Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 35
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    8-year-old Xeon with SLI Titans XPs is faster than 1-year-old 64core SLI 3090s

    Recently I decided to make a Franken-computer from old server parts and left-over video cards. But after speed testing it using Time Spy it is faster than my main rig. Looking for some help from the community to understand why my main rig is so comparatively slow in this test.

    My main rig specs:
    Dual water-cooled Asus RTX 3090 EKWB
    Water-cooled AMD 3990x with PBO enabled TRX40 Aorus Xtreme and 256gb of 3200mhz memory

    Second rig Franken-computer build:
    Dual water-cooled Titan Xps
    Water cooled dual E5-2687W-v2 with X9DAE supermicro and 64gb of 1867mhz memory

    The 3DMARK Time Spy Score of the older computer is 22% faster than my new computer. What is very odd when swap the video cards between my main computer and Franken-computer, my scores are relatively similar. These TitanXps should not by faster than Asus 3090s so I am at loss understanding the issue here. I thought it might be NVlink bridge so I have tried both an EVGA bridge and the factory Nvidia bridge. Same results on both. I ran nvidia-smi to make sure the nvlink is working and it is (I removed the UUID for this post.) Any help solving this issue would be greatly appreciated.

    C:\WINDOWS\system32>nvidia-smi nvlink --status -i 1
    GPU 1: NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090 (UUID: GPU-xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx)
    Link 0: 14.062 GB/s
    Link 1: 14.062 GB/s
    Link 2: 14.062 GB/s
    Link 3: 14.062 GB/s

    C:\WINDOWS\system32>nvidia-smi nvlink --status -i 0
    GPU 0: NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090 (UUID: GPU-xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx)
    Link 0: 14.062 GB/s
    Link 1: 14.062 GB/s
    Link 2: 14.062 GB/s
    Link 3: 14.062 GB/s

    Here are my scorers from the rig with 1-year-old parts and 8-year-old parts.








  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Braegnok PC Specs
    Braegnok PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XIII Apex
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-11900K
    Memory (part number)F4-5333C22D-16GVK
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia RTX 3090 FE
    MonitorAsus Swift PG32UQX
    Storage #1Seagate FireCuda 530
    CPU CoolerOptimus Signature V2
    CaseTT A700 TG
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Das Keyboard 4 Ultimate
    Mouse G502 Lightspeed
    Headset SteelSeries Arctis Pro
    OS Windows 11 Pro
    Braegnok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    219

    I would need to see the link to the result for the SLI 3090 Time Spy run to say exactly what the issue is. Need the Detailed Scores, Settings, and Run Details.

    Based on information in the screen shot it seems you are not running 2X 3090 in SLI. The Graphics Score is not even in line with a single 3090 @ default settings.

    Single 3090 Time Spy Graphics Score @ default settings should be in the 19K range, your screen shot is showing 12K for SLI.

    Single 3090 @ default settings. http://www.3dmark.com/spy/20243133

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Quote Originally Posted by Braegnok View Post
    I would need to see the link to the result for the SLI 3090 Time Spy run to say exactly what the issue is. Need the Detailed Scores, Settings, and Run Details.

    Based on information in the screen shot it seems you are not running 2X 3090 in SLI. The Graphics Score is not even in line with a single 3090 @ default settings.

    Single 3090 Time Spy Graphics Score @ default settings should be in the 19K range, your screen shot is showing 12K for SLI.

    Single 3090 @ default settings. http://www.3dmark.com/spy/20243133
    I apprentice your response. I ran the test again so I could get the URL did not even know it did that which is very cool BTW. Learn something every day.

    https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/65880585?

    As you can see it is 2x in SLI. I really want to understand why it runs so slow.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Braegnok PC Specs
    Braegnok PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XIII Apex
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-11900K
    Memory (part number)F4-5333C22D-16GVK
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia RTX 3090 FE
    MonitorAsus Swift PG32UQX
    Storage #1Seagate FireCuda 530
    CPU CoolerOptimus Signature V2
    CaseTT A700 TG
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Das Keyboard 4 Ultimate
    Mouse G502 Lightspeed
    Headset SteelSeries Arctis Pro
    OS Windows 11 Pro
    Braegnok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    219

    Thanks NeoXanthus,

    Having the detailed scores, settings helps. I only notice few things that could be causing an SLI performance hit, your system memory speed, memory timings impact your performance, but I would not think the memory speed is the only issue.

    The third graphics card ATI Radeon HD 5450 could be causing an issue, aside from using PCIe lanes that type card does not use CF straps it uses the PCIe lanes for crossfire, this could be causing an issue with your SLI configuration. What is the PCIe lane speed your SLI is running @ is it running 3.0 x16 speed.

    Which slot is the HD 5450 card in, can you pull the card, if so please do,.. run Time Spy without the HD 5450 and see if that resolves the issue.
    Last edited by Braegnok; 09-09-2021 at 11:04 PM.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Quote Originally Posted by Braegnok View Post
    Thanks NeoXanthus,

    Having the detailed scores, settings helps. I only notice few things that could be causing an SLI performance hit, your system memory speed is 3,172 MHz that does impact your performance, but I would not think the memory speed is the only issue.

    The third graphics card ATI Radeon HD 5450 could be causing an issue, aside from using PCIe lanes that type card does not use CF straps it uses the PCIe lanes for crossfire, this could be causing an issue with your SLI configuration. What is the PCIe lane speed your SLI is running @ is it running 3.0 x16 speed.

    Which slot is the HD 5450 card in, can you pull the card, if so please do,.. run Time Spy without the HD 5450 and see if that resolves the issue.
    The memory is 3200mhz, which is the correct speed for the 3990x Threadripper. I have already tested this via the SPD overclock to 3600mhz. However, it does not make much difference in performance as the latency is also increased in the profile.

    https://en.wikichip.org/wiki/amd/ryz...D3200%20memory.

    I will pull the 5450 ATI card to see if it makes a difference and rerun. I use this oddball card to light up two old monitors for my coding work.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    I removed the ATI card.

    https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/65888265?

    No change in results.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Braegnok PC Specs
    Braegnok PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XIII Apex
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-11900K
    Memory (part number)F4-5333C22D-16GVK
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia RTX 3090 FE
    MonitorAsus Swift PG32UQX
    Storage #1Seagate FireCuda 530
    CPU CoolerOptimus Signature V2
    CaseTT A700 TG
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Das Keyboard 4 Ultimate
    Mouse G502 Lightspeed
    Headset SteelSeries Arctis Pro
    OS Windows 11 Pro
    Braegnok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    219

    That is vary strange indeed, your system should be getting 30K + graphics score with SLI 3090 4.0 X 16 configuration.

    The graphics score weight, equal to 0.85 and the CPU score weight, equal to 0.15 is how 3DMark Time Spy score is calculated, your raw performance Graphics Test is taking a huge hit. https://support.benchmarks.ul.com/en...re-calculated-

    That is crazy, I have run SLI configurations in the past, and have never seen this type scaling, raw performance results in Time Spy.

    Hopefully someone else will chime-in with some helpful advice.
    Last edited by Braegnok; 09-10-2021 at 12:14 AM.

  8. #8
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    344
    Posts
    8,025

    What's the score like with SLI disabled?
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Quote Originally Posted by xeromist View Post
    What's the score like with SLI disabled?
    https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/65894401?

    Slightly faster with SLI disabled, I do not understand.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Braegnok PC Specs
    Braegnok PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XIII Apex
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-11900K
    Memory (part number)F4-5333C22D-16GVK
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia RTX 3090 FE
    MonitorAsus Swift PG32UQX
    Storage #1Seagate FireCuda 530
    CPU CoolerOptimus Signature V2
    CaseTT A700 TG
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Das Keyboard 4 Ultimate
    Mouse G502 Lightspeed
    Headset SteelSeries Arctis Pro
    OS Windows 11 Pro
    Braegnok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    219

    Hello NeoXanthus,

    I have a few more questions that might help us figure this out.

    Please list your power supply, how old is your power supply, are you using Nvidia OEM 12-pin power cables with your cards.

    Can you Enable Hardware Monitoring in Time Spy to provide graphs during run. Also can you open HWiNFO64 and have it open/running in your taskbar during the run.

    Having real-time information during the run might shed some light on your issue, Total GPU Power, GPU Temps, PCIe Link Speed, GPU Memory Clocks,..

    After running Time Spy bring HWiNFO64 up from taskbar, I just ran Time Spy in default settings so we have data to compare, try to figure this out.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Time Spy HWiNFO64.jpg 
Views:	11 
Size:	516.1 KB 
ID:	89931

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •