Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 35
  1. #11
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    My power supply is about 1 year old. I bought the biggest best one I could find at the time. It is a 2000watt EVGA supernova it is connected to NEMA L6-30 to IEC C19 cable.

    Here is a picture of my PS.

    https://i.imgur.com/g0YIRsM.jpg

    Here is a picture of 3dspy w/ HWinfo.

    https://i.imgur.com/0jQQaCi.png

    Here is the 3dmark link.

    https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/65920838

    Also here the exact cards they are ASUS EKWB 3090's they use dual 8pins so they should be good for 350 watts of power.

    https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards...RTX3090-24G-EK
    Last edited by NeoXanthus; 09-10-2021 at 09:41 PM.

  2. #12
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Braegnok PC Specs
    Braegnok PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XIII Apex
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-11900K
    Memory (part number)F4-5333C22D-16GVK
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia RTX 3090 FE
    MonitorAsus Swift PG32UQX
    Storage #1Seagate FireCuda 530
    CPU CoolerOptimus Signature V2
    CaseTT A700 TG
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Das Keyboard 4 Ultimate
    Mouse G502 Lightspeed
    Headset SteelSeries Arctis Pro
    OS Windows 11 Pro
    Braegnok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    222

    OK,..
    Your system info during the Time Spy run is on the right, mine is on the left running default settings.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	OP on the right.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	238.5 KB 
ID:	89944

    Compairing power consumption during the run,.. seems your cards are drawing much lower power than mine.

    Not shure if that is the issue, as your power supply, cables seem fine,.. perhaps your cards run at 100%, under load on lower voltage.

    Sorry I still do not see anything to confirm reason for the performance loss.
    Last edited by Braegnok; 09-11-2021 at 01:46 PM.

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 11 64bit Pro
    Network RouterPfSence Intel i5-10210U 6 Port
    Accessory #1 TP-Link Gigabit 8&6 Port Switches

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    1,235

    OP, can you run Userbench and then provide link your end results, I'll take a look.
    https://www.userbenchmark.com/

    something is not right.

  4. #14
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Quote Originally Posted by Braegnok View Post
    OK,..
    Your system info during the Time Spy run is on the right, mine is on the left running default settings.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	OP on the right.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	238.5 KB 
ID:	89944

    Compairing power consumption during the run,.. seems your cards are drawing much lower power than mine.

    Not shure if that is the issue, as your power supply, cables seem fine,.. perhaps your cards run at 100%, under load on lower voltage.

    Sorry I still do not see anything to confirm reason for the performance loss.

    You are correct; your card is precisely at the TDP power of 350 watts recommended by Nvidia.

    I ran HWiNFO64 and looked at my Asus 3090 EKWB the sensors under the GPU Performance Limits section. “GPU Performance Limits” states that “GPU performance is reduced from maximum due to SLI GPU Boost Sync.” Is there any way to change this behavior? It seems the cards are auto throttling power because there are two cards in the system?

    https://i.imgur.com/4BmHoA6.png

    How do I fix this issue short of selling my cards and find replacements from a different vendor? The problem follows these Asus cards, not the computer. When I put the cards in my second workstation, the scores were very similar, just slightly slower due to the CPUs. Conversely, when I put TitanXPs cards back in my main AMD workstation, my scores were around 16k

  5. #15
    ROG Enthusiast Array Grimpak PC Specs
    Grimpak PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus XIII Apex
    Processori9 11900f
    Graphics Card #1Watercooled MSI Vega 64 Airboost OC
    Sound CardSteelseries GameDac
    Storage #1WD SN850 500GB
    Storage #2Raid0'ed 2xWD SN550 1TB
    CPU CoolerModified EK-MLC Phoenix + Eisbaer aurora 360
    CaseCooler Master SL600M Black Edition
    Power SupplySeasonic Focus gold 1000w
    Keyboard Steelseries Apex Pro
    Mouse Steelseries Rival 710

    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    52

    Quote Originally Posted by NeoXanthus View Post
    The memory is 3200mhz, which is the correct speed for the 3990x Threadripper. I have already tested this via the SPD overclock to 3600mhz. However, it does not make much difference in performance as the latency is also increased in the profile
    you can supertune it (fiddle with the primary and secondary timings). However that is a very time-consuming effort, I must tell you. Considering zen2 specs, there is benefit to bring the memory up to speed of the infinity fabric (Fclk). To note that since ram runs at double data rate, that actually means half of the ddr speed too. Fclck on zen2 usually sits on the 1800mhz, so pulling speed up to 3600mhz and then finetune timings can bring extra performance to the table.

    Now for the issue at hand, maybe there's a bios setting we're ignoring?

  6. #16
    ROG Enthusiast Array Grimpak PC Specs
    Grimpak PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus XIII Apex
    Processori9 11900f
    Graphics Card #1Watercooled MSI Vega 64 Airboost OC
    Sound CardSteelseries GameDac
    Storage #1WD SN850 500GB
    Storage #2Raid0'ed 2xWD SN550 1TB
    CPU CoolerModified EK-MLC Phoenix + Eisbaer aurora 360
    CaseCooler Master SL600M Black Edition
    Power SupplySeasonic Focus gold 1000w
    Keyboard Steelseries Apex Pro
    Mouse Steelseries Rival 710

    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    52

    Quote Originally Posted by NeoXanthus View Post
    How do I fix this issue short of selling my cards and find replacements from a different vendor? The problem follows these Asus cards, not the computer. When I put the cards in my second workstation, the scores were very similar, just slightly slower due to the CPUs. Conversely, when I put TitanXPs cards back in my main AMD workstation, my scores were around 16k

    go to the drivers, raise power limit? or use afterburner to raise power limit?

  7. #17
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Quote Originally Posted by RedSector73 View Post
    OP, can you run Userbench and then provide link your end results, I'll take a look.
    https://www.userbenchmark.com/

    something is not right.
    https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/46181797

    I don't think that is the right test as it only test a single card.

  8. #18
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Quote Originally Posted by Grimpak View Post
    go to the drivers, raise power limit? or use afterburner to raise power limit?
    I tried, does not change the outcome like it is locked by the bios.

  9. #19
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Braegnok PC Specs
    Braegnok PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XIII Apex
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-11900K
    Memory (part number)F4-5333C22D-16GVK
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia RTX 3090 FE
    MonitorAsus Swift PG32UQX
    Storage #1Seagate FireCuda 530
    CPU CoolerOptimus Signature V2
    CaseTT A700 TG
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Das Keyboard 4 Ultimate
    Mouse G502 Lightspeed
    Headset SteelSeries Arctis Pro
    OS Windows 11 Pro
    Braegnok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    222

    Quote Originally Posted by NeoXanthus View Post
    You are correct; your card is precisely at the TDP power of 350 watts recommended by Nvidia.

    I ran HWiNFO64 and looked at my Asus 3090 EKWB the sensors under the GPU Performance Limits section. “GPU Performance Limits” states that “GPU performance is reduced from maximum due to SLI GPU Boost Sync.” Is there any way to change this behavior? It seems the cards are auto throttling power because there are two cards in the system?

    https://i.imgur.com/4BmHoA6.png

    How do I fix this issue short of selling my cards and find replacements from a different vendor? The problem follows these Asus cards, not the computer. When I put the cards in my second workstation, the scores were very similar, just slightly slower due to the CPUs. Conversely, when I put TitanXPs cards back in my main AMD workstation, my scores were around 16k
    I would try Afterburner, see if you can remove performance limits, and adjust power limit.

    You will need the newest Afterburner 4.6.4 Beta 3 Version. And turn the power selection on in the settings.
    Last edited by Braegnok; 09-11-2021 at 10:59 PM.

  10. #20
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Quote Originally Posted by Braegnok View Post
    I would try Afterburner, see if you can remove performance limits, and adjust power limit.

    You will need the newest Afterburner 4.6.4 Beta 3 Version. And turn the power selection on in the settings. https://youtu.be/KLB8TyCuK4w
    Thank you for the suggestion, but I already use the newest MSI afterburner. Setting the power is not changing anything. The result still never throttles up all the way.

    I just tried an OpenGL program Luxmark (which I believe does not use the SLI bridge), I can get the cards to go 100% power TDP power.

    https://i.imgur.com/kWJgpjk.png

    I believe there is something on these 3090 ASUS EKEB cards to kneecap their performance via power if using the SLI bridged. How can I fix this?

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •