Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array Rimc_LT PC Specs
    Rimc_LT PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VIII Hero Wi-Fi
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 5950X
    Memory (part number)Corsair VENGEANCE® RGB PRO 32GB DDR4 4x8 @3600 MHz CL16
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Nvidia RTX 3080 EAGLE
    MonitorDell Alienware AW3418DW 34'' 120Hz
    Storage #1Corsair MP600 1 TB Pcie4 Nvme
    Storage #2Corsair MP600 1 TB Pcie4 Nvme
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    CaseFractal Define 7
    Power SupplyCorsair HX 1050W
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 RGB MK.2 LP MX Speed
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Logitech G633 Artemis Spectrum RGB
    Mouse Pad ASUS Gaming Mouse Pad ROG SHEATH
    OS Windows 11 x64 PRO
    Network RouterTP-LINK N750
    Accessory #1 iCUE H150i ELITE CAPELLIX
    Accessory #2 Azeron Compact keypad
    Rimc_LT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    44

    5950x extreamly low L3 cache speed on 3801 BIOS

    I dont know then it started but today I saw that in AID64 my L3 speed is not normal does anyone have same.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ekrano nuotrauka 2021-09-16 224656.jpg 
Views:	60 
Size:	79.4 KB 
ID:	89987

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array Aysberg PC Specs
    Aysberg PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI EXTREME OMEGA
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-7980XE
    Memory (part number)4 x F4-3200C14-16GTZ
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080 Ti XC Ultra Gaming (11G-P4-2382)
    Graphics Card #2EVGA RTX 2080 Ti XC Gaming (11G-P4-2382)
    Monitor1x LG 34GK950G / 2 x HP DreamColor Z27x
    Storage #12 x Samsung NVMe 970 EVO 2TB / Samsung NVMe 3 x 960 EVO 1TB
    Storage #24 x SanDisk SDSSDHII960G
    CPU Coolercuplex kryos NEXT
    CaseLianLi PC-A75X
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1200i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
    Mouse Roccat LEADR
    Headset AKG K712 + ModMic 5
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 1909
    Network RouterMikroTik CRS317-1G-16S+RM
    Accessory #1 Mellanox ConnectX-3
    Accessory #2 Asus Hyper M.2 X16 Card

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    70

    I am using the 3801 bios on my Dark Hero and everything looks fine with my 5950x. At least I think.

    1264.7 GB/s Read 909.47 GB/s Write 1064.2 GB/s Copy 11.9 ns Latency

  3. #3
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    178
    Posts
    2,343

    I try not to get too hung up on synthetic tests like AIDA, as there's too many variables when measuring latencies this low, such as background activity and system overheads.


    All depends if it's having a tangible negative effect on system performance.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 11 64bit Pro
    Network RouterPfSence Intel i5-10210U 6 Port
    Accessory #1 TP-Link Gigabit 8&6 Port Switches

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    1,258

    Quote Originally Posted by Rimc_LT View Post
    I dont know then it started but today I saw that in AID64 my L3 speed is not normal does anyone have same.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ekrano nuotrauka 2021-09-16 224656.jpg 
Views:	60 
Size:	79.4 KB 
ID:	89987
    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone@ROG View Post
    I try not to get too hung up on synthetic tests like AIDA, as there's too many variables when measuring latencies this low, such as background activity and system overheads.
    If for example it was background activity and system overheads, I would expect all the scores inclusive the RAM to show the effect, not just L3 in my experience. Without knowing the test conditions it is hard to just write this off as normal in my view, even if there is background activity and system overheads above normal. I wonder if OP has any CPU OC running apart from DOCP.

    What I see from the result given is something isn't right and I have always found Aida, a reliable and capable tool. If you look more closely, all the L3 scores are crap with the last two scores in L3 posting in MB/s not GB/s, and the latency should be around 10 ns not 35 ns.

    OP - Just for comparison my 3900x scores for L3 are below from Aida. Your L1 & L2 scores are better than mine, and your RAM is where it should be as well. Also compare to Aysberg scores which also show significant difference in his system to your L3.

    3900x L3 Scores
    R 1110.8 GB/s
    W 1041.6 GB/s
    C 1179.3 GB/s
    L 9.9 ns.

    If you own Aida (not sure if the free version does it) then stress test would be worth running. It moniotrs background activity and system overheads and provides warnings if these are above normal ranges. While on this topic again, I vagely remember the memory test you ran (OP) in Aida, briefly locks background activity and system overheads during the test but could not confirm this thought, still nagging me that it does do something like this. As an example, the corsair software that runs RGB, actually stops cycling briefly (multiple times) during the test cycle which in my mind kinda confirms it does or maybe my system is having background activity and system overheads without the crap score L3 to match and I only have unicorn computer systems on which to test. More than happy to test 5950x for years if anyone want to give me one, Asus ??

    Another choice that is free, you can run userbench and post the link (which provides us some useable information and maybe some insight into what is going on) https://www.userbenchmark.com/

    Hope you find this helpful.
    Last edited by RedSector73; 09-18-2021 at 02:28 PM.

  5. #5
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    178
    Posts
    2,343

    Quote Originally Posted by RedSector73 View Post
    If for example it was background activity and system overheads, I would expect all the scores inclusive the RAM to show the effect, not just L3 in my experience.

    That would depend on what bus the workload is hitting, so bit of a nonsensical assumption!


    Makes more sense to test real world performance, that way you don't send the user on a goose chase.


    Here's a quick comparison.

    One run is with normal system background activity, the other is light load placed on the memory and cache. Most notably transfer speeds are not impacted as bandwidth is not an issue, however cache hierarchy takes a hit. L3 cache is impacted the most as this is not only the entry point in the cache hierarchy, but also the slowest, making it susceptible to transient changes in background activity.


    This isn't to say this is the is issue here, but it's one reason why performance monitoring is best left to real world tasks, and more to the point whether or not there is a tangible loss in performance



    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.JPG 
Views:	44 
Size:	66.3 KB 
ID:	90005

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture 1.JPG 
Views:	44 
Size:	62.7 KB 
ID:	90006
    Last edited by Silent Scone@ROG; 09-19-2021 at 08:17 AM.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 11 64bit Pro
    Network RouterPfSence Intel i5-10210U 6 Port
    Accessory #1 TP-Link Gigabit 8&6 Port Switches

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    1,258

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone@ROG View Post
    That would depend on what bus the workload is hitting, so bit of a nonsensical assumption!
    Maybe, what would be good real world test.
    Cinebench R20 or what flavour do you think would help OP determine if there is anything going on, to minmise the goose chase ?

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array Case-Schmiede PC Specs
    Case-Schmiede PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VIII Formula
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 5950x
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMT32GX4M4C3000C15 @ 3400
    Graphics Card #1Asus TUF RX 6900 XT
    MonitorSamsung Odyssey C34G55TWWR
    Storage #1Samsung 980 PRO
    Storage #2Samsung 970 EVO
    CPU CoolerEnermax Liqtech II 360
    CaseCoolermaster Mastercase 5 Pro
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000x
    Keyboard Logitech G815
    Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
    Headset JBL Quantum 600
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS WIN 10

    Join Date
    May 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by RedSector73 View Post
    Maybe, what would be good real world test.
    Cinebench R20 or what flavour do you think would help OP determine if there is anything going on, to minmise the goose chase ?
    I agree with that too. just test it in a benchmark.
    with my Crosshair viii formula version 3801 runs without problems.
    values are the same as with 3602
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos Screenshot 2021-09-23 170315.jpg  


  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array Rimc_LT PC Specs
    Rimc_LT PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VIII Hero Wi-Fi
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 5950X
    Memory (part number)Corsair VENGEANCE® RGB PRO 32GB DDR4 4x8 @3600 MHz CL16
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Nvidia RTX 3080 EAGLE
    MonitorDell Alienware AW3418DW 34'' 120Hz
    Storage #1Corsair MP600 1 TB Pcie4 Nvme
    Storage #2Corsair MP600 1 TB Pcie4 Nvme
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    CaseFractal Define 7
    Power SupplyCorsair HX 1050W
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 RGB MK.2 LP MX Speed
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Logitech G633 Artemis Spectrum RGB
    Mouse Pad ASUS Gaming Mouse Pad ROG SHEATH
    OS Windows 11 x64 PRO
    Network RouterTP-LINK N750
    Accessory #1 iCUE H150i ELITE CAPELLIX
    Accessory #2 Azeron Compact keypad
    Rimc_LT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    44

    It might be Windows 11 problem i think.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Hey now, at least your Aida benchmark does complete without crashing at an instant, requiring a full power cycle to the PSU and the system. For that is how Aida has been on my X570 Impact since BIOS 3204. The last time I was able to complete the benchmark was with 3003 and since then as soon as the memory read test begins, black screen - RAM fault LED on the MB, and no turn back other than with a power cycle. For reference, I haven't adjusted my RAM settings beyond DOCP, funny that.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array Rimc_LT PC Specs
    Rimc_LT PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VIII Hero Wi-Fi
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 5950X
    Memory (part number)Corsair VENGEANCE® RGB PRO 32GB DDR4 4x8 @3600 MHz CL16
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Nvidia RTX 3080 EAGLE
    MonitorDell Alienware AW3418DW 34'' 120Hz
    Storage #1Corsair MP600 1 TB Pcie4 Nvme
    Storage #2Corsair MP600 1 TB Pcie4 Nvme
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    CaseFractal Define 7
    Power SupplyCorsair HX 1050W
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 RGB MK.2 LP MX Speed
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Logitech G633 Artemis Spectrum RGB
    Mouse Pad ASUS Gaming Mouse Pad ROG SHEATH
    OS Windows 11 x64 PRO
    Network RouterTP-LINK N750
    Accessory #1 iCUE H150i ELITE CAPELLIX
    Accessory #2 Azeron Compact keypad
    Rimc_LT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    44

    Quote Originally Posted by yttersta View Post
    Hey now, at least your Aida benchmark does complete without crashing at an instant, requiring a full power cycle to the PSU and the system. For that is how Aida has been on my X570 Impact since BIOS 3204. The last time I was able to complete the benchmark was with 3003 and since then as soon as the memory read test begins, black screen - RAM fault LED on the MB, and no turn back other than with a power cycle. For reference, I haven't adjusted my RAM settings beyond DOCP, funny that.
    Hey. Its happening to me also. If I enable pbo vmax in BIOS, if I turn it off or leave on auto it can run. Try to turn it off or auto for yourself.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •