Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 23 of 23
  1. #21
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 11 64bit Pro
    Network RouterPfSence Intel i5-10210U 6 Port
    Accessory #1 TP-Link Gigabit 8&6 Port Switches

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    1,231

    Quote Originally Posted by Godofmosquitoes View Post
    As far as I have read, Ryzen 5000 series runs best with all four ranks of memory being filled.

    Milky, as far as the RAM goes, yeah it seems to be different kits. Yours are of course also D-kits, whereas mine is a Q-kit. So they should be more compatible with each other, two d-kits might have small differences. Does running with any one of the two kits alone cause issues?
    Minor correction, ~imo these run best / are comparable to each other.
    4xSR (Single Rank)
    2xDR (Dual Rank)

    These are best with Ryzen.

  2. #22
    New ROGer Array Milkysunshine PC Specs
    Milkysunshine PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VIII DARK HERO | GIGABYTE AORUS z590 ELITE AX
    ProcessorAMD 5950x | Intel 11900k
    Memory (part number)64g Ballistix 3600 @ 3766 (BL16G36C16U4BL.M8FB1) | 64g Ballistix 3200 @ 3800 (BL16G32C16U4BL.M16FE)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS RTX 2070 Super Turbo | EVGA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB SC GAMING
    Storage #1WD SN850 1TB | Samsung 980 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Evo Plus 2TB | 6 x WD RED Nas Array
    CPU CoolerThermaltake 360 AIO | NZXT Kraken X53 240 AIO
    CaseCorsair 5000D Airflow | Fractal Design Define R5
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2 | EVGA SuperNOVA 750 GA
    Keyboard ASUS ROG STRIX FLARE | Generic Mechanical
    Mouse ASUS ROG GLADIUS II ORIGIN | Logitech G602

    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by Godofmosquitoes View Post
    As far as I have read, Ryzen 5000 series runs best with all four ranks of memory being filled.

    Milky, as far as the RAM goes, yeah it seems to be different kits. Yours are of course also D-kits, whereas mine is a Q-kit. So they should be more compatible with each other, two d-kits might have small differences. Does running with any one of the two kits alone cause issues?
    Ranks and slots are not the same thing. I have some 3600mhz ballistix 16g x 4 sticks that are DUAL rank each. So that's 8 total ranks. Those sticks are in my 11900k server system. Running all 4 of those on the Dark Hero only yielded roughly a 2%-4% memory benchmark decrease in various benchmarks running at exactly the same timings. I swapped to the single rank to see if it opened the 1900mhz hole, or allowed me to 1933 or above without wheas. Sadly, it did not. I even ordered a 32g kit of B-die to experiment with. Nearly the same cpu boundaries and results across the board. The B-die ended up in my son's computer. Clearly, my IMC can handle the ranks, but it can't handle the speed for whatever reason.


    Quote Originally Posted by RedSector73 View Post
    Minor correction, ~imo these run best / are comparable to each other.
    4xSR (Single Rank)
    2xDR (Dual Rank)

    These are best with Ryzen.
    Exactly as I understand it as well, and as my tests verified. It wasn't a huge margin, but there is definitely a benefit to running 4 ranks vs 2 or 8 if all other specs are equal.

    Plus, if you run 2 sticks you want slots 2 and 4, not 1 and 3.

  3. #23
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Godofmosquitoes PC Specs
    Godofmosquitoes PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell XPS 15 9570 8750H 4K, 16GB, 512GB
    MotherboardCrosshair VIII Dark Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 5950X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-64GVK
    Graphics Card #1MSI 3090 Gaming X Trio
    Sound CardSound BlasterX G6
    MonitorLG CX 48"
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 1TB
    Storage #21xSamsung 960 Pro 1TB, 1xSamsung 860 EVO 4TB, 1xCrucial MX300 2TB, 3xSeagate Archive 8TB
    CPU CoolerNZXT X63 4xNoctua NF-A14 PWM L.N.A. 1200RPM
    CaseFractal Design Define S2 XL
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB MX Silent
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Sennheiser GSP 500
    Headset/Speakers Bowers & Wilkins MM-1
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterASUS RT-AX88U

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    83

    Quote Originally Posted by Milkysunshine View Post
    Ranks and slots are not the same thing. I have some 3600mhz ballistix 16g x 4 sticks that are DUAL rank each. So that's 8 total ranks. Those sticks are in my 11900k server system. Running all 4 of those on the Dark Hero only yielded roughly a 2%-4% memory benchmark decrease in various benchmarks running at exactly the same timings. I swapped to the single rank to see if it opened the 1900mhz hole, or allowed me to 1933 or above without wheas. Sadly, it did not. I even ordered a 32g kit of B-die to experiment with. Nearly the same cpu boundaries and results across the board. The B-die ended up in my son's computer. Clearly, my IMC can handle the ranks, but it can't handle the speed for whatever reason.




    Exactly as I understand it as well, and as my tests verified. It wasn't a huge margin, but there is definitely a benefit to running 4 ranks vs 2 or 8 if all other specs are equal.

    Plus, if you run 2 sticks you want slots 2 and 4, not 1 and 3.
    Sure, it just seemed like Red meant slots and not ranks. But he clarified that. My F4-3200C14Q-64GVK kit is dual rank, and run without any issues. 4x16GB.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •