Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Snoopwolf PC Specs
    Snoopwolf PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 5900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro SL 2x16GB 3200MHz
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG STRIX GTX 1080ti
    MonitorAsus VG248QE / Asus TUF VG27WQHD
    Storage #1Western Digital WD Black SN850 NVME M.2 SSD 500GB
    Storage #2Western Digital WD Black SN750 NVME M.2 SSD 1TB
    CPU CoolerEKWB Supremacy EVO w/ 2x 480mm Rads
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000x
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Blue switch Red LED
    Mouse Corsair Nightsword RGB
    Headset ATH-M50X/ATGM2 MIC
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bits
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC5300

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Exclamation New Ryzen 5000 Build Troubleshooting Help

    Hello, I wasn't sure where to put it so I hope it's fine here. I've been trying to figure out what's up with my pc but so far I'm puzzled.

    I've built a new pc less than a month ago and been having a few hiccups. The issue is every few hours or so, the entire pc will stutter/lag for a very brief time (typically roughly 1/2 to 3 sec.). This affect both the visual and audio aspects of whatever I'm doing. Everything slows down and the audio gets distorted. It doesn't appear to mater what kind of load is put on the system, I could be browsing the internet/watching videos up to playing intensive games for hours and I will still get that problem.

    I've tried many things and I'm at a point where I might have to swap major components/start almost from zero to potentially fix the issue. Before going down that road, I'd be happy if I could get some opinions or advice. I'll be listing my build below and what I've tried so far to solve the issue.

    Build:

    -OS: Windows 10 Home 64-bit (10.o, Build 19043)

    -Motherboard: Asus ROG Crosshair VII Dark Hero X570 (BIOS 3801)

    -CPU: AMD Ryzen 9 5900x*

    -RAM: Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro SL 2x16GB 3200MHz (CMH32GX4M2E3200C16)

    -GPU: Asus ROG Strix GTX 1080 ti 11G*

    -Storage: 1x Western Digital WD Black SN850 NVME M.2 SSD PCIE Gen4x4 (500GB)
    1x Western Digital WD Black SN750 NVME M.2 SSD PCIE Gen3x4 w/ Heatsink (1TB)

    -PSU: Corsair RM1000x (2021) 1000W

    -Case: Corsair Obsidian 900D

    *Both CPU and GPU are watercooled using EK waterblocks, D5 pump and 2x480mm radiators so overheating shouldn't be an issue.

    Tried so far:

    -Most recent BIOS vs Older BIOS

    -Changing BIOS settings: C-states on/off; PCIE Gen 4/3/Auto; Stock CPU/slight PBO undervolting; Stock/Auto/DOCP RAM profiles

    -Running Disk check and system check multiple times. Found some corrupted files once (out of 10+ scans) and corrected them

    -Running Memtest86 => Passed every time I ran it.

    -Fresh windows install along fresh drivers (chipset, graphics, audio, etc) => tried multiple times with older and newer versions and followed installation guides for the Realtek Audio Drivers, DDU clean Nvidia driver install/Geforce/Standalone...

    -Changing power plans Balanced/Max performance along with removing any power saving settings for all devices (ethernet, gpu, etc)

    -Install/Un-installed softwares: Armory Crate, Asus AI suite, Corsair iCUE, along with some apps and other less critical programs to try to keep the install clean.

    -Running on WI-FI vs Ethernet (Keep getting a warning in the event viewer that the Intel I211 Gigabit Network link is disconnected even when not in use event ID 27)

    -Manually disabling HEPT, unused/non critical services and most programs in startup

    -Cleanup Windows (Storage sense/Temp files); Turn off unused windows features like notifications and tablet mode; Adjust System settings for performance.

    -Set devices drivers to run on MSI vs IRQ; Disable temporarily unused devices drivers

    -Brand new surge protector power bar (to rule out the older one even though it seems to work fine)

    -GPU powered by 2 separate 2+6 cables vs 1 split 2x 2+6; Also tried my older Asus Strix GTX 970 4GB (Been sitting in it's box for a couple of years and I don't remember if it had any sort of issue or if it was running fine); Tried on both top and middle PCIE slots.

    -Single vs Dual Monitor + HDMI vs DisplayPort (If I plug only my 1440p monitor in the first DP the VGA white light stays ON (motherboard). Potentially due to my pc booting faster then that monitor. When I plug just my 1080p or my 1080p in the 1st DP and my 1440p in the second one, no VGA white light on the motherboard)

    -Before using the brand new Corsair RM1000x I was using a Corsair RM850i => Not a PSU issue

    -I was using a Ryzen 7 5800x before switching to a Ryzen 9 5900x => Not a CPU issue

    -Fans and water pump appears to be running normally (no crazy noise/RPM); No CPU thermal throttling; GPU is running at very most under stress around 40-50°c

    -Finally I've tried to swap both M.2 SSDs from top and bottom ports and only running the OS (WD SN850) one with some older SATA SSDs

    Potential routes I have in mind as of now:

    1- I haven't tried installing the OS on older drives/Ruling out the WD SN850 since it's brand new and bought at the same time as my CPU/Motherboard. I might try it but I'm doubtful it will be any different.
    EDIT: Just ruled out the SN850. Installed my OS to a separate drive and removed the SN850 from the build and the issue still persists.

    2- My RAM isn't on the QVL of my motherboard but is advertised as being "optimized for Ryzen". I've had Intel builds before and never had RAM compatibility issues and might have overlooked that part. I wasn't aware that Ryzen tends to be picky on RAM before later reading about it but at the same time, and I could be wrong on this, I don't think I would be able to boot into Windows and do everyday stuff without crashing.

    3- My GPU was bought used a few years ago. Although I've never had issues with it before it doesn't mean it couldn't be malfunctioning and my older GTX 970 isn't necessarily a reference.

    4- Unlucky and less likely would be a faulty motherboard.

    That's all I have for now. Keep in mind all the things I tried that are listed are the ones I remember on the top of my head. I've read so much stuff online I might have tried some other tweaks/fixes that I don't remember. This issue is driving me nuts since I can't seem to put the finger on it regardless of what I do and I absolutely need to have this pc working for online CAD classes and work so RMA the motherboard would be a solution of last resort.

    Thank you for taking the time to read my post!
    Last edited by Snoopwolf; 09-19-2021 at 01:10 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 11 64bit Pro
    Network RouterPfSence Intel i5-10210U 6 Port
    Accessory #1 TP-Link Gigabit 8&6 Port Switches

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    1,235


  3. #3
    ROG Member Array Snoopwolf PC Specs
    Snoopwolf PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 5900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro SL 2x16GB 3200MHz
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG STRIX GTX 1080ti
    MonitorAsus VG248QE / Asus TUF VG27WQHD
    Storage #1Western Digital WD Black SN850 NVME M.2 SSD 500GB
    Storage #2Western Digital WD Black SN750 NVME M.2 SSD 1TB
    CPU CoolerEKWB Supremacy EVO w/ 2x 480mm Rads
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000x
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Blue switch Red LED
    Mouse Corsair Nightsword RGB
    Headset ATH-M50X/ATGM2 MIC
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bits
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC5300

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Quote Originally Posted by RedSector73 View Post
    Thanks for your input. I remember seeing one of these articles. My SN850 is installed on the top M.2 port which I believe is the CPU M.2 slot. The drive shouldn't be slowing down unless there's a bigger flaw/underlying design issue. In fact, I just ran Crystal Disk and the results seems to be in specs. Wouldn't hurt to try to rule it out definitively though.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	WD SN850.jpg 
Views:	26 
Size:	75.7 KB 
ID:	89975
    Last edited by Snoopwolf; 09-16-2021 at 03:53 AM.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 11 64bit Pro
    Network RouterPfSence Intel i5-10210U 6 Port
    Accessory #1 TP-Link Gigabit 8&6 Port Switches

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    1,235

    Western Digital will release a firmware update that eliminates a restriction in our product for this setting of MPS, expected to be available by July 12, 2021.

    For optimum SSD performance, Western Digital recommends that customers download the latest BIOS version and drivers for their system and connect the WD_BLACK SN850 directly to the processor/CPU M.2 slot.

    WD_BLACK SN850 customers can access/download the latest firmware via Western Digital Dashboard software. Once the firmware update is available, customers who open the Dashboard software will be prompted to make the update.

    Source: https://www.tomshardware.com/news/ne...d-x570-chipset

    Just check you have latest firmware installed for the M2 via WD software. Yes, Top is CPU M2 on this board.

    If this all check out and does not solve the issue,
    RAM - let's talk about it. Are you running DOCP DDR4@3200 with it ?
    Last edited by RedSector73; 09-16-2021 at 04:02 AM.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array Snoopwolf PC Specs
    Snoopwolf PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 5900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro SL 2x16GB 3200MHz
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG STRIX GTX 1080ti
    MonitorAsus VG248QE / Asus TUF VG27WQHD
    Storage #1Western Digital WD Black SN850 NVME M.2 SSD 500GB
    Storage #2Western Digital WD Black SN750 NVME M.2 SSD 1TB
    CPU CoolerEKWB Supremacy EVO w/ 2x 480mm Rads
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000x
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Blue switch Red LED
    Mouse Corsair Nightsword RGB
    Headset ATH-M50X/ATGM2 MIC
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bits
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC5300

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Quote Originally Posted by RedSector73 View Post
    Western Digital will release a firmware update that eliminates a restriction in our product for this setting of MPS, expected to be available by July 12, 2021.

    For optimum SSD performance, Western Digital recommends that customers download the latest BIOS version and drivers for their system and connect the WD_BLACK SN850 directly to the processor/CPU M.2 slot.

    WD_BLACK SN850 customers can access/download the latest firmware via Western Digital Dashboard software. Once the firmware update is available, customers who open the Dashboard software will be prompted to make the update.

    Source: https://www.tomshardware.com/news/ne...d-x570-chipset

    Just check you have latest firmware installed for the M2 via WD software. Yes, Top is CPU M2 on this board.

    If this all check out and does not solve the issue,
    RAM - let's talk about it. Are you running DOCP DDR4@3200 with it ?
    I do have the latest BIOS, WD Dashboard is installed and confirms I have the latest firmware.

    As for the RAM, I am indeed running DOCP @ 3200 with FCLK set to auto but also tried forced @ 1600. Aside from this, I haven't played with anything else. Voltage is set auto to 1.35

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array Snoopwolf PC Specs
    Snoopwolf PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 5900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro SL 2x16GB 3200MHz
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG STRIX GTX 1080ti
    MonitorAsus VG248QE / Asus TUF VG27WQHD
    Storage #1Western Digital WD Black SN850 NVME M.2 SSD 500GB
    Storage #2Western Digital WD Black SN750 NVME M.2 SSD 1TB
    CPU CoolerEKWB Supremacy EVO w/ 2x 480mm Rads
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000x
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Blue switch Red LED
    Mouse Corsair Nightsword RGB
    Headset ATH-M50X/ATGM2 MIC
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bits
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC5300

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Small update: Just ruled out the SN850. I've Installed my OS to a different drive and removed the SN850 from the build and the issue still persists. Still looking for a solution.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 11 64bit Pro
    Network RouterPfSence Intel i5-10210U 6 Port
    Accessory #1 TP-Link Gigabit 8&6 Port Switches

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    1,235

    You mention RAM and model number, but not the version number, check that your version number is identical to ones now marketed as 'ready for Ryzen'

    So, CMH32GX4M2E3200C16 V1.2 is not the same V1.0 or V1.3 and cant trust just model number for corsair ram.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array Snoopwolf PC Specs
    Snoopwolf PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 5900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro SL 2x16GB 3200MHz
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG STRIX GTX 1080ti
    MonitorAsus VG248QE / Asus TUF VG27WQHD
    Storage #1Western Digital WD Black SN850 NVME M.2 SSD 500GB
    Storage #2Western Digital WD Black SN750 NVME M.2 SSD 1TB
    CPU CoolerEKWB Supremacy EVO w/ 2x 480mm Rads
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000x
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Blue switch Red LED
    Mouse Corsair Nightsword RGB
    Headset ATH-M50X/ATGM2 MIC
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bits
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC5300

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    So there isn't any info on the box for the version of that RAM but on the sticker on the heat spreader it says 1.35V version 3.43. Corsairs' website does say it's compatible with x570 https://www.corsair.com/us/en/Catego...tab-tech-specs Can't find any more info than that.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 11 64bit Pro
    Network RouterPfSence Intel i5-10210U 6 Port
    Accessory #1 TP-Link Gigabit 8&6 Port Switches

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    1,235

    Only ever on the ram, the version number, and like I mentioned it can vary a lot just by version number, has in the past. Anyway, you mention tested ok.

    Do you have both E-ATX connectors (top left of motherboard) installed (it's long shot but deos not hurt to have both connected and yes I know what manual says and why there are two).

    Only other things to consider is overtightening of the cpu heatsink, or motherboard standoff screws or screw in wrong place, and backward cpu backing plate (if changed). Which I ruled these all out based on your first post, so not really sure about the cause here.



    I'm out of ideas thereafter.
    Last edited by RedSector73; 09-19-2021 at 07:13 AM.

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array NitrousX PC Specs
    NitrousX PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell G5 5587
    MotherboardAsus Rog VIII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorR9 5900X
    Memory (part number)GSkill F4-3200C14Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aoros Master RTX 3080
    MonitorLG 27GP950 x2
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo 1TB
    Storage #2WD Blue 4TB SSD
    CPU CoolerEKWB Velocity
    CaseFractal Design 7
    Power SupplySeasonic 850 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair K95
    Mouse Zowie EK
    Headset Sennheiser PC 38X Drop Edition
    Mouse Pad Anker Scrab
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z909 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by RedSector73 View Post
    Only ever on the ram, the version number, and like I mentioned it can vary a lot just by version number, has in the past. Anyway, you mention tested ok.

    Do you have both E-ATX connectors (top left of motherboard) installed (it's long shot but deos not hurt to have both connected and yes I know what manual says and why there are two).

    Only other things to consider is overtightening of the cpu heatsink, or motherboard standoff screws or screw in wrong place, and backward cpu backing plate (if changed). Which I ruled these all out based on your first post, so not really sure about the cause here.



    I'm out of ideas thereafter.
    Hi there mate, I had a similar issue myself my RAM with my Gskill 3200mhz modules would stutter or hiccup especially on the desktop. Was more noticeable as I have 2x High refresh screens. I did memtest it showed it passed ok. But if I ran OCCT Stress Test it would fail. I then swapped to my Corsair 2666mhz sticks both ran memtest and OCCT test ok they all passed. So I ended up removing each gskill stick running each test until i came across the faulty RAM. I ended up RMA the gskill modules and they replaced them. I did have to show the manufacturer screenshots of proof that the memory was not working.

    This is coming from someone that spent some time checking the QVL for my mobo Viii Crosshair Hero mobo with 5900x. So yeah i was a bit frustrated that the memory did not work out of the box as intended. But glad it was not the CPU though.

    So TLDR try using one stick at a time in OCCT Stress test and see if it passes if it does not it will show errors on the results screen. Let us know how you get on.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •