Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21
  1. #11
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by sc32valve View Post
    2 of 3 GPU fans? Really? That's a strange one for sure. The lights would totally make sense, but the GPU fans? Which GPU is this again? And what header do you have your lights plugged into?
    I'll preface my response with that I went ahead and got an RMA refund for the original board and bought a new identical one from NewEgg. SAME ISSUE . This leads me to believe it's some setting issue that's causing the problem. After contacting corsair (running down all possibilities) they recommended turning off
    "FAST BOOT" in the BIOS (which is the most current version, but this issue also happened out of the box). Tried turning off Fast Boot and still didn't have an affect.

    System Specs:
    Mobo: ASUS ROG Crosshair VIII Hero Wifi
    CPU: Ryzen 9 5950x
    GPU: EVGA 3080ti FTW3
    RAM: GSkill DDR4-3800 4x16bg
    PSU: Corsair HX1000i

    As for the connections:
    GPU Bracket: Plugged directly into MOBO 3-pin Addressable RGB header with provided cable
    Corsair Fans and LED Strips: Connected directly to respective ports on Corsair iCUE Commander Controller
    Corsair iCUE Commander: USB to MOBO & dedicated power from PSU (Same as last build but didn't have this problem; mobo was gigabyte)
    EVGA 3080ti FTW3 GPU: Standard MOBO seat and 3 8-pin PSU connections (plugged into previous intel/gigabyte build and did not have fan spinning issue)

    Are there any savants on the forums that are the go-to for complex issues like this? Or possibly an ASUS tech support team member themselves that could aid my 1st world struggles?

  2. #12
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Has no one else had thus problem? I've since returned the original board and replaced it with an identical board that has the exact same problem.

  3. #13
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Bump, over 500 views and zero ideas what this could be even from ASUS across 2 different mobos. Guess I'm just lucky?

  4. #14
    ROG Enthusiast Array ationfictons PC Specs
    ationfictons PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG X570 Crosshair VIII Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 3700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GTZ DDR4
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW2 w/ICX
    MonitorDell U3417W
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 970 EVO Plus 1TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseFractal Design Define R6 USB-C
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime ULTRA 600W 80+ Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K65 RGB Rapidfire
    Mouse Corsair M65 RGB Elite
    Headset HyperX Cloud II Gaming Headset
    Headset/Speakers AudioEngine A2+
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterpfSense SG-4860
    Accessory #1 XSPC Wire Sensor 10K Thermistor
    Accessory #2 Noctua NF-A14 PWM 140mm Case Fans (3)
    ationfictons's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    58

    This is actually one of the reasons I've always hated buying Asus: practically zero official customer support. Of course, the same holds true for all the other motherboard makers.

    Have you tried emailing Asus?

    https://rog.asus.com/support/Product...g=en&isblack=1

    (you can navigate there by hitting the Support tab at the top right of the screen, telling it your motherboard and going to the email option). I'm not sure if that's any kind of actual support or if it's worthless.

    And, unfortunately, I've never seen anything like the issues your having.

  5. #15
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Yea aside from EVGA (unmatched customer support!) the customer and forum support in the gaming world leaves a lot to be desired.

    Yea I have a ticket with them. They were my first stop before the forums

  6. #16
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    62
    Posts
    102

    My guess is it is a faulty PSU or PSU cable. The MOBO has to tell the PSU when to switch from its active ON state to its standby state. To do this, there is a PS_ON# control line between the MOBO and the PSU. When you shut down, the MOBO pulls PS_ON$# high to tell the PSU to switch to active ON state. The MOBO pulls the PS-ON# line low to tell the PSU to switch to the Standby state. It sounds like this is not happening, so the PSU is not going into standby.

    So it does not turn off the SATA power outputs.
    So, your Commander Pro (and CD Drive) are getting SATA power when they should not be.
    So your fans are spinning and your LEDs will run whatever pattern is stored in the Commander Pro. Some patterns may not work because they require an active connection to iCue, but the more basic ones will.
    So your CD drive is powered up.

    This could be caused by a faulty MOBO, PSU, or the cable between them. If the PS-ON# line is open or disconnected, the logic input on the PSU will result in the PSU being in the active ON state. Since you swapped the MOBO, I suggest trying another PSU, or another cable. But before doing that, inspect the 24-pin power cable. The PS_ON# logic signal is on pin 16 of the 24-pin connector at the MOBO end (Google it). It may or may not be the same pin on the PSU end. PSU end pinouts vary with manufacturer and model. There is no standard pinout for that end which is why you should not use cables from any other brand or model of PSU unless they were specifically made for it.

    If that pin is pushed in enough that its not making contact, or the factory crimp is bad, the PSU will never go into Standby so the SATA power outputs stay on. I think this is what is happening with your system. Worth looking into anyway.

    https://powersupply33.com/atx-power-supply-pinout.html

    Never seen this one before. Good luck!

  7. #17
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by BillBittel View Post
    My guess is it is a faulty PSU or PSU cable. The MOBO has to tell the PSU when to switch from its active ON state to its standby state. To do this, there is a PS_ON# control line between the MOBO and the PSU. When you shut down, the MOBO pulls PS_ON$# high to tell the PSU to switch to active ON state. The MOBO pulls the PS-ON# line low to tell the PSU to switch to the Standby state. It sounds like this is not happening, so the PSU is not going into standby.

    So it does not turn off the SATA power outputs.
    So, your Commander Pro (and CD Drive) are getting SATA power when they should not be.
    So your fans are spinning and your LEDs will run whatever pattern is stored in the Commander Pro. Some patterns may not work because they require an active connection to iCue, but the more basic ones will.
    So your CD drive is powered up.

    This could be caused by a faulty MOBO, PSU, or the cable between them. If the PS-ON# line is open or disconnected, the logic input on the PSU will result in the PSU being in the active ON state. Since you swapped the MOBO, I suggest trying another PSU, or another cable. But before doing that, inspect the 24-pin power cable. The PS_ON# logic signal is on pin 16 of the 24-pin connector at the MOBO end (Google it). It may or may not be the same pin on the PSU end. PSU end pinouts vary with manufacturer and model. There is no standard pinout for that end which is why you should not use cables from any other brand or model of PSU unless they were specifically made for it.

    If that pin is pushed in enough that its not making contact, or the factory crimp is bad, the PSU will never go into Standby so the SATA power outputs stay on. I think this is what is happening with your system. Worth looking into anyway.

    https://powersupply33.com/atx-power-supply-pinout.html

    Never seen this one before. Good luck!
    Thank you for your incredible insight and knowledge. I used all the new cables with the HX 1000i (and kept the cables attached with the HX 850i trial shown previously) but the one thing I haven't tried is switching out the MOBO cables. I'll give this a shot. I agree it has to be an issue stemming from MOBO power-down communications and commands but was shocked when a brand new completely different mobo didn't solve it.

  8. #18
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    62
    Posts
    102

    Your welcome. I just hope for your sake that I am right. This is a strange one for sure!

  9. #19
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Ha ha me too! I'm still awaiting Corsair's reply to send a new set of cables. Hopefully, they are willing to.

  10. #20
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array pndiode PC Specs
    pndiode PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS G752VL-DH71
    MotherboardROG Maximus XII Formula
    ProcessorI7-10700K
    Memory (part number)G-Skill F4-3600C19Q-32GTZRB
    Graphics Card #1ROG Matrix GTX 980TI -P-6GD5 Bitspower Water Block
    Graphics Card #2ROG Matrix GTX 980TI -P-6GD5 Bitspower Water Block
    MonitorLG UltraGear 32GN50T-B
    Storage #1WD Black SN750 1TB
    Storage #2WD Blue 4TB (4 ea)
    CPU CoolerEK SE 360 (Top), SE 240 (Front), and Xres 100 Elite
    CaseROG Strix Helios white Edition
    Power SupplyThermalTake Toughpower 1200W
    Keyboard Cerberus
    Mouse Logitech MX Master S2
    Headset ROG Strix Fusion 300
    Mouse Pad Generic
    Headset/Speakers Bose Companion 3 Series II
    OS Win 11 Pro 21H2
    Network RouterGeneric
    Accessory #1 Corsair ML140 (4 ea), Corsair ML120 (3 ea)

    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    31
    Posts
    248

    The only new brand to my build process is the ASUS mobo.

    ...bought a new identical one from NewEgg. SAME ISSUE

    ASUS RAM QVL GSkill DDR4-3800 4x16GB for your Mobo (4x16GB DIMM not listed, maybe 2x16GB, but Part No. only list DDR4 3866):
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Mem 2.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	81.8 KB 
ID:	89857

    GSkill Ram Configurator for DDR4-3800 2x16GB for your Mobo (Did you try just two sticks?):
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Mem1.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	146.6 KB 
ID:	89858

    GSkill Ram Configurator for DDR4-3800 4x16GB for your Mobo (no products found).
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Mem 3.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	69.1 KB 
ID:	89859

    For example: GSkill F4-3600C17Q-16GVK when installed on a VIII Formula I sometimes have the same problems you have now. ASUS QVL list G.Skill F4-3600C17-16GVK (2 or 4 DIMM, note: no Q after 17). GSkill Ram Configurator does not list it as compatible for the VIII Formula. Sometimes it works, sometimes it does not, and so, is it GSkill or ASUS?

    Another example: GSkill F4-3600C19Q-32GTZRB works flawlessly on the IX Extreme and verified by GSkill, but it is not listed on the ASUS QVL for the IX Extreme.

    I think it is your memory, but I could be wrong.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •