Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Exclamation ASUS ROG Strix Z-590-E Gaming - Turning on XMP causes system instability.

    Hello,

    Rather straightforward. Turning on XMP causes system instability and it will not stay on for more than a few moments before freezing and then crashes. Turning on XMP is the direct symptom that causes this, I have used Default settings to confirm this. I have also:

    * Changed the RAM out for known good (and compatible RAM).
    * Changed the CPU.
    * Changed the motherboard (same model, different board).

    The issue occurs without fail when I turn on XMP and I am desperate to know why. Updating the Bios or using the stock Bios makes no difference.

    Hardware:
    - CORSAIR HX 1200
    - Asus Strix Z-590E Gaming
    - Nvidia 2080Ti
    - G. Skill Royal 4800Mhz 8 Gigs (Total 16 Gigs)
    - Intel 11700K (I also tried a 10700K)

    Please let me know if there is a known fix or cause for this problem

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 11 64bit Pro
    Network RouterPfSence Intel i5-10210U 6 Port
    Accessory #1 TP-Link Gigabit 8&6 Port Switches

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    1,234

    From the CPU, should be using Ram Slots 2 & 4, are you using 1 & 3 ?

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array escannihilator PC Specs
    escannihilator PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z590 E gaming WIFI
    ProcessorI7 11700F rocket lake 8 core
    Memory (part number)Vengeance Pro RGB CMW32GX4M2E3200C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2070 SUPER FTW3 ULTRA
    Sound Cardonboard
    MonitorLG 32" Class 4K UHD Monitor with Radeon FreeSync™ Technology
    Storage #1Corsair M.2 MP510
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 1 TB
    CPU CoolerCORSAIR iCUE H150i RGB PRO XT
    CaseEVGA DG-87
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Logitech G512
    Mouse Corsair M65 RGB Elite
    Headset Logitech G633 Artemis Spectrum RGB 7.1 Surround Gaming Head
    Mouse Pad Corsair
    OS Win10 pro
    Accessory #1 Samsung 850 EVO 500 gigs
    Accessory #2 Intel M.2 660 1TB
    Accessory #3 Samsung M.2 960 Evo 250GB

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    make sure you are using the newest bios, had the same problem when first installed it was running an older bios than actually what was on the support website. when i updated to the 0902(or now newer 1007) at that time the xmp2 worked and windows loaded up
    ROG Strix Z590 E gaming WIFI
    I7 11700F rocket lake 8 core
    Vengeance Pro RGB 32 gigs CMW32GX4M2E3200C16
    EVGA RTX 2070 SUPER FTW3 ULTRA
    LG 32" Class 4K UHD Monitor with Radeon FreeSync™ Technology
    ACER Predator XB1 Series 28" TN 4K NVIDIA G-sync
    LG 29" 2K Adaptive-Sync (Free-Sync) 21:9 UltraWide
    Corsair M.2 MP510
    Samsung 860 Evo 1 TB
    CORSAIR iCUE H150i RGB PRO XT
    Logitech G512
    Corsair M65 RGB Elite
    Logitech G633 Artemis Spectrum RGB 7.1 Surround Gaming Head

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,698

    11700K officially supports up to 3200Mhz and you are using 4800Mhz OC RAM. What this means is there will be no XMP profile and no guarantee to obtain the rated frequency.
    It will depend on the strength of the IMC on your chip as to what frequency you will achieve.
    Your RAM at 4800Mhz do not appear on the MB QVL so they are not tested.

    Return what you have for a single kit (2x8) at 3200Mhz.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  5. #5
    Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    45

    Hi
    Please refer QVL as follow:
    Brand Model name Capacity Speed Speed Side Chip Timing Voltage Slot
    G.SKILL F4-4800C18D-32GTZR 2x 8GB 4800 4800 SS SK Hynix 18-26-26-46 1.5 1,2
    G.SKILL F4-4800C18D-32GTRS 2x 8GB 4800 4800 SS SK Hynix 18-26-26-46 1.5 1,2
    G.SKILL F4-4800C19D-16GTZR 2x 8GB 4800 4800 SS SK Hynix 19-26-26-46 1.5 1,2
    G.SKILL F4-4800C19D-16GTRS 2x 8GB 4800 4800 SS SK Hynix 19-26-26-46 1.5 1,2

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Sorry about the late replies guys, I had gone on vacation the day I posted this. Anyway:

    Quote Originally Posted by RedSector73 View Post
    From the CPU, should be using Ram Slots 2 & 4, are you using 1 & 3 ?
    Yes. Slots 2 and 4 are occupied. I have also tried single stick.

    Quote Originally Posted by escannihilator View Post
    make sure you are using the newest bios, had the same problem when first installed it was running an older bios than actually what was on the support website. when i updated to the 0902(or now newer 1007) at that time the xmp2 worked and windows loaded up
    Believe me, I tried that. It was the first thing I did after confirming the issue still persisted on the new mother board in its factory condition.

    Quote Originally Posted by MeanMachine View Post
    11700K officially supports up to 3200Mhz and you are using 4800Mhz OC RAM. What this means is there will be no XMP profile and no guarantee to obtain the rated frequency.
    It will depend on the strength of the IMC on your chip as to what frequency you will achieve.
    Your RAM at 4800Mhz do not appear on the MB QVL so they are not tested.

    Return what you have for a single kit (2x8) at 3200Mhz.
    Hey, thanks for the point about the 3200Mhz rating by Intel. I mean it. However, G. Skill is telling people that the RAM should work on 10th and 11th Gen with no issue and that they test them at their marketed profiles (i.e. 4800Mhz) before leaving the factory. Since I have replaced this RAM and still have the exact same issue I am sort of at a loss. I did however find another gentlemen with the same issue who did a bit more testing than me and determined that the problem starts at 4000Mhz. He had a version of this RAM rated for even higher speeds, and I was able to replicate this exact same hard wall. When you attempt to go above 4000Mhz the profile fails and the computer will fail to post. Unless you do what I did in the OP and over volt it. Then it'll work for a while until the power demands exceed the profile's threshold and the computer crashes.

    Ultimately the issue seems to be the power needs exceeding said threshold and crashing the computer.

    What's causing this I cannot figure.

    Quote Originally Posted by Alvez@asus View Post
    Hi
    Please refer QVL as follow:
    Brand Model name Capacity Speed Speed Side Chip Timing Voltage Slot
    G.SKILL F4-4800C18D-32GTZR 2x 8GB 4800 4800 SS SK Hynix 18-26-26-46 1.5 1,2
    G.SKILL F4-4800C18D-32GTRS 2x 8GB 4800 4800 SS SK Hynix 18-26-26-46 1.5 1,2
    G.SKILL F4-4800C19D-16GTZR 2x 8GB 4800 4800 SS SK Hynix 19-26-26-46 1.5 1,2
    G.SKILL F4-4800C19D-16GTRS 2x 8GB 4800 4800 SS SK Hynix 19-26-26-46 1.5 1,2
    Hey Alvez, thank you so much for posting this. I wasn't able to locate that documentation in the manual and I want to confirm a few things:

    • Are you saying that only slots 1 and 2 are rated for RAM of this speed and not 2,4?
      * I confirmed that I am using the Model F4-4800C17D-16GTRS. Are you saying that only the 18D and 19D will work with this board?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •