cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Issue with ROG STRIX GL502VM fan system only max speed

4legal
Level 7
I have been experiencing this problem for many months, the CPU fan goes from 0 to max rpm even in idle. If I stop the mouse, the fan stops. If I move just one window (I can't upload the video, just a pic) the CPU fan goes to maximum speed.
Thermal paste is ok (I changed it every 6 months), the CPU is really in idle as u can see, the BIOS is updated (year 2019 because ASUS doesn't like to update often, and also GL502VM BIOS is really horrible, with no advanced option). Also temperatures are ok as u can see.
I'm trying to solve this problem long since and I didn't find solutions, tried CMOS reset, clean windows install, FanSpeed, NOTHING WORKS.
I'm a computer expert but this PC makes me feel stupid, seems that fan PWM sometimes doesn't work.
Maybe this problem started when I updated the bios to 304, but I'm not sure. It's sure that this is unacceptable.

Another little thing, with that BIOS update, ASUS also disabled my onBoard Graphics (idk why) so my pc has to use only the dedicated one for everything.

I'm really disappointed, maybe I will never buy an asus rog again.
Please, help me to find a solution. RMA is not a solution.
7 REPLIES 7

STARRAIN_ROG
Customer Service Agent
Hi 4legal,

Which mode(Silent / Balanced / Overboost) do you select in gaming center?
May I have a screenshot or video of the CPU fan speed(rpm) information in gaming center and the version of gaming center?
How do you think onBoard Graphics is disabled?
Please send the product serial number to me via pm.
Thank you.

STARRAIN@ROG wrote:
Hi 4legal,

Which mode(Silent / Balanced / Overboost) do you select in gaming center?
May I have a screenshot or video of the CPU fan speed(rpm) information in gaming center and the version of gaming center?
How do you think onBoard Graphics is disabled?
Please send the product serial number to me via pm.
Thank you.