Microsoft
    Sezione driver: disk_install.NT
    Classificazione driver: 0xFF0005
    ID dispositivo corrispondente: GenDisk
    Driver prioritari:
    Aggiornamento dispositivo: false
    Dispositivo padre: {54cb850d-a731-8590-0628-1992592bd448}\rcbottom\7&6331a07&0&524287 the Italic number differ for each drive, but driver version and provider is the same for each drive.

    Antivirus... my PC and my wife PC have the same antivirus....on her PC this program run fine...
    Really have no idea what could be the cause....

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array KraZy_SkitZy PC Specs
    KraZy_SkitZy PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Gt80s 6qe
    MotherboardZenith Extreme x399
    Processor2950x
    Graphics Card #1Asus tuf 6900 xt
    Storage #1Samsung 970 evo 512gb
    Storage #2Adata s11 2tb

    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Maybe try running the programs as "administrator"

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array Swiso PC Specs
    Swiso PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage Extreme V 3.1
    Processori7 5930K
    Memory (part number)CMD32GX4M4B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 980Ti Classified
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 980Ti Classified
    MonitorNEC 30" LCD3090 Wqxi
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseLian-Li PC-V2120X
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Das Keyboard
    Mouse Steelseries Sensei
    Headset Beyerdnamic MMX 300
    Headset/Speakers CREATIVE GigaWorks T40 Series II
    OS Win 10 Pro - Linux Mint 17.3
    Accessory #1 Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    Accessory #2 ASUS BW-16D1HT
    Accessory #3 WD Caviar Black 2TB

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    43

    Done that already...no difference.

    "Interestingly" even CristalDiskInfo see only two HDD and an old Samsung 850 Pro, but not the M2 drives...q

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array KraZy_SkitZy PC Specs
    KraZy_SkitZy PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Gt80s 6qe
    MotherboardZenith Extreme x399
    Processor2950x
    Graphics Card #1Asus tuf 6900 xt
    Storage #1Samsung 970 evo 512gb
    Storage #2Adata s11 2tb

    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Silly question, but are the drives formatted and usable in windows explorer? Run computer management, then goto disk management and see if they are partitioned and formatted

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 11 64bit Pro
    Network RouterPfSence Intel i5-10210U 6 Port
    Accessory #1 TP-Link Gigabit 8&6 Port Switches

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    1,229

    Just check that in ACHI mode

    In the BIOS goto Advanced <- SATA Configuration <- SATA Mode and make sure ACHI has been selected. (I think it is default mode)

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array Swiso PC Specs
    Swiso PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage Extreme V 3.1
    Processori7 5930K
    Memory (part number)CMD32GX4M4B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 980Ti Classified
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 980Ti Classified
    MonitorNEC 30" LCD3090 Wqxi
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseLian-Li PC-V2120X
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Das Keyboard
    Mouse Steelseries Sensei
    Headset Beyerdnamic MMX 300
    Headset/Speakers CREATIVE GigaWorks T40 Series II
    OS Win 10 Pro - Linux Mint 17.3
    Accessory #1 Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    Accessory #2 ASUS BW-16D1HT
    Accessory #3 WD Caviar Black 2TB

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    43

    Quote Originally Posted by KraZy_SkitZy View Post
    Silly question, but are the drives formatted and usable in windows explorer? Run computer management, then goto disk management and see if they are partitioned and formatted
    Yes, I see them on windows...I have programs on them and run fine.
    On disk management I see all of them...they are all good.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •