Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 17 of 17
  1. #11
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    73

    Quote Originally Posted by Ataemonus View Post
    OK, so people who said that TPM is not always on with this BIOS version have absolutely zero idea what they are talking about. Like, less than zero.
    TPM is always stuck to Firmware TPM on these BIOSes, so yeah, awesome. Disabled would be Discrete TPM.
    I see that my post have been all removed, fair enough, just so that it doesn't get overlooked, the above quoted is definitely not true for M13H.

  2. #12
    ROG Enthusiast Array Grimpak PC Specs
    Grimpak PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus XIII Apex
    Processori9 11900f
    Graphics Card #1Watercooled MSI Vega 64 Airboost OC
    Sound CardSteelseries GameDac
    Storage #1WD SN850 500GB
    Storage #2Raid0'ed 2xWD SN550 1TB
    CPU CoolerModified EK-MLC Phoenix + Eisbaer aurora 360
    CaseCooler Master SL600M Black Edition
    Power SupplySeasonic Focus gold 1000w
    Keyboard Steelseries Apex Pro
    Mouse Steelseries Rival 710

    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    67

    Quote Originally Posted by Ataemonus View Post
    No idea what it means. Also, very interested to know if TPM is still always Enabled, because if it is, I won't install the BIOS.
    question, if you don't mind: why?

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    133
    Posts
    184

    Because I'd rather not be forced to have features enabled. And yeah, as I said, chosing Discrete TPM option no longer saves, unless perhaps an actual Discrete TPM Module in installed, otherwise the option reverts to Firmware TPM, which basically means TPM is always enabled, but parts of it can be disabled in another sub menu.

  4. #14
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    73

    Quote Originally Posted by Ataemonus View Post
    Because I'd rather not be forced to have features enabled. And yeah, as I said, chosing Discrete TPM option no longer saves, unless perhaps an actual Discrete TPM Module in installed, otherwise the option reverts to Firmware TPM, which basically means TPM is always enabled, but parts of it can be disabled in another sub menu.
    As said before, you should stick to the threads dedicated to your mobo. This is not happening with the M13H, nor were any of your claims about a re-uploaded BIOS true. Yes, the TPM setting on BIOS versions 1007 and 1202 is enabled by default, but once disabled, it sticks to that.

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    133
    Posts
    184

    If you keep posting the same regurgitated thing over and over again, especially without reading, does not make it true.

  6. #16
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    73

    Quote Originally Posted by Ataemonus View Post
    If you keep posting the same regurgitated thing over and over again, especially without reading, does not make it true.
    I have to apologize Ataemonus, you were right. I still can't understand what it is being caused by. Since I flashed the new BIOS (1202) 2 weeks ago, I have been checking daily in BIOS whether the PTT setting stays on disabled. It did, until yesterday, after almost two weeks. When I booted up my machine, I again went into BIOS to check on it and to my surprise, the setting was suddenly, without me changing it, set to enabled. Windows Update was happily reporting that my PC is finally eligible to upgrade to Windows 11, like the worst nightmare coming true. Whatever I was doing and changing in BIOS, it took over all the changes, except this one. PC turned off, just to start booting and immediately turning off and back on with PTT enabled.

    What the hell Asus? How is this even a thing? And why did it start happening after such a long time and not immediately?

  7. #17
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    133
    Posts
    184

    No worries.
    Sometimes when BIOS is updated, sometimes when CPU is changed, some settings are not saved properly, old values are kept.
    Probably why for you it happened just recently with the TPM.
    Happened to me countless times on the many systems I build and maintain. This is why I always do a Clear CMOS after a BIOS update or a RAM or CPU upgrade.
    But, as I said, it can be partially disabled if you set TPM to Firmware mode, then in the specific PTT or TPM menu you disable everything from there.
    If you do not see those menus, try a Clear CMOS.

    I have no idea what Windows 11 compatibility report is, as the systems I maintain with the Z590 chipset all have Windows 11 already installed (not my systems, not my choice), with the TPM bypass by Rufus.
    Even my own system has W11, to be honest, Windows 11 is not so bad with StartAllBack and several tweaks, lol. It's an UI mess, as bad as it can be, but stability is quite decent.
    But granted, I do not game, so cannot speak for gaming performance, I just work and browse from my system.

    PS. It's not just ASUS, by the way, same thing happens with Gigabyte as well, TPM is forced to Enabled. Cannot speak for MSI, ASRock and so on, as I do not have access to any systems using such boards.
    Last edited by Ataemonus; 01-16-2022 at 03:51 PM.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •