Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Asus dark hero startup issue ?

    Hi all
    I have a Asus Crosshair VIII DarkHhero ...with an AMD 5900X , 32gb of Gskils ram

    Had a few times over last few months since recieving board where the system wont power on.
    You press power switch on case and nothing .
    You press power button on motherboard ...nothing ....and its lit up white ...all rgb is working ( on when powered off )
    If i turn off PSU and back then power it back on ...system boots fine.
    It can then be fine for say 4 weeks ...then happen out the blue again.
    Was ok with old motherboard....so only things that have changed is MB and CPU.

    Tried reflashing bios back to earlier version ...no different.
    Had new graphics card since last time so rules that out.
    Tried taking ram sticks out ...no difference.

    Seems starnge how can run for weeks without issue ( but dont use it every day )

    Im using an EVGA supernova 850W PSU.

    Not major issue as all have to do is power off PSU and all good again ...but got to be something wrong.
    Asus say sounds like something tripping PSU protection ...will have to try unpluging 24 pin and 8 pin cables next time , then plug back in to see if motherboard or psu .

    Any help most appreciated.
    Karl

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Doco PC Specs
    Doco PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Dark Hero X570
    Processor5900x
    Memory (part number)TDPPD432G3200HC14ADC01
    Graphics Card #1980ti
    Sound CardXonar Phoebus
    MonitorLg27g850-b
    Storage #11tb 970 Evo Plus
    Storage #24tb Seagate HDD
    CPU CoolerEk Monblock
    CaseNzxt 820 Phantom
    Power SupplySeasonic X-850
    Keyboard Cyborg V7
    Mouse R.A.T. 7
    Headset HD650
    Mouse Pad XFX Warpad
    OS Windows 10
    Doco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    76

    When the motherboard doesn't turn on does any code show up on the leds on the top of the board that might help narrow down what the issue may be?
    i7-2700K @ 1.33v 4.6ghz/ Asus Maximus Extreme IV-Z
    Nzxt Phantom + Nzxt Havik 140
    His IceQ7950 3G/Corsair VX550
    Finally Updated to Windows 7!

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    42
    Posts
    1,215

    Turning off the PSU or needing to unplugging suggests you have a dead short problem, and it is clearly quite random. I would be looking for something like a power cord shorting in the system, doubt standoff screw.

    You didn't meantion cooling solution for the CPU. I would have a look here as well.

    Dodgy switch in case.
    Dodgy USB connector.
    Dodgy HDMI cable.
    Check you have all power cables fully seated on the motherboard / clipped. Inclusive the two EATX above cpu, top left of motherboard.

    Really hard to nail anything as random as 4 weeks ok then fault but the above is some of the areas I would start looking.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Hi
    There is no post codes coming up or lights underneath it ...just basically when press case switch or start button on motherboard ..it does nothing .
    As for cooler ...im using a Asus Ryujin 360 AIO
    Yes strange how its intermittent.
    Once working have no issues what so ever...can turn off and on all night ..no issues .
    I was going to try unplugging the extra 4 pin power connector at top of MB ...as heard its not really needed....worth a try as did not have that on my other board.
    Ill will check all power connections over weekend ...and maybe try upluging some usb headers ...but most of them are needed for ICUE fans etc ...but they never had issues with old setup .
    Only thing added on this board is a usb 3 header as case has usb 3 front ports ( lian li ) ...and old asus z170 deluxe MB didnt have that.
    Might unplug that .

    Many thanks
    Karl

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    42
    Posts
    1,215

    Quote Originally Posted by karlosfandango View Post
    I was going to try unplugging the extra 4 pin power connector at top of MB ...as heard its not really needed....worth a try as did not have that on my other board.
    Don't what you read isnt always true, it is needed. DOCP problems have been resolved directly by plugging both in and fair few other issues. BOTH is best and 100% certain this is not source issue for you.

    Just does not start up... case switch could be sus, try onboard on/off and see if this works. However if you must turn off power supply this normally indicates a dead short condition or even over-voltage / something is tripping PSU protection mechanism.
    Last edited by RedSector73; 07-29-2021 at 01:13 PM.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Hi
    Power switch on MB has same issue

    Karl

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    so would it be worth turning off power to usb ports when pc is shut down via bios ? thats if possible.... to elliminate usb ports ?
    Thanks
    Karl

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    ok ... so been thinking if had anything new after having new MB and CPU.
    All i can think of is i had a new Corsair K100 keyboard with nexus addon screen and
    new corsair wireless mouse about 3 weeks after getting MB up and running.
    Could the usb keyboard cause this issue ? or anything connected via usb may cause this ?

    Also if the PSU is in protection mode , would there be any power to MB ...as the RGB lights are still working ( have them set to on when MB is powered down )
    and also start button is lit up.

    I have been into bios and set usb power to off when in S5 state ...which guessing is powered down.

    Many thanks for the help
    Karl

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    right ..another update.
    So been trying pc and all seems fine ...so turned off pc and thought would power up straight away ....which it did ...but after 2 seconds i decided i wanted to power off again so held power button down ( pc hadnt even got to bios splash screen}
    PC would not do anything again.

    So tried disconning usb hub connectors , no change , tried 8 pin at top of board and red light came on next to it ...so plugged it back in ....tried 4 pin next to it ....still nothing when pressing power button on MB ( its lit up white and rgb logo still working )
    Tried disconning HDMI cable , usb cables for keyboard etc ...nothing .
    Tried removing power button from case to motherboard ...still nothing.
    Removed usb 3 header ...nothing.

    Only one forgot to try was usb 3.2 header ...think thats what it is.

    In the end i removed the 24 pin cable and reconnected ...press star button and away it went.

    Tried to replicate the issue by holding power button ...but wont happen now.

    Can ram overclock cause this ? as now put back to standard ...or auto.

    So basically i pulled the 24 pin to get working instead of turning psu off ....if psu protection ...would pulling 24 pin clear issue or would you still have to power psu off ??

    many thanks
    karl
    Last edited by karlosfandango; 07-29-2021 at 08:17 PM.

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    another update lol
    managed to replicate issue ....seems if leave pc on for a bit i can get it to do it.
    turn pc off ...started up then held power switch on case ..usually it will just restart pc ...but when happens pc will shut down and nothing will happen when you press button.
    so tried usb 3.2 or whatever it is lol ...still noting .
    so though , reset bios ....held in bios reset button for 10 seconds ...and guess what ...the sytem then powered up when pressed button.
    So thought would try again ...straight way ...and got it to do it after 3 attemps ...pressed bios button reset and worked again .
    Now ...as it had reset bios ...no overclocks were set ...so guessing second time after bios reset was noting to do with ram overclock.
    Could it be ram issue ? worth taking out one stick ? running 2 16gb sticks of Gskill trident z

    update again ...got it to do it again ..so took out 1 stick of ram ...though had cured it ..but no ..so took out both and kept starting and powering off straight away ...nothing ..no issue and tried it 20 times.
    so put both sticks back in ..and nothing for another 20 times ..but does motherboard have to recognise ram ( needs more time than 3 secs ?
    so wondering if does it again now ...could it be down to ram ?

    saga continues lol ...just tried it again ...happened ...so took out all ram ...reset bios and it started again ..so tried few times holding power button ..and it happened again with no ram ...inserted ram and reset bios ..wouldnt happen again after 15 tries ...but guessing now pc has booted up properly ...the issue will continue .

    Now is this still ram or something else ...as happened with no ram after bios reset...but pc hadnt got chance to recognise ram...dunno
    would faulty psu cause any of this ? weird !!!

    Karl
    Last edited by karlosfandango; 07-29-2021 at 09:12 PM.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •