Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 46
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Max XI F: BIOS 1902/1903 issues with XMP

    After flashing BIOS 1902 or 1903 on my Maximus XI Formula, if I set it to utilize XMPI or II, the platform makes a number of attempts to boot, then boots into BIOS safe mode. I'm able to reproduce this even with all other BIOS settings at default.
    Flashing back to 1802, I have no issues.
    CPU: i9-9900KF
    Memory: Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer RGB 3000 MHz, 4 x 8GB CL15 BLT8G4D30AET4K
    Can provide more stats if needed.
    Last edited by BizSAR; 09-15-2021 at 06:48 PM.
    BizSAR

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Angry

    Quote Originally Posted by BizSAR View Post
    After flashing BIOS 1902 on my Maximus XI Formula, if I set it to utilize XMPI or II, the platform makes a number of attempts to boot, then boots into BIOS safe mode. I'm able to reproduce this even with all other BIOS settings at default.
    Flashing back to 1802, I have no issues.
    CPU: i9-9900KF
    Memory: Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer RGB 3000 MHz, 4 x 8GB CL15 BLT8G4D30AET4K
    Can provide more stats if needed.
    Same issue here, but on Maximus Hero XI , on both XMPI & II and thus far even trying to manually set my RAMs clocks causes the same behavior.

    I have 4x8GB of TridentZ RGB F4-3000c16D-16GTZR RAM that says XMP 2 right on the stick, as well as a I9-9900k.

    The timings that are set automatically by the board w/o selecting XMP are below the specs the sticks are rated for. No issues up until now. I also see with a curious search for "ASUS XMP" on Reddit/Google that other ppl seem to have been having similar issues with other boards in the last couple months, and seeing as we are the last to get this BIOs version (AFAIK) it might be a common thing. I'm not holding my breath on a speedy fix.
    Last edited by Jed2021; 07-27-2021 at 02:12 AM.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Ladies and gentlemen, please check 1903 BIOS and my thread. I belive Asus has fixed issues with voltage and XMP profiles https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...893#post839893

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Nope, issue still exists exactly the same here. Guess I'll try and contact ASUS at this point.
    BizSAR

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    38

    Just to be clear, you guys say 1901 hasn't had this issue, but 1902/03 does?
    I'm asking because I'm running on 1901 since its release and apart from slightly different memory timings I don't really have any issues. I probably shouldn't update to 1903 then?

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array klepp0906 PC Specs
    klepp0906 PC Specs
    MotherboardMAXIMUS X FORMULA
    Processor8770K
    Memory (part number)CMR16GX4M2C3600C18
    Graphics Card #12080TI
    Sound CardREALTEK/ONBOARD
    MonitorU2718Q
    Storage #1970 EVO PLUS 1TB
    Storage #2BARRACUDA 8TB X9
    CPU CoolerEK SUPREMACY/WATER
    Case900D
    Power SupplyNEX1500
    Keyboard BLACKWIDOW CHROMA V2
    Mouse NAGA TRINITY
    Headset TIAMAT V2
    Mouse Pad VESPULA V2
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO 1903
    Network RouterARRIS BGW210

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    62

    not those bios' as i use a X formula but starting with the beta/resize'able bar bios ive had to drop my ram from 3466 to 3200 to maintain stability. Ive ran 3466 for literally years without so much as a hiccup.

    started getting random memory corruption blue screens and macrium images began failing verification.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Quote Originally Posted by vvoid View Post
    Just to be clear, you guys say 1901 hasn't had this issue, but 1902/03 does?
    I'm asking because I'm running on 1901 since its release and apart from slightly different memory timings I don't really have any issues. I probably shouldn't update to 1903 then?
    I didn't try 1901 since it was a beta, then pulled.
    BizSAR

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    38

    See my thread on this. Are you sure it isn't just because of having TPM configured to "Discrete TPM". This doesn't work anymore, at least for my settings.

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    There is no "Discrete TPM" setting for the Maximus XI Formula. TPM is enabled in 1903, but for me, this issue occurs regardless of the TPM/PTT settings.
    BizSAR

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    38

    Well ok, I was assuming all the Z390 boards have this setting, Strix Z390-F here.
    For me it's under PCH-FW Configuration in Advanced settings...

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •