Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Asus Crosshair VIII Dark Hero with 3600Mhz ram - unstable

    Hi ROG team, I've been running the motherboard above with 5950x and 64GB RAM (Corsair CMH32GX4M2Z3600C18, 32gb kit x 2, 3600mhz).

    The system is unstable and in Prime95 I get immediately hardware rounding errors, OCCT throws hardware errors, too. This is with DOCP configured to 3600mhz.
    The moment i drop it to 3400mhz, system is stable and hardware errors go away.
    Where should i start looking next? different ram ? any settings i should look at?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 11 64bit Pro
    Network RouterPfSence Intel i5-10210U 6 Port
    Accessory #1 TP-Link Gigabit 8&6 Port Switches

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    1,235

    If the memory is new, you should RMA it.

    DDR4@3600 CL16 is ideal.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    i've had it for a few months, it's 3600cl18

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,698

    Quote Originally Posted by janskit22 View Post
    Hi ROG team, I've been running the motherboard above with 5950x and 64GB RAM (Corsair CMH32GX4M2Z3600C18, 32gb kit x 2, 3600mhz).

    The system is unstable and in Prime95 I get immediately hardware rounding errors, OCCT throws hardware errors, too. This is with DOCP configured to 3600mhz.
    The moment i drop it to 3400mhz, system is stable and hardware errors go away.
    Where should i start looking next? different ram ? any settings i should look at?
    Just to clarify: It seems your RAM consists of two kits at 32GB and if so this is a NO NO. Mixing kits like that is never a good idea and can/will cause issues. As it's explained well here and by RAM manufacturers, you should not combine kits but have a single matched kit that have been binned at the factory to prevent a mismatch.

    The 5950X officially supports up to 3200Mhz so there would be no D.O.C.P profile for easy overclocking at 3600mHZ.
    It will be the strength of the IMC that will determine if you will attain the rated frequency of your RAM and that there is no guarantee.

    The only better RAM would be a kit with lower CL say CL14 at 3200Mhz
    If you are able to Overclock to 3400Mhz and stable then leave it at that.

    What reason do you have for 64GB?
    Last edited by MeanMachine; 09-17-2021 at 09:43 AM.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    hi,

    to be honest mixed kits did cross my mind, perhaps I should change to a single kit.

    I will do some testing with one kit removed to see if that makes a difference.

    My reason for 64gb? lots of memory hungry VMWare workstation virtual machines.

    The 5950X officially supports up to 3200Mhz so there would be no D.O.C.P profile for easy overclocking at 3600mHZ.
    Interesting - there certainly is the DOCP-3597Mhz profile in my bios!
    Last edited by janskit22; 09-17-2021 at 10:00 AM.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 11 64bit Pro
    Network RouterPfSence Intel i5-10210U 6 Port
    Accessory #1 TP-Link Gigabit 8&6 Port Switches

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    1,235

    hmm if it's a mixed kit, try SOC of 1.1v to 1.15v and see how it goes.
    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...age#post840846
    Also make sure you kept the kits together, that is kit 1 in A2 & B2 and kit 2 in A1 & B1. (not sure - check the serial numbers to work out the kits again) You can also try swapiing the kits around if this still fails@ rated speed.

    The kit in A2 & B2 is used to determine the sub timings. You could also run kits on there own and use ZEN Timings to extract any differences in the kits and then manually tune, if the bump in SOC voltage does not get the job done and provide stabilty@rated speed.
    https://zentimings.protonrom.com/

    Quote Originally Posted by MeanMachine View Post
    The only better RAM would be a kit with lower CL say CL14 at 3200Mhz
    If you are able to Overclock to 3400Mhz and stable then leave it at that.
    Is that lowest for 64gb kit @3200 CL14 ?

    I run 32gb kit DDR4@3800 CL14 and pretty sure there is DDR4@3600 CL14 for 64gb kits
    https://www.gskill.com/product/165/3...0C14Q2-64GTZNB
    https://www.gskill.com/product/165/3...600C14Q-64GTZN

    Quote Originally Posted by janskit22 View Post
    perhaps I should change to a single kit.
    If you are changing, look at g.skill. NEO branding is for Ryzen.
    Last edited by RedSector73; 09-17-2021 at 10:40 AM.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    Hello,
    Same problem as you,

    I've switch 3600 corsair DDR with g skill ones and i dont get any crash.

  8. #8
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    178
    Posts
    2,299

    Hello,

    Please have a read of this information piece regarding mixing memory kits and why it's ill-advised. Whereas the post is now fairly old, the fundamentals of overclocking memory and the laws behind electrical signal integrity remain very much the same.

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...atoes-overview

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •