Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array code2australia PC Specs
    code2australia PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)13-U153TU
    MotherboardGigabyte Z97-HD3 (Rev 2.1)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GT740-2GD3
    CaseCololer Master K282
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z506
    OS Windows 10 64 Bit
    Network RouterASUS GT-AX11000

    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    GT-AX11000 Hidden Network

    Hi, I'm fairly new to networking but not totally new to computing.

    OK. I'll start with I am not 100% positive that this "new" Hidden network didn't exist before because I simply just did not notice it. However, I don't believe that to be the case.

    I have FFTC NBN with an Optus supplied Sagemcom Gateway F@ST 5366 TN Modem/Router.

    Until last week I had a Netgear D7800 Router attached to the Sagemcom via a LAN port on Sagemcon and a LAN port on the Netgear.

    Don't remember a hidden network showing up on my Windows 10 Desktop's network list while it had a TL-WDN3800 N600 Wireless Dual Band PCI Express Adapter.

    Since then, I change the desktop's adapter to an ASUS PCE-AC88 AC3100 Wireless Dual Band PCI Express Adapter and a ASUS ROG GT-AX11000 Router. The router is connected to the Sagemcom via the same LAN port and the 2.5GE port on the ASUS ROG. Don't know if that 2.5GE port is how it should be, but it is working just fine.

    After some checking I notice the two 5G channels on the Sagemcom and the Hidden channel were the same (136). So, I though that can't be good as they where the same signal strength and would likely interfere with each other. I didn't want to mess up a neighbours network, so I change the Sagemcom's 5G channel to 132 instead. Then I noticed the hidden network has also changed to 132. Investigating more the Hidden network had much the same MAC address as the 2.4 and 5G on my Sagemcom. In fact they are the same except for the last hex code 2.4G = a6, 5G = a7 and Hidden = a0.

    So I figured the Hidden Network is actually coming from my Optus Sagemcom Modem/Router.

    It is then I noticed the hidden network. It is not showing up on my Android phone or iPad. Just my Windows 10 Desktop, Windows 10 Laptop and the Netgear WiFi Analyser Android App.

    The odd thing is that it doesn't appear all the time in Windows' available network list.

    Any ideas on 1) if it should be there 2) if not, how to get rid of it.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    42
    Posts
    1,210

    Turn off the Sagecom Wi-Fi and use the GT-AX11000 Wi-Fi. I would not be using the hidden network feature, if you have a proper password, this is normally good enough.

    A hidden network has been around for years. What is does is hide the name, ie: "5g Optus Sagecom" ... Consider it like double the passwords, as the system no longer broadcasts hey I'm "5g Optus Sagecom" would you like to connect to me, password please....

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Saltgrass PC Specs
    Saltgrass PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XIII Hero
    Processori9 11900K
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 3090 FTW
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorDell AW3420DW
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 2 TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 1 TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212X
    CaseCooler Master
    Power SupplyAntec HCP Platinum 1000
    Keyboard ASUS Strix Flare
    Mouse ASUS Chakram
    Headset/Speakers Logitech wired 5.1
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AX11000/AXE11000
    Accessory #1 VR Headset
    Accessory #2 Saitek X52

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    406

    It seems I have always had a Hidden network on my systems also.. Never knew what it was..

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    42
    Posts
    1,210

    Quote Originally Posted by Saltgrass View Post
    It seems I have always had a Hidden network on my systems also.. Never knew what it was..
    Wi-Fi 6 provides one address example "Auto GT-AX11000" and hides normally two networks (mine does two however it's not a Asus wifi 6), I would assume this is for switching from 5.0g to 2.4g seemlessly (I should have address this in my first post but I forgot about mentioning it becuase I was focused on the sagecom and the traditional use for hidden networks).
    Last edited by RedSector73; 08-03-2021 at 11:35 AM.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array TechGuy42 PC Specs
    TechGuy42 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP ENVY 17m-ae011dx
    Motherboard834D
    Processori7-7500U @ 2.70GHz
    Memory (part number)16GB
    Graphics Card #1Intel Onboard HD Graphics 620
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA GeForce 940MX
    Headset Arctis 9x
    OS Windows 10 Home
    Network RouterAXE11000

    Join Date
    Jun 2021
    Reputation
    8
    Posts
    26

    Quote Originally Posted by code2australia View Post
    I noticed the hidden network. It is not showing up on my Android phone or iPad. Just my Windows 10 Desktop, Windows 10 Laptop and the Netgear WiFi Analyser Android App.

    This is quite interesting, I've noticed the same hidden network on my AXE11000... network disappears when I cut power to the router

    Edit: jiberish? Hardly.
    Last edited by TechGuy42; 08-05-2021 at 04:23 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •