Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    VG27AQ1A turns black

    Hello,

    a few months back I bought the VG27AQ1A monitor. Every time I make a cold start of the PC, after about 5 minutes, the screen turns black for a few seconds. This happens only once each session, so it isn't that much of an issue.At first I though this was the cable, so I tried a few out, then I though it was perhaps the system itself, so I tried the monitor on 4 different PCs with different GPUs, turned Gsync on and off, installed different drivers (also the monitordriver from the Asus homepage). The problem persisted. Then I sent the monitor back and got a new one...same problem.
    Other monitors in my houshold don't have this issue.

    Is it normal for this monitor? I mean I've read the other threads with similar problems, but there it happens again and again in one session, so my problem is a little bit different. Or is it a Nvidia-driver issue (though I've tried a few different drivers)?
    Last edited by Silverwombat; 08-18-2021 at 08:16 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 11 64bit Pro
    Network RouterPfSence Intel i5-10210U 6 Port
    Accessory #1 TP-Link Gigabit 8&6 Port Switches

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    1,252

    What video card are you using ?

    This firmware update for nvidia cards might be the issue, no harm in trying it only works of cards that require the update.
    https://www.nvidia.com/en-us/drivers...fi-update-x64/

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Thank you for the answer.
    The GPUs I used are GTX 980ti, 1080, 1080ti and 760.
    The update is already installed. Just to be sure I tried installing it again and the program only states, that the update is already installed.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 11 64bit Pro
    Network RouterPfSence Intel i5-10210U 6 Port
    Accessory #1 TP-Link Gigabit 8&6 Port Switches

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    1,252

    There is WHQL driver
    https://www.asus.com/Displays-Deskto...Desk_Download/

    I would be going with ASUS ticket support on the monitor, follow the advice given and be leaning towards RMA then, sounds like you found a gremlin. Other choice is to RMA via the place of purchase, if australia, go that way we have strong consumer laws. other issue is lockdowns are grinding eveything down / factor that in in which way you go. ASUS have site in melb for RMA off memory.
    Last edited by RedSector73; 08-19-2021 at 08:16 AM.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Huh..
    My "main"PC still has this issue, but after I installed the all the firmare updates on the PC with gtx 980ti, it seems that the problem is not there anymore. Though I've only tested it for about 1hr so far. But this occured always after the first 3-5 minutes..so I guess this problem isn't with the monitor, but with my system.
    Tomorrow I will try to install an older Nvidia driver on the main-PC, because the one with the 980ti hasn't received driverupdates or over a year...

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 11 64bit Pro
    Network RouterPfSence Intel i5-10210U 6 Port
    Accessory #1 TP-Link Gigabit 8&6 Port Switches

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    1,252

    The plot thickens, maybe if that does solve the issue, you might want to consider doing windows reset and see if that works on the main-pc.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Quote Originally Posted by Silverwombat View Post
    Huh..
    My "main"PC still has this issue, but after I installed the all the firmware updates on the PC with gtx 980ti, it seems that the problem is not there anymore. Though I've only tested it for about 1hr so far. But this occurred always after the first 3-5 minutes..so I guess this problem isn't with the monitor, but with my system.
    Tomorrow I will try to install an older Nvidia driver on the main-PC, because the one with the 980ti hasn't received driver updates or over a year...
    Did you manage to fix the issue I seem to be having the same thing where the screen goes black around 20-30 mins for a few seconds after startup ... doesn't happen later ... I though it was because the screen was waking up from sleep caused this issue. Then I tried to power off the monitor on restarts but it happened again.

    I have looked at all forums and everything I could google but cant find a solution. My monitor is 2 months old and I tried the firmware update but apparently it isn't for my gpu which is a RTX 2080.

    I dont think its the monitor and since it only happens once every time I boot the system. So kinda hesitant to RMA the monitor since it will take them ages and I don't have a secondary monitor as backup.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    No, the issue on the main PC is still there. Couldn't solve it. It isn't the issue of the individual monitor. I have returned the monitor twice and I had the issue with all 3 monitors...So my guess is, that there is either an issue with a driver (though my other monitor, which is connected at the same time ++to the same GPU doesn't have this issue).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •