Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Where is the G513QY CMOS battery

    Two months ago I bought a ROG Strix G15 model G513QY (Advantage Edition). A week ago it didn’t start and it shows no light indicators, not even the one that shows that it’s connected to the A/C adaptor. I tried the typical resets holding the power button for 1 minute, with and without the battery, but it still doesn’t work. I removed the RAM and put it back in also.*

    I can’t send it to warranty right now because*I bought it in the USA, but I’m outside of the country and will be for at least another four months. And the Asus center in the country where I am is closed because of “reasons” concerning COVID. I already exhausted my options talking to the meager customer service.*

    The last that I’m left with is to do a BIOS reset.*Can anyone please tell me if this motherboard has a CMOS battery, and if so, where would that be located in the motherboard? How do I access it? Or if it doesn’t have one, how can I reset the BIOS?

    Thanks a lot for any help you can give me. *

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    128
    Posts
    601

    They all have a CMOS battery, unfortunately on laptops they are not easy to get to. Had to Pull the CMOS battery on my G752VY and it took a complete disassembly including pulling the motherboard as is was taped to the bottom...and I do mean complete disassembly, wasnt another thing left to take out when I got to the battery. I made an extension and it now resides in the user service area taped under one of the NVME drives so I can get to it if I need to again in the future.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Thanks

    Quote Originally Posted by BigJohnny View Post
    They all have a CMOS battery, unfortunately on laptops they are not easy to get to. Had to Pull the CMOS battery on my G752VY and it took a complete disassembly including pulling the motherboard as is was taped to the bottom...and I do mean complete disassembly, wasnt another thing left to take out when I got to the battery. I made an extension and it now resides in the user service area taped under one of the NVME drives so I can get to it if I need to again in the future.
    Thanks for answering. I dont know how to do that job. I may have to pay someone to do it or wait another 4 months until I get to the states to send it to warranty.

  4. #4
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    344
    Posts
    8,020

    The symptom you describe might also be due to a failed A/C adapter. If the battery is stone dead and the adapter is not providing any power then you wouldn't get a light. If you or someone you know has a multimeter you could check if you are getting voltage from the barrel connector. Unfortunately this will not completely test the power adapter since it's possible to read voltage from an adapter that fails under load but it's something.

    If you wish to try another adapter you need to make sure:
    the output voltage is the same (IMPORTANT)
    that the wattage or amperage rating is at least as much as yours (bigger is ok, smaller is not)
    and the barrel connector needs to be the same size of course. If the electrical values are compatible there are physical adapters available to change barrel size.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  5. #5
    Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    236

    Hi memolano,

    Please also refer to the instructions in the following link.
    https://www.asus.com/support/FAQ/1014276/
    If it is still the same, please issue RMA after back to USA.
    Thank you.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by xeromist View Post
    The symptom you describe might also be due to a failed A/C adapter. If the battery is stone dead and the adapter is not providing any power then you wouldn't get a light. If you or someone you know has a multimeter you could check if you are getting voltage from the barrel connector. Unfortunately this will not completely test the power adapter since it's possible to read voltage from an adapter that fails under load but it's something.

    If you wish to try another adapter you need to make sure:
    the output voltage is the same (IMPORTANT)
    that the wattage or amperage rating is at least as much as yours (bigger is ok, smaller is not)
    and the barrel connector needs to be the same size of course. If the electrical values are compatible there are physical adapters available to change barrel size.
    I did check the A/C adapter with a multimeter. I even checked the port on the motherboard and it shows the right voltage.Â*

  7. #7
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    344
    Posts
    8,020

    Sounds like you did what you could. I think an RMA is in order. Maybe find a friend or family member in the US that can act as an intermediary?
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •