Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Question G752VSK OC - Ram Speed/Timings

    I recently purchased a Asus G752VSK OC Edition (Core i7 7820HK, GTX 1070 8gb VRAM). I've been scouring the internet and cannot find any information regarding RAM speed, voltage, etc for this laptop. The original advertisement page is gone outlining the specs and many media resources merely state DDR4 16-32GB of RAM.

    I have seen some outlets say 2400Mhz but i've seen others with 2666 and higher as well. The ram that is currently in the device is not stock so im unable to utilize that for reference.

    Any help would be appreciated.
    Jupiter III
    Model: ASUS ROG G752VSK OC Edition
    Screen: 17.3’ 120hz TN 1080p Screen
    CPU: Intel i7-7820HK 2.9/3.9GHz.
    Memory: Kingston Fury 32 GB DDR4 3200 MHz. RAM
    Graphics: Nvidia GTX 1070 8GB GDDR5
    Storage:1TB Samsung 970 EVO PLUS NVME SSD (OS) + 500GB Samsung 960 PRO NVME SSD (Docs/Scratch Disk) + 1TB Samsung 850 EVO SSD (Torrents) + 500GB Crucial MX300 SSD (Photoshop)
    NAS (n0x): 12TB Netgear ReadyNAS 104 (3)4TB HGST RED 7200RPM 128mb cache

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array Triton.se PC Specs
    Triton.se PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus ROG Strix G17 G713QR-HG022T
    MotherboardG713QR
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 5900HX
    Memory (part number)G.Skill RipJaws 3200MHz CL 22 1.2v 2x16GB
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA RTX 3070 115+15W
    MonitorAcer XV272UV 2560x1440 170Hz HDR400 (USB-C DP 1.4)
    Storage #11 TB NVMe original SK Hynix
    Storage #21 TB NVMe Kingston KC2500
    Power Supply240W power-brick
    Keyboard Corsair K55 RGB
    Mouse Deltaco DM210
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Small
    Headset/Speakers AKG K530

    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    62

    dunno if this is the exact same, title in review says Asus ROG G752VS OC Edition

    DDR4 SDRAM 2,800MHz

    https://www.cnet.com/reviews/asus-ro...dition-review/

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    So I received the laptop and attempted to utilize RAM I had around. Surprisingly I was able to get 8GB DDR4 3200MHz @ 22 CAS running with no issues. However, I attempted to buy similar RAM (2 KLEVV, 2 GSKILL) with same voltage, timings, etc and none will allow boot to bios. Does anyone have any additional insight?
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos unknown.png  

    Jupiter III
    Model: ASUS ROG G752VSK OC Edition
    Screen: 17.3’ 120hz TN 1080p Screen
    CPU: Intel i7-7820HK 2.9/3.9GHz.
    Memory: Kingston Fury 32 GB DDR4 3200 MHz. RAM
    Graphics: Nvidia GTX 1070 8GB GDDR5
    Storage:1TB Samsung 970 EVO PLUS NVME SSD (OS) + 500GB Samsung 960 PRO NVME SSD (Docs/Scratch Disk) + 1TB Samsung 850 EVO SSD (Torrents) + 500GB Crucial MX300 SSD (Photoshop)
    NAS (n0x): 12TB Netgear ReadyNAS 104 (3)4TB HGST RED 7200RPM 128mb cache

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    75
    Posts
    792

    My ASUS G752VSK came with one 16GB stick of Apacer DDR4-2800 installed. I then installed two more 16GB sticks of Apacer DDR-4-2800.

    Apacer NOX DDR4 SODIMM part number ES.16G2W.GFE
    https://www.mouser.com/datasheet/2/2..._R-1518490.pdf
    https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail...Nkk26VKA%3D%3D

    I removed the motherboard and added one module (Bank 0 Row 0) to the backside with the original memory module (Bank 1 Row 1). I then added the other module (Bank 0 Row 2) on the front side of the motherboard. Timing and speed matched the original memory module according to HWINFO.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos G752VSK Timing.png  

    Last edited by jdfrench3; 09-15-2021 at 09:07 PM. Reason: Additional information
    G752VSK, G75VW-3D, G51J, G1S
    Homebuilt Windows Server

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Thanks JDFrench. This is a perfect comparison and (as of right now) are the only other active user whom I can find that still has and uses this laptop.

    As my laptop was purchased second hand, it didnt have the original RAM - hopefully this thread will document for a future resource.

    My luck tested true with the random 8GB Kingston stick so I decided after the failure of both the GSkill/KLEVV to try one last Kingston.

    https://www.amazon.com/Kingston-Lapt...dp/B097TMQDS2/
    https://www.kingston.com/datasheets/KF432S20IBK2_16.pdf

    Lo and behold, it works. Why exactly, im still at a loss. I'll be going to a full 32GB but for now ill put them on the keyboard side of the board due to the access panel being easier for installation. See the attached screenshot for reference.

    Excited to find that 3200Mhz RAM works and that I'm getting every ounce of power out of the aging beast.

    Cheers
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos image2.jpg  

    Jupiter III
    Model: ASUS ROG G752VSK OC Edition
    Screen: 17.3’ 120hz TN 1080p Screen
    CPU: Intel i7-7820HK 2.9/3.9GHz.
    Memory: Kingston Fury 32 GB DDR4 3200 MHz. RAM
    Graphics: Nvidia GTX 1070 8GB GDDR5
    Storage:1TB Samsung 970 EVO PLUS NVME SSD (OS) + 500GB Samsung 960 PRO NVME SSD (Docs/Scratch Disk) + 1TB Samsung 850 EVO SSD (Torrents) + 500GB Crucial MX300 SSD (Photoshop)
    NAS (n0x): 12TB Netgear ReadyNAS 104 (3)4TB HGST RED 7200RPM 128mb cache

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    75
    Posts
    792

    So you installed two sticks of 8GB RAM? You installed both on the front side (keyboard) of the motherboard? Were there no RAM installed on the backside (easy access) of the motherboard? You planning on installed two more?

    What are your plans for your OS drive? You going to install a RAID O? My G752VSK has had a RAID configuration since new. I cloned the original OS from the PCIe M.2 SSDs to the SATA SSD, replaced the original two 256GB Samsung PCIe M.2s SSDs with two 512GB Samsung 960 Pro PCIe M.2 SSDs then cloned the OS back onto the new RAID 0 using a copy of the original Intel Rapid Storage RAID driver found in the eSupport folder. I also replaced the original 1TB SATA SSD with a 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD. I still have the original drives.

    I maintain a Windows Server 2016 to backup everything on three laptops across the home network.
    G752VSK, G75VW-3D, G51J, G1S
    Homebuilt Windows Server

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array Triton.se PC Specs
    Triton.se PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus ROG Strix G17 G713QR-HG022T
    MotherboardG713QR
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 5900HX
    Memory (part number)G.Skill RipJaws 3200MHz CL 22 1.2v 2x16GB
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA RTX 3070 115+15W
    MonitorAcer XV272UV 2560x1440 170Hz HDR400 (USB-C DP 1.4)
    Storage #11 TB NVMe original SK Hynix
    Storage #21 TB NVMe Kingston KC2500
    Power Supply240W power-brick
    Keyboard Corsair K55 RGB
    Mouse Deltaco DM210
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Small
    Headset/Speakers AKG K530

    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    62

    I also have a laptop from 2016, never even thought about what memory speed it was capable of, tested this summer while my main laptop was at service.

    It had 2133MHz CL15 and I inserted 2x16GB 3200MHz CL22 (with SPD table covering 3200, 2933, 2667, 2400, 2133MHz etc etc @ 1.2v), I knew 2400MHz would work and to my surprise laptop/memory worked at 2667MHz - ASUS ROG GL552VW with G.SKILL RipJaws 2x16GB CL22 1.2v

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    128
    Posts
    598

    only thing I can speak for is a G752vy and its 2400 1.35V max Gskill ripjaws but it came with 2133 hynix. Put 2800 in it and it still ran 2400. Tried to force it with XTU and had to tear it down completely to get to cmos battery to reset.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Quote Originally Posted by jdfrench3 View Post
    So you installed two sticks of 8GB RAM? You installed both on the front side (keyboard) of the motherboard? Were there no RAM installed on the backside (easy access) of the motherboard? You planning on installed two more?

    What are your plans for your OS drive? You going to install a RAID O? My G752VSK has had a RAID configuration since new. I cloned the original OS from the PCIe M.2 SSDs to the SATA SSD, replaced the original two 256GB Samsung PCIe M.2s SSDs with two 512GB Samsung 960 Pro PCIe M.2 SSDs then cloned the OS back onto the new RAID 0 using a copy of the original Intel Rapid Storage RAID driver found in the eSupport folder. I also replaced the original 1TB SATA SSD with a 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD. I still have the original drives.

    I maintain a Windows Server 2016 to backup everything on three laptops across the home network.
    Yes, I installed two 8GB (16GB Total) sticks on the front side (keyboard) of the motherboard. I have exp tearing down a G752VW so the process was easy and the internals needed a good blow out of dust etc before screwing it all back up. I plan adding two additional 8GB sticks for a full total of 32GB of RAM with these going on the access panel side. This is the RAM that ended up working in the end FURY KF432S20IBK2/16.

    In the two NVME Slots, I will not be going RAID 0 due to different size drives I already own; 1TB Samsung 970 EVO PLUS NVME SSD (OS) + 500GB Samsung 960 PRO NVME SSD (Docs/Scratch Disk). As the laptop was bought second hand on ebay, it did not contain the original drives, documentation etc. I'll throw a 2.5mm 1TB Samsung 850 EVO SSD (Torrents) into the 2.5 slot and replace the CD Drive with a CD Drive Caddy for another 500GB Crucial MX300 SSD for Photoshop files.
    Jupiter III
    Model: ASUS ROG G752VSK OC Edition
    Screen: 17.3’ 120hz TN 1080p Screen
    CPU: Intel i7-7820HK 2.9/3.9GHz.
    Memory: Kingston Fury 32 GB DDR4 3200 MHz. RAM
    Graphics: Nvidia GTX 1070 8GB GDDR5
    Storage:1TB Samsung 970 EVO PLUS NVME SSD (OS) + 500GB Samsung 960 PRO NVME SSD (Docs/Scratch Disk) + 1TB Samsung 850 EVO SSD (Torrents) + 500GB Crucial MX300 SSD (Photoshop)
    NAS (n0x): 12TB Netgear ReadyNAS 104 (3)4TB HGST RED 7200RPM 128mb cache

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •