Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Phillyflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    542

    Raid array issue asus rog x570 crosshair viii extreme

    Strange issue building raid array with this board....nvme m.2's not showing as raid array in slot 1 and 2 or 1and 3( directly below cpu )..only 1 drive shows...put both drives in expansion card...both drives show and raid array can be created...put (1) drive in expansion card and (1) drive in slot 1...both drives show and raid array can be created. Seems very strange that this is the only way to create a raid array.
    Thoughts anyone ???
    Asus ROG Maximus XI EXTREME
    Intel i7 9900K OC'D @ 5.2 GHZ @ 1.345V (1.296V LOAD) LLC 6 PRIME 95 STABLE 8 HRS
    XSPC RX360 Rad (6)Scythe Gentle Typhoon 1850 RPM Fans In Push/Pull @ 1500 RPMS
    Swiftech Drive II / Swiftech MCP35X Pump
    Enermax Platimax 1200 Watt Power Supply
    32GB G.Skill F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR 3866 MHZ CL18 1.35V (OC 4266MHZ 17-18-18-41-2T @1.45V)
    MSI GTX 1070 SEA HAWK EK X SLI WITH ASUS HB RGB
    (5)Samsung 840 Pro 128 GB In Raid 0
    (2) WD 1TB Black Edition
    Corsair 900 D

  2. #2
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    In BIOS, under Onboard Devices, you have to set the PCIE mode to get the system to pick up the other 2 SSDs on the board. Otherwise, it defaults to the 1 M.2 slot closest to the CPU with the both pcei slots enabled. To get all 3 M.2 slots active you will have to disable the 2nd pcie port as the bandwidth is shared with the M.2 ports. See page xiii of the manual for high-level details.

    That being said, I had issues with this RAID setup and after a couple of rebuilds I ended up scrapping the idea.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by Sackdragon View Post
    In BIOS, under Onboard Devices, you have to set the PCIE mode to get the system to pick up the other 2 SSDs on the board. Otherwise, it defaults to the 1 M.2 slot closest to the CPU with the both pcei slots enabled. To get all 3 M.2 slots active you will have to disable the 2nd pcie port as the bandwidth is shared with the M.2 ports. See page xiii of the manual for high-level details.

    That being said, I had issues with this RAID setup and after a couple of rebuilds I ended up scrapping the idea.
    Was just about to create a post highlighting that issue, my 2nd NVME kept on getting undetected every time I plugged in the main on the 1st slot. I'll apply your suggested changes and will update my post whether it worked or not.

    Edit: That resolved my issue! The actual location for the settings to change is Advanced > Onboard Devices > CPU PCIE Configuration Mode > PCIEX16_1 + M.2_2 + M.2_3
    Last edited by Q3JLZWQ; 09-25-2021 at 04:18 AM.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Phillyflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    542

    I glad to see that this method actually solves the creation of the raid array on this board....only problem is that this seems to disable the 2nd pcie x lane which inturns disables the 2nd rtx 3090 .
    Last edited by Phillyflyer; 09-27-2021 at 03:39 AM.
    Asus ROG Maximus XI EXTREME
    Intel i7 9900K OC'D @ 5.2 GHZ @ 1.345V (1.296V LOAD) LLC 6 PRIME 95 STABLE 8 HRS
    XSPC RX360 Rad (6)Scythe Gentle Typhoon 1850 RPM Fans In Push/Pull @ 1500 RPMS
    Swiftech Drive II / Swiftech MCP35X Pump
    Enermax Platimax 1200 Watt Power Supply
    32GB G.Skill F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR 3866 MHZ CL18 1.35V (OC 4266MHZ 17-18-18-41-2T @1.45V)
    MSI GTX 1070 SEA HAWK EK X SLI WITH ASUS HB RGB
    (5)Samsung 840 Pro 128 GB In Raid 0
    (2) WD 1TB Black Edition
    Corsair 900 D

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Phillyflyer View Post
    I glad to see that this method actually solves the creation of the raid array on this board....only problem is that this seems to disable the 2nd pcie x lane which inturns disables the 2nd rtx 3090 .
    Hello, I recently bought this same motherboard. I have I problem with it and need your help.
    I installed my main M.2 nvme drive on M. 2_1 slot and my secondary M.2 nvme drive on M. 2_3 slot.
    My problem is that with this configuratiom, the GPU installed on PCI_1 slot, runs at x8 speed.
    In BIOS, if I set PCIe_1 Slot + PCIe_2 slot, runs at x16 speed, but the secondary M.2 drive on M.2_3 slot is not recognized in BIOS and Windows.
    In the next BIOS option, (I don't remember what it says), GPU runs at x8 speed too, but M2_3 is still not recognized,
    and in the third option, it's recognized, but, like I said, GPU runs only at x8 speed.
    How can I solve this problem? Do I need to install the secondary M.2 drive on the M.2 DIMM module??
    Which M.2 slots connect to CPU and which connect to the chipset?? I can't find this information on the motherboard's user manual....
    Thanks in advance for any help!!
    Last edited by Javi7269; 09-28-2021 at 05:39 PM.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 11 64bit Pro
    Network RouterPfSence Intel i5-10210U 6 Port
    Accessory #1 TP-Link Gigabit 8&6 Port Switches

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    1,254

    Quote Originally Posted by Javi7269 View Post
    Hello, I recently bought this same motherboard. I have I problem with it and need your help.
    I installed my main M.2 nvme drive on M. 2_1 slot and my secondary M.2 nvme drive on M. 2_3 slot.
    My problem is that with this configuratiom, the GPU installed on PCI_1 slot, runs at x8 speed.
    In BIOS, if I set PCIe_1 Slot + PCIe_2 slot, runs at x16 speed, but the secondary M.2 drive on M.2_3 slot is not recognized in BIOS and Windows.
    In the next BIOS option, (I don't remember what it says), GPU runs at x8 speed too, but M2_3 is still not recognized,
    and in the third option, it's recognized, but, like I said, GPU runs only at x8 speed.
    How can I solve this problem? Do I need to install the secondary M.2 drive on the M.2 DIMM module??
    Which M.2 slots connect to CPU and which connect to the chipset?? I can't find this information on the motherboard's user manual....
    Thanks in advance for any help!!
    It tells you in the manual
    https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/m..._UM_V2_WEB.pdf
    Page Xiii

    M2_1 (top) is controlled by X570 chipset
    The lower two M2_2 & M2_3 are CPU

    Not sure why you care about GPU running x8 vs x16 on PCIe 4.0 when not a single card on the market today can use all bandwidth from x8 PCIe 3.0 slot.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by RedSector73 View Post
    It tells you in the manual
    https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/m..._UM_V2_WEB.pdf
    Page Xiii

    M2_1 (top) is controlled by X570 chipset
    The lower two M2_2 & M2_3 are CPU

    Not sure why you care about GPU running x8 vs x16 on PCIe 4.0 when not a single card on the market today can use all bandwidth from x8 PCIe 3.0 slot.
    Thanks for your reply, but I think you're wrong.
    After Google search, found a video on Youtube that explains in detail PCIe lanes for this motherboard.
    M2_1 slot, (under CPU), is controlled by CPU, not chipset, like you said. It shares lanes with PCIe 16_1, 16_2 and M.2_2 and M.2_3 slots.
    That's why if I connect an SSD drive on M.2_2 or M.2_3 slot, GPU automatically runs at 8x speed instead of 16x.
    I need to install the secondary M.2 drive on the DIMM M.2_1 or 2_2 module because this module connects to the chipset X570.
    I think Asus must describe this connection options better on it's User Manual.
    If I'm wrong I will appreciate any help or correction for this problem.

    OK, maybe you think it's OK to run my RX 6900XT on 8x link speed, but I did not bought this board and GPU to run at half speed. It's a nonsense for me.
    Anyway, really appreciate your help. Thx.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array marti77 PC Specs
    marti77 PC Specs
    MotherboardRog Crosshair VIII Extreme
    ProcessorRyzen 9 5950x
    Memory (part number)F4-4000C17Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX SC Ultra 2080Ti with EK Block
    Sound CardSupreme FX/nvidia HDMI out
    MonitorASUS PG329Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970Evo Plus 1Tb
    Storage #2Samsung 870 Evo 4TB/ 970 evo plus 2TB/WD black 4TB
    CPU CoolerTechN Block
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra 1000 Titanium
    Keyboard Logitech G915
    Mouse Logitech G903
    Headset Sony WH-1000XM3
    Mouse Pad Roccat Sense
    Headset/Speakers Chorus compact 662
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk RAX200
    Accessory #1 Denon AVR-X2600H
    Accessory #2 Logitech G27
    Accessory #3 Microsoft sidewinder Pro
    marti77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    When this board has so high pricetag it should be possible to choose wich pcie slots run at full speed with m2 slots populated.
    Now you have to use m.2 card to use more than 1 m2 drive and the other two slots on motherboard is waste of space and money.
    Even on my old z370 maximus x formula i only lost couple sata ports when using both m2 slots.
    And my old z390 maximus xi formula run at full speed with both m2 slots populated.
    Its a pure design flaw no way to dispute that.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Phillyflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    542

    Raid Array on this board will only work with an M.2 in the M.2 expansion card and the 2nd M.2 in the first M.2 slot.
    Asus ROG Maximus XI EXTREME
    Intel i7 9900K OC'D @ 5.2 GHZ @ 1.345V (1.296V LOAD) LLC 6 PRIME 95 STABLE 8 HRS
    XSPC RX360 Rad (6)Scythe Gentle Typhoon 1850 RPM Fans In Push/Pull @ 1500 RPMS
    Swiftech Drive II / Swiftech MCP35X Pump
    Enermax Platimax 1200 Watt Power Supply
    32GB G.Skill F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR 3866 MHZ CL18 1.35V (OC 4266MHZ 17-18-18-41-2T @1.45V)
    MSI GTX 1070 SEA HAWK EK X SLI WITH ASUS HB RGB
    (5)Samsung 840 Pro 128 GB In Raid 0
    (2) WD 1TB Black Edition
    Corsair 900 D

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •