Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Unhappy Crosshair VIII Hero + 3800: Computer Turns On, But no Display.

    Hi everyone,

    My computer turns on but there's no display to the monitor. And the monitor works I can confirm that. There's no power to the keyboard and mouse. Occasionally it turns on, but it's too random.

    I replaced my motherboard but that didn't solve the problem. I have also replaced the PSU because I thought maybe the issue is with the power, but that didn't fix the problem either.

    Sometimes I'll press the start button and it will boot. But most of the time, it will just stay on without booting.

    The Qled code on the motherboard when it doesn't boot is always 00.

    I've tried CMOS reset and pretty much all the possible fixes that I read online, but nothing helped.

    I've noticed that quite a few people have had issues with Asus motherboards, but still I couldn't find any real solution.

    It's a newly built machine with all new hardware, but I can't believe I am experiencing this problem. It's very hard to determine what is causing this. Hoping that someone here will help me out.

    Here's my config:
    Ryzen 9 3900xt
    Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Hero
    G.Skill Trident Z Neo 3600 32gb x 2
    Colorful RTX 3080
    SilverStone IceGem 360
    Coolermaster V850 Gold V2
    Lian Li PC-O11 Razer Edition
    ViewSonic VX2776-SMHD
    Windows 10

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Legolas PC Specs
    Legolas PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Hero Wifi AC
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 8600k oc 5Ghz
    Memory (part number)Samsung DDR4 16GB
    Graphics Card #1ASUS NVIDIA GTX 1080
    MonitorASUS MS246
    Storage #1Samsung MZVPV256
    Storage #2Samsung MZVPV256
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110I v2
    Power SupplyPC 1200W Turbo-Cool 1200
    Keyboard ASUS SK2045

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    293

    Hi, did you try reseating all components? Install Colorful RTX 3080 on PCIEX16_1 slot. If it still have no display, try another slot or try another video card.
    Usually qcode 00, means no post. If new video card still have problem, please test your motherboard only with CPU, PSU, 1 memory and CPU and see if you post. If not, please replace CPU, or the motherboard.
    Sincerely,
    Legolas

  3. #3
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    178
    Posts
    2,337

    Hello,

    if the mainboard has been replaced it's likely the CPU is faulty.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Hope this helps.

    Pull everything except what you need to get a post. If your using two sticks of ram go down to one. CPU and video card only make sure you have proper power placement on the motherboard as well as if you need power on the video card. If you can get it to post, you can add the parts you took out one at a time until you find your problem. If your motherboard has a video output make sure your plugging the monitor into the Video card and not the motherboard. Some power supplies have a switch in the back you have to flip before you can short the pins on the motherboard to turn it on. If your still not getting it to post and you already replaced the power supply and motherboard, your left with ram and CPU. Depending on the ram and the CPU its possible you will need a BIOS update as soon as it posts. If you have some sticks of older ram, try using one of them (make sure its on compatibility list) It wont hurt to try if its not. I've had memory and a CPU not work until a bios update.
    Last edited by ryo0hki; 09-04-2021 at 10:34 PM.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Thank you for the replies everyone.

    My problem is, the computer runs absolutely fine when it's running. But as soon as I restart, the machine runs but tree's no display. This thing keeps happening until it randomly Posts again and then boots into windows.

    Believe it or not, because of this problem I have disabled Windows update and have not put my machine to sleep for more than a month now, coz I have some important work to do and I cannot deal with the mood swings of my system.

    Do you guys still think it could be the CPU? Should I get it replaced?

    Thank you for all the help!

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 11 64bit Pro
    Network RouterPfSence Intel i5-10210U 6 Port
    Accessory #1 TP-Link Gigabit 8&6 Port Switches

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    1,254

    What cooler is on the CPU ?

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by RedSector73 View Post
    What cooler is on the CPU ?
    I have Silverstone IceGem 360 AIO.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 11 64bit Pro
    Network RouterPfSence Intel i5-10210U 6 Port
    Accessory #1 TP-Link Gigabit 8&6 Port Switches

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    1,254

    Quote Originally Posted by Aer0Blitz View Post
    I have Silverstone IceGem 360 AIO.
    Back the screws 1/4 turn, montior temps and see if it helps. Make sure didn't overtighten any motherboard stand off screws.

    Retest and see if the problem perists.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •