Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 17 of 17
  1. #11
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by raceyquad View Post
    Follow RedSector73's advice.

    Return all timings to Auto. the DOCP timings are for 3600MHz, while they also may work for 3533MHz in some cases, your pair might not. Enable only DOCP and Auto or Enable ASUS Performance Enhancement if you want, but return Everything else to Auto.

    Also, turn off CSM compatibility mode

    Reboot into bios once to make sure DOCP automatically set the frequency to 3600.
    if not showing 3600 on the right side column, change only memory frequency from auto to DDR3600. save and restart booting back into bios.
    this is when AI Tweaker should show the DOCP profile settings, instead of Auto, on timings, memfreq, and a few other things.

    if yes, reboot into bios once more and save the profile. now you can start making changes.

    My experience is with the same RAM, ryzen 5600X, on a TUF Gaming B550m-plus (wifi) which is similar, but does not have an extra 4 pin CPU power connector. I've had it running at DDR4000MHz fclk@2000 but the timings were too loose to be benificial over advertised DDR3600-cL16 .
    I've tried everything to the letter but it doesn't work. The pc starts up and the ram goes to 3600 mhz, but if I unplug the power supply cable I have a black screen and I cannot access the bios. On the other hand, if the D.O.C.P is activated but only by changing the frequency from 3600 to 3533 (the closest one) all this does not happen. I know you shouldn't unplug the power cord, but next time I clean my pc or when the power goes out, I have to and don't feel like doing CMOS all the time.

    I haven't solved the problem, but thanks all the same to everyone for your availability!

  2. #12
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 11 64bit Pro
    Network RouterPfSence Intel i5-10210U 6 Port
    Accessory #1 TP-Link Gigabit 8&6 Port Switches

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    1,251

    I am wondering, can you check, does the BIOS once you unplug get this black screen, does it reset time in the BIOS as well ?

  3. #13
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by RedSector73 View Post
    I am wondering, can you check, does the BIOS once you unplug get this black screen, does it reset time in the BIOS as well ?
    I have no way to enter the BIOS when this ram problem occurs. I am forced to shut down the pc and run a CMOS. When I do this via the pins on the motherboard the time is saved. If, on the other hand, I remove the backup battery, the time is reset.

  4. #14
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 11 64bit Pro
    Network RouterPfSence Intel i5-10210U 6 Port
    Accessory #1 TP-Link Gigabit 8&6 Port Switches

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    1,251

    The reason I was asking is to see if you maybe had a dud BIOS battery.

    What is cooling the Ryzen 5 5600x ?

  5. #15
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by RedSector73 View Post
    The reason I was asking is to see if you maybe had a dud BIOS battery.

    What is cooling the Ryzen 5 5600x ?
    The battery I changed recently and I have no problems with it.
    The Ryzen 5 5600x is paired with a Be Quiet Pure Rock 2 cooler.

  6. #16
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 11 64bit Pro
    Network RouterPfSence Intel i5-10210U 6 Port
    Accessory #1 TP-Link Gigabit 8&6 Port Switches

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    1,251

    Quote Originally Posted by TheBigAndry View Post
    The Ryzen 5 5600x is paired with a Be Quiet Pure Rock 2 cooler.
    Can you watch this video and just check off it matches the install when you did it (make sure you put the rubber rings on first, etc).

  7. #17
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    Quote Originally Posted by TheBigAndry View Post
    The battery I changed recently and I have no problems with it.
    The Ryzen 5 5600x is paired with a Be Quiet Pure Rock 2 cooler.
    I suspect this is a BIOS issue.

    I have almost the same ram (I have 2 x 32GB DIMMs: BL2K32G36C16U4BL) tied to a Asus Crosshair VIII Impact. Never had any issues running it until BIOS 3601 (your BIOS version will be slightly different as you have a different board to me). From then on, I cannot get the PC to boot unless I disable XMP. It looks like other people with this RAM have reported some similar issues on Reddit.

    It is worth noting that on Crucial's own website, the RAM is 'guaranteed' to be 100% compatible, yet on the Asus website, it is not shown on their QVL. Asus therefore won't help you.

    Suggest you open up a ticket with Crucial and report your problems. The reality is that I think the newer BIOS versions released from around April onwards have an issue with this kit, and I suspect a few settings in the Auto profile re not being correctly applied. I have tried some manual settings myself, but sadly nothing has worked, but as all the previous older BIOSes (3501 and backwards) worked. As all the old BIOS versions worked, I am sure a BIOS update will solve the issue. Unfortunately Asus won't care so as Crucial (Micron) is guaranteeing compatibility on their website, you are best off contacting Crucial technical support and reporting the issue. They will then get in touch with Asus and come up with a solution (or alternatively honour their guarantee).
    Last edited by Daylight_Invader; 09-22-2021 at 11:38 AM. Reason: updated info

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •