Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21
  1. #11
    ROG Member Array Snoopwolf PC Specs
    Snoopwolf PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 5900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro SL 2x16GB 3200MHz
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG STRIX GTX 1080ti
    MonitorAsus VG248QE / Asus TUF VG27WQHD
    Storage #1Western Digital WD Black SN850 NVME M.2 SSD 500GB
    Storage #2Western Digital WD Black SN750 NVME M.2 SSD 1TB
    CPU CoolerEKWB Supremacy EVO w/ 2x 480mm Rads
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000x
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Blue switch Red LED
    Mouse Corsair Nightsword RGB
    Headset ATH-M50X/ATGM2 MIC
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bits
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC5300

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    I know that for some people it did fix some similar issues as strange as it sounds but either configs for the E-ATX connectors (8 pins vs 8 + 4 pins) had no significant effect in my case.

    Unless the motherboard was somehow damaged when I installed the EK cpu water block, I've ruled out overtightening after trying an another AIO I had in backup which uses the stock AM4 mounts. Tightening slightly more then required with that cooler would only result in bending/flexing the fairly thin bracket holding the block/pump assembly. While testing this, I was running my setup out of the case on a non-conductive surface to rule out any case screws or standoffs potentially shorting. No luck there again.

    RAM passed Memtest86 so I just tried to stress test both sticks individually with OCCT. I'm limited to 1hour test with the free version so I'm not sure if it's enough to have errors show up but in the end, there were no errors, no BSOD or crash.

    What's even more strange is that yesterday I used my pc for a couple of hours until a short hiccup happened. After coming back from diner, I restarted the pc and it ran fine until I went to sleep fairly late into the night.

    Something else that I have noticed is that sometimes I'll randomly get temperatures spikes up to around 70-75°c (it was also doing this with the 5800x). I'm not sure if it could be related or not; Could just be my anti-virus, windows update or another app running in the back otherwise at idle/low load it's around 30-40°c and 60-ish on more moderate/high intensive loads (I thought I'd mention it after hearing about motherboards with faulty temp. probes). Since I've been used to cooler CPUs from Intel, It could mean nothing at all, I know AMD have their CPUs running fairly hot and I'm still getting used to this lmao.

    I'll keep monitoring and post up if anything else comes up. Thanks for the help so far, it's helping me a lot to rethink what I have or haven't tried or if I've made a mistake somewhere.

  2. #12
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 11 64bit Pro
    Network RouterPfSence Intel i5-10210U 6 Port
    Accessory #1 TP-Link Gigabit 8&6 Port Switches

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    1,226

    The temp is junction temp in the CPU, which is why see 70-75 suddenly, if you were not on water be like high 80's.

    Let's see if I understand correctly... as a summary.

    Your 5800x never had an issue like this, on the same motherboard using the same RAM.
    Your 5900x is having an issue, on the same motherboard using the same RAM.

    ------------------------------------------------------------

    Have we tried resetting the BIOS to factory defaults, then setting everything back to right not using a save profile ?

  3. #13
    ROG Member Array Snoopwolf PC Specs
    Snoopwolf PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 5900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro SL 2x16GB 3200MHz
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG STRIX GTX 1080ti
    MonitorAsus VG248QE / Asus TUF VG27WQHD
    Storage #1Western Digital WD Black SN850 NVME M.2 SSD 500GB
    Storage #2Western Digital WD Black SN750 NVME M.2 SSD 1TB
    CPU CoolerEKWB Supremacy EVO w/ 2x 480mm Rads
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000x
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Blue switch Red LED
    Mouse Corsair Nightsword RGB
    Headset ATH-M50X/ATGM2 MIC
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bits
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC5300

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Sorry I should have made it more clear in my original post, I was having the same issues with the 5800x and since the 5900x ended up being on sale, I decided to try changing for the 5900x to rule out a faulty CPU and getting a better one (two birds one stone kind of situation).

    Now that you mention it, I don't think I've tried to revert to factory BIOS. It was one of the first if not the first thing I updated on this build. If I recall correctly though, the BIOS version it came with wasn't particularly old/far behind the newest one but I guess it wouldn't hurt to try it. As far as BIOS settings, I believe I've tried using both default values and custom ones (DOCP + small undervolting) but I guess I could try again and make sure on that front too.

    I'll give it a try and see how it goes.
    Last edited by Snoopwolf; 09-20-2021 at 01:55 AM.

  4. #14
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 11 64bit Pro
    Network RouterPfSence Intel i5-10210U 6 Port
    Accessory #1 TP-Link Gigabit 8&6 Port Switches

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    1,226

    No undervolting either and see how it goes. Just DOCP and AUTO everything else.

  5. #15
    ROG Member Array Snoopwolf PC Specs
    Snoopwolf PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 5900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro SL 2x16GB 3200MHz
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG STRIX GTX 1080ti
    MonitorAsus VG248QE / Asus TUF VG27WQHD
    Storage #1Western Digital WD Black SN850 NVME M.2 SSD 500GB
    Storage #2Western Digital WD Black SN750 NVME M.2 SSD 1TB
    CPU CoolerEKWB Supremacy EVO w/ 2x 480mm Rads
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000x
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Blue switch Red LED
    Mouse Corsair Nightsword RGB
    Headset ATH-M50X/ATGM2 MIC
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bits
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC5300

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Quote Originally Posted by RedSector73 View Post
    No undervolting either and see how it goes. Just DOCP and AUTO everything else.
    Tried DOCP and everything else at stock settings/auto and issue showed up around 2 hours after bootup. That's on latest BIOS (3801). It might sound strange but I feel it took longer for the issue to show up with an undervolt of 10 compared to using stock settings. I wanna say roughly twice as long in between episodes.

  6. #16
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 11 64bit Pro
    Network RouterPfSence Intel i5-10210U 6 Port
    Accessory #1 TP-Link Gigabit 8&6 Port Switches

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    1,226

    Run memtest86 test with these default settings (DOCP / AUTO) and see if the ram throws errors
    https://www.memtest86.com/
    Last edited by RedSector73; 09-20-2021 at 02:46 PM.

  7. #17
    ROG Member Array Snoopwolf PC Specs
    Snoopwolf PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 5900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro SL 2x16GB 3200MHz
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG STRIX GTX 1080ti
    MonitorAsus VG248QE / Asus TUF VG27WQHD
    Storage #1Western Digital WD Black SN850 NVME M.2 SSD 500GB
    Storage #2Western Digital WD Black SN750 NVME M.2 SSD 1TB
    CPU CoolerEKWB Supremacy EVO w/ 2x 480mm Rads
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000x
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Blue switch Red LED
    Mouse Corsair Nightsword RGB
    Headset ATH-M50X/ATGM2 MIC
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bits
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC5300

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    So I ran memtest86 with the same settings (DOCP and everything else AUTO), 1 stick at a time, and there were no errors even though I was hoping something would show up. I don't know what to try next. Testing the GPU over several hours? Different set of Ram from QVL? New motherboard? Don't see that many options left. It's been pretty frustrating trying to find the source. Even though it will work fine 90% of the time with great performance, I have to be honest this whole thing made me question my build choices.
    Last edited by Snoopwolf; 09-21-2021 at 04:30 AM.

  8. #18
    ROG Member Array Snoopwolf PC Specs
    Snoopwolf PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 5900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro SL 2x16GB 3200MHz
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG STRIX GTX 1080ti
    MonitorAsus VG248QE / Asus TUF VG27WQHD
    Storage #1Western Digital WD Black SN850 NVME M.2 SSD 500GB
    Storage #2Western Digital WD Black SN750 NVME M.2 SSD 1TB
    CPU CoolerEKWB Supremacy EVO w/ 2x 480mm Rads
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000x
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Blue switch Red LED
    Mouse Corsair Nightsword RGB
    Headset ATH-M50X/ATGM2 MIC
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bits
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC5300

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    I decided trying with a different set of ram. The issue is still present.

  9. #19
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 11 64bit Pro
    Network RouterPfSence Intel i5-10210U 6 Port
    Accessory #1 TP-Link Gigabit 8&6 Port Switches

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    1,226

    Well, the odds of having two bad CPUs and two sets of RAM, must be close to zero. Have you hit ticked support on ASUS about RMA of motherboard because I can't think of anything else, you have trouble shot every thing else. What else could it be ?

  10. #20
    ROG Member Array Snoopwolf PC Specs
    Snoopwolf PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 5900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro SL 2x16GB 3200MHz
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG STRIX GTX 1080ti
    MonitorAsus VG248QE / Asus TUF VG27WQHD
    Storage #1Western Digital WD Black SN850 NVME M.2 SSD 500GB
    Storage #2Western Digital WD Black SN750 NVME M.2 SSD 1TB
    CPU CoolerEKWB Supremacy EVO w/ 2x 480mm Rads
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000x
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Blue switch Red LED
    Mouse Corsair Nightsword RGB
    Headset ATH-M50X/ATGM2 MIC
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bits
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC5300

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Ok so in a last ditch effort to try to resolve my problems before initiating a RMA process, I was poking around my case looking for anything I oversighted and one of my water cooling tube got loose and started leaking in my case (this is the kind of luck I've been having lately lol)... I ended up completely dismantling my pc to cleanup the mess it did, dry off everything overnight, and then redo the loop. After that little adventure, I then proceeded as follow:

    -Flash BIOS to older version for the Crosshair Dark Hero (3601 vs 3801 which is the newest) and then manually set RAM speed and timings everything else on auto.

    -Fresh windows install (No internet and therefore no Microsoft account linking)

    -Manual update of Nvidia Drivers, AMD Chipsets and other drivers (Downloaded beforehand on a USB drive)

    -Restart - Connect Wifi/ethernet - Windows Updates - Rinse repeat

    -Manually Install Realtek Audio Drivers following this procedure (Thanks to MoKiChU BTW) : https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...D-3xx-4xx-5xx)

    -Progressively re-install other drivers and softwares (Armoury Crate/Corsair iCue/etc)

    So far, I've used my pc for 8-12h for the past 2 days and I don't want to jinx myself but I'm happy to say I haven't had any major hiccup or stuttering issue since then. I'll still have to test running my RAM at higher speed since it's not running at full capacity and also maybe try again on the cpu undervolting. In any case, if the issue comes back then I'll start a RMA process but so far so good!

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •