Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Unhappy Strix X299 won't post after 3501 FW update

    Flashed to 3501 last Friday. Set Extreme in the EZ System Tuning. Restarted. BIOS screen said 39% OC (Ok - that appears to be what I had before). Booted into Win 10 and ran for several hours. Sometime later, PC shutdown. Tried to restart and it wouldn't post.

    1. Stopped at Q Code: BD
    2. Disconnected power, wait, reconnect, tried to boot. Stop at BD.
    3. Clear CMOS. Restart. Stop at BD
    4. Flashback to 3403 using USB on back panel. Clear CMOS. Stop at BD
    5. Repeated 3403 flashback. Clear CMOS. Stop at BD
    6. Disconnect power. Pulled all the RAM, except 1 stick in slot C1. Made sure stick was seated properly Qcode goes to BD and then EC and stops.

    Ideas?

    Config:
    Asus ROG STRIX X299E
    i9-7900X
    32G G-skill Trident Z 4133Ghz Quad DDR4 (forget clock, but seemed like it was 3200MHz)
    EVGA SuperNOVA 1600 P2
    2x Samsung 970 EVO 2TB NVME
    Custom loop (2x D5s, 2x Black Ice Rads, EK mono block for CPU)
    EVGA 3090 K|ngP|n AiO (waiting for Optimus block) --> OLED on card boots properly

  2. #2
    Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    45

    Hi
    According to Q code, it might be failed at flashing BIOS. If you already flash back to 3403, but symptoms happened the same. I would like to suggest to contact local service to have a RMA. Apologize for any inconvenient.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    RMA in progress. This looks like the best (only?) path forward.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array JuSiZ1 PC Specs
    JuSiZ1 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme Omega
    Processori9-10940X
    Memory (part number)G.skill F4-3600C16Q-32GTZ
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 3080Ti FTW3
    Sound CardCreative soundblaster X7 Le
    MonitorPG27AQ
    Storage #1Samsung 970pro 512Gb, Samsung 960 Pro 2Tb
    Storage #2960pro 1Tb 2x850pro 512gb and 1x1Tb 950Pro 512gb usbstick
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy evo x99
    CaseDiy case
    Power SupplyCorsair Ax1200i
    Keyboard Logitech G19
    Mouse Logitech G
    Headset Fostex TH-610
    Mouse Pad ROG from china
    Headset/Speakers The Drop And Monitors speakers
    OS Win 10 Pro 64-bit
    Network RouterFritz Box 6490
    Accessory #1 H2O cooling with 3x360 rads, dual ddc pumps,EK blocks, 2x Aquaero 6etc.
    Accessory #2 BD-RE
    JuSiZ1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    99

    I have about same problem on OMEGA with newest 3403 and 3501 BIOS. My system boot only with default settings. if i add anything more than 2133mhz to ram system stops at BD. I Revert back to bios 3105 and now memory overclocking and everything working perfect. ASUS PLEASE FIX YOUR BIOSES!!!!

  5. #5
    Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    229

    Hi JuSiZ1,

    Do you mean if you use ram G.skill F4-3600C16Q-32GTZ, your pc boot only with default settings?
    How did you adjust in bios to more than 2133mhz?
    Could you please provide the following information via PM?
    - the serial number of your motherboard
    - please press ctrl+F2 to restore bios settings(more than 2133mhz and stopped at BD) to the USB drive
    Thank you.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array JuSiZ1 PC Specs
    JuSiZ1 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme Omega
    Processori9-10940X
    Memory (part number)G.skill F4-3600C16Q-32GTZ
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 3080Ti FTW3
    Sound CardCreative soundblaster X7 Le
    MonitorPG27AQ
    Storage #1Samsung 970pro 512Gb, Samsung 960 Pro 2Tb
    Storage #2960pro 1Tb 2x850pro 512gb and 1x1Tb 950Pro 512gb usbstick
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy evo x99
    CaseDiy case
    Power SupplyCorsair Ax1200i
    Keyboard Logitech G19
    Mouse Logitech G
    Headset Fostex TH-610
    Mouse Pad ROG from china
    Headset/Speakers The Drop And Monitors speakers
    OS Win 10 Pro 64-bit
    Network RouterFritz Box 6490
    Accessory #1 H2O cooling with 3x360 rads, dual ddc pumps,EK blocks, 2x Aquaero 6etc.
    Accessory #2 BD-RE
    JuSiZ1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    99

    Angry

    Quote Originally Posted by STARRAIN@ROG View Post
    Hi JuSiZ1,

    Do you mean if you use ram G.skill F4-3600C16Q-32GTZ, your pc boot only with default settings?
    How did you adjust in bios to more than 2133mhz?
    Could you please provide the following information via PM?
    - the serial number of your motherboard
    - please press ctrl+F2 to restore bios settings(more than 2133mhz and stopped at BD) to the USB drive
    Thank you.
    Adjust same how i use later bioses. even manually added 2400mhz will not post, allways stops qcode BD.
    This what i test this far. On Bios 3501 only boot when everything is default. tried update me and it not help. tried bios 3403 same problem. tried non rebar bios 3301 and same problem. 3105 Bios with latest ME working without any problems. What is differences between those bioses? test both bios 1 & 2 and same problem occurring. 3105 allways post if only setting i chance is XMP on. newer bioses i don't get post if add anything more than 2133mhz mem oc.
    Last edited by JuSiZ1; 09-14-2021 at 09:20 AM.

  7. #7
    Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    229

    Hi JuSiZ1,
    Thank you for your reply.
    Please check your PM.
    Thank you.

  8. #8
    Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    229

    Hi JuSiZ1,

    Our tech team have tested our ROG RAMPAGE VI EXTREME OMEGA with DDR4-3600 G.Skill F4-3600C16Q-32GTZR *4 and enable XMP, it boot successfully on bios 3105 and 3501.
    Please send the motherboard and ram to our local service center for further examination.
    Please visit our official website for contact info of our local service center.
    Thank you.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •