Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Asus Rog G15 G513QR AUTO REBOOT

    Hello ! I come to you desperately. I recently bought an Asus Rog Strix G15-G513QR with:
    -Ryzen 9 5900HX overclocked
    -RTX 3070 8gb
    -16 GB RAM

    Randomly, the pc screen turns off then the pc restarts. This happens in office use (never in full play). It's really annoying considering the price of the pc.

    I have hung around the forums and a lot of people have the same problem.
    I am thinking of a software problem. Can you help me ?
    Last edited by Thomas70; 08-09-2021 at 09:40 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 11 64bit Pro
    Network RouterPfSence Intel i5-10210U 6 Port
    Accessory #1 TP-Link Gigabit 8&6 Port Switches

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    1,306

    Put the latest chipset drivers on from AMD would be the first thing I would do.
    https://www.amd.com/en/support/chips...mobile-chipset

    Second thing is put the latest Nvidia drivers on
    https://www.nvidia.com/en-au/geforce...ence/download/

    then I would use armoury crate software to ensure the BIOS is up to date and anything ASUS software wise.

    and lastly I would run windows update and make sure it is fully up to date.
    Last edited by RedSector73; 08-09-2021 at 10:47 AM.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by RedSector73 View Post
    Put the latest chipset drivers on from AMD would be the first thing I would do.
    https://www.amd.com/en/support/chips...mobile-chipset

    Second thing is put the latest Nvidia drivers on
    https://www.nvidia.com/en-au/geforce...ence/download/

    then I would use armoury crate software to ensure the BIOS is up to date and anything ASUS software wise.

    and lastly I would run windows update and make sure it is fully up to date.
    OK, nvidia driver is OK, from geForce expérience.
    Verify amd driver. Windows is up to date.

    I think i will return the product but i need it for studies :/

    The pc never reboot in game... I think issu of RAM or CPU...

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    I put the latest driver for amd, nvidia and windows is up to date. I do the latest bios version because i try to downgrade it yesterday but not fix the issue.

    I'll see if the update of amd fix it, if isnt i will try a fresh install of windows.

    And if not fixed i return the product...

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 11 64bit Pro
    Network RouterPfSence Intel i5-10210U 6 Port
    Accessory #1 TP-Link Gigabit 8&6 Port Switches

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    1,306

    Do this happen when the system is almost idle / not really doing anything... just boom reboot ?

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by RedSector73 View Post
    Do this happen when the system is almost idle / not really doing anything... just boom reboot ?
    This happens randomly ... never when playing games

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 11 64bit Pro
    Network RouterPfSence Intel i5-10210U 6 Port
    Accessory #1 TP-Link Gigabit 8&6 Port Switches

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    1,306

    I wonder if a c-state issue is at play. Check in the bios if you can turn off c-states (not sure, you can). Never needed to for my laptops, but it might be this.

    Your logic of cpu/ram (or a bios) issue is likely cause from the information given.
    Last edited by RedSector73; 08-09-2021 at 11:09 PM.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    6

    Same issue on Advantage Edition

    This is a common issue among all G15 Advantage Edition owners, 5900hx, 6800M.
    I am also thinking about returning the machine, I close adobe it reboots, I close a game it reboots, anything that uses gpu seems to be causing an reboot for us. Using certain drivers for gpu makes this a little less frequent though but still annoying.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by _Eternity View Post
    This is a common issue among all G15 Advantage Edition owners, 5900hx, 6800M.
    I am also thinking about returning the machine, I close adobe it reboots, I close a game it reboots, anything that uses gpu seems to be causing an reboot for us. Using certain drivers for gpu makes this a little less frequent though but still annoying.
    I have a good new !
    After 2 returns, the PC work perfectly ! No random reboot ! They changed in total Motherboard, CPu, Ram !
    You have to return it !

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Thomas70 View Post
    I have a good new !
    After 2 returns, the PC work perfectly ! No random reboot ! They changed in total Motherboard, CPu, Ram !
    You have to return it !


    I'm have started a RMA process waiting for technician to visit me for checking the device.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •